We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Solid option with a friendly owner”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Carlton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Carlton
Ranked #16 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Atlanta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Solid option with a friendly owner”
Reviewed 13 August 2014

This hotel was very convient to the train station and reasonably priced. The breakfast was good and owner very friendly. He provided us a city map and showed us how to get from the hotel to the tourist areas. The rooms were basic, nothing super fancy, but no complaints either.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank christie b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

353 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    122
    166
    47
    11
    7
See reviews for
62
97
35
88
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (25)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Monte-Carlo, Monaco
Level Contributor
53 reviews
37 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 June 2014

It's a hotel, but because the attentive staff, it's more like an old style family run B&B. Located very close to the railway station it's ideal for short city visits. Ambiance is much better than in chain hotels because the nice staff from south europe. Rooms doesn't have a/c and the street side might be noise even in the evening, so this hotel is always a good choice except in the summer.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ben77777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
minneapolid
Level Contributor
25 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 June 2014

Property very close to Train Station for day trips to Germany...wonderful! Our room was great...larger/wood floors/updated bathroom and inside core so quiet. But the best was the manager...and so great, we gave him a bottle of wine upon departure. He speaks multiple language, and simply quite the host. it is a walk to the old town but lovely. FABULOUS Italian restaurant right across the street...and very busy. The area around the hotel is so-so but really close for train access...2 blocks. And very walkable city. Safe and clean and cool, vintage architecture inside. Thumbs up and great value!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank princesjudy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Belgium
Level Contributor
70 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 May 2014

Don't get mislead by the fancy name. The Carlton is quite average, not a highflyer. The room was very quit, and the bed was OK. Small bathroom though.
It's based in the station neighbourhood, but at the most 'clean' part, not unlike other hotels where you have to walk through streets full of suspicious looking people.
I would call the breakfast rather odd: not a big choice, and some stuff is placed at your table instead of the buffet.
If it's the last room in Luxemburg-city you can book it, otherwise there are better choies.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank jhml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Canada
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2014

Good value for money. We had a triple that was clean and comfortable. I was concerned about noise because it is an older hotel and sound carries sometimes but the other guests appeared to be respectful of others.The gentleman at the desk was very helpful.The breakfast was a good continental breakfast, enough variety to get your day started. Location was great to rail station, just around the corner literally. We didn't use public transport except to the airport, also easily accessed by bus that stops right in front of the rail station. I traveled with my two daughters and as a group of three women we did not have any issues feeling safe. Be aware of your surroundings and use good sense as you would at home :) We were very pleased.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nottravelmuch
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sofia, Bulgaria
Level Contributor
69 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 April 2014

The hotel was OK, but actually I expected more from a place called Carlton . Good service, but the room (triple one) was a little bit dingy and dated. The bathroom was small. The bed was uncomfortable. Poor neighborhood (near the central railway station, don't go around at night). Definitely a disappointment.

  • Stayed July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BaiIvan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 April 2014

This is a lovely hotel. It is conveniently located close to the train station. That means it's not right in the middle of town, but it's a good location nonetheless. Gianni is really nice and very welcoming, the perfect host! The neighbourhood can be a bit noisy at night, but I had no problems with that, didn't hear anything when I was in my room. I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank GwyllionL
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
1.2 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#1 of 51 in Luxembourg City
1,478 reviews
0.4 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 51 in Luxembourg City
1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
0.1 mi away
Hotel Empire
Hotel Empire
#17 of 51 in Luxembourg City
253 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#5 of 51 in Luxembourg City
693 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton

Property: Hotel Carlton
Address: 7 Rue de Strasbourg, Luxembourg City 2561, Luxembourg
Region: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#8 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Carlton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CENTRAL. QUIET. BEAUTIFUL. Hotel Carlton is perfectly located in the heart of Luxembourg City and welcoming their guests since 1932. This family run hotel in Art Deco Style will make you feel at home during your business trips and getaways. Breakfast and WIFI included. Parking is available, but must be booked in advance. (20€ per day) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Luxembourg City
Hotel Carlton Luxembourg/Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing