We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very friendly Management”
Review of Hotel Carlton

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Carlton
Ranked #15 of 49 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Reviewed 15 July 2009

We stayed for 3 nights in the Hotel Carlton in Luxembourg. Upon arrival Gianni the manager presented us with a drink of orange juice. This was a nice touch as it was a very warm day and we had just carried our bags from the train station. The hotel is very nice with wooden floors in the bedrooms. The only downside was no air conditioning, as we were unlucky enough to be there when it was exceptionally hot. The rooms were spacious and very clean. The breakfast was very nice, it was brought freshly to the table. Luxembourg is a nice city and well worth a visit. There is a nice Indian restaurant called Namaste just a few doors from the hotel. The restaurants are generally expensive in Luxembourg. Overall we really enjoyed our time in Luxembourg and I would recommend the Hotel Carlton. Thank you Gianni for making it a very pleasant experience.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SG1974
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (387)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Carlton
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

204 - 210 of 387 reviews

Reviewed 12 July 2009

The main advantage of this hotel is its great location. If you arrive by train, it's less than 100 metes from the station. Ariving by a car (like us) it's not so easy, as parking is difficult to find, but the manager, Gianni, will give good advice as to the best options.
The rooms are small, but clean and quite adequate. The (included) breakfast is excellent and the staff are very helpful and friendly. All in all, a good place to stay to explore this unexpectedly interesting city.

  • Stayed: June 2009, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank PeterandLeanne
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 May 2009

We were not really sure what we were going to find when we got there but we were very impressed.

The hotel is very centrally located, few minutes from the train terminal where you can catch public transportation very easily.

The service was superb. I don't know how the manager, sorry, I don't have his name, manages to do all he does and well. He even help with breakfast service. And Frommer's was right, he serves you orange juice upon arrival.

I would recommend this hotel to everyone.

It was clean, nice looking, the rooms, at least ours, a triple, was very spacious. The pric, breakfast included, was perfect, and there is even parking on the street. Ah! I almost forgot. There is even free internet service. Which by the way, this was the only hotel we stay at in our Benelux trip where there was really "free internet" every place else had the access but you had to pay. What else can one ask for?

Definetelly will recommend to everyone.

Lory Martinez-Miami Florida

  • Stayed: April 2009, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank travelismything
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2009

My husband and I spent a week here recently. It's a lovely hotel with beautiful stained glass windows. The location was perfect, although I wouldn't normally want to be so near the train station but the neighborhood was fine. The Carlton is quiet and only about 10 minutes walk to the old town. Across the street there are 3 good restaurants, one Italian, 2 Indian, some of the best meals we had. A couple of blocks away is a French style brasserie where I enjoyed frog legs. At the Carlton breakfast is served at your table, a very generous selection of breads, juice, meat, cheese, eggs, etc. Gianni is a delightful host, always helpful with anything we needed, directions, internet cafe, etc. The Carlton is a mixture of old-world elegance and down-home comfort.

  • Stayed: May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SBC73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 March 2009

This is a great boutique hotel in Luxembourg. As the other reviewers have noted, the owner, Gianni makes you feel like a family member. The hotel itself is decorated beautifully, and includes lots of comfortable places to sit and check internet if you don't want to do it in the room. Breakfast is great and served to you personally. My room was large (had 2 beds) and lots of storage space. The room was very clean. The location is perfect; quiet but within a 5-10 min walk from the downtown area. Internet is free. Is a great choice, and no surprise that it is ranked so highly on trip advisor.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lizicat
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 March 2009

I stayed at this hotel based on the other reviews in Trip Advisor and I wasn't disappointed. The hotel is located downtown, around the corner from the train station. Since it's around the corner, you are away from the noise of the main street, but close enough to all that surrounds the station. On arrival, Gianni at the front desk, has a glass of cold orange juice waiting for you to enjoy while you check in (nice touch). The rooms are typically of European size (smaller than we are used to in North America), but they are very clean and internet access is provided free of charge. The breakfast consists of hard boiled eggs, cheese, salami, orange juice, coffee, tea, all kinds of bread and jams. The service is remarkable. There are plenty of restaurants close to the hotel and a couple of grocery stores, too. Overall, this hotel exceeded most of my expectations and I wouldn't hesitate in recommending it to other readers. Gianni, at the front desk, is a fantastic resource and looks upon each guest as family. I had a great stay.

  • Stayed: March 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tuttle67
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 February 2009

I had a pleasant stay in this hotel. The staff was VERY VERY kind, very helpful, a wonderful pleasure. Very good breakfast, bedroom very clean and very quiet . Nearby train station, downtown. Price expensive but if you want to be sure of a pleasant stay, you can rely on this adress.

  • Stayed: January 2009, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank KARMENParis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
2.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#10 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,904 reviews
1.2 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#3 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,620 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,076 reviews
0.9 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#2 of 49 in Luxembourg City
778 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Cravat
Grand Hotel Cravat
#11 of 49 in Luxembourg City
633 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Carlton

Address: 7 Rue de Strasbourg, Luxembourg City 2561, Luxembourg
Region: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Best Value Hotel in Luxembourg City
#8 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range: £87 - £147 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Carlton 3.5*
Number of rooms: 49
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
CENTRAL. QUIET. BEAUTIFUL. Hotel Carlton is perfectly located in the heart of Luxembourg City and welcoming their guests since 1932. This family run hotel in Art Deco Style will make you feel at home during your business trips and getaways. Breakfast and WIFI included. Parking is available, but must be booked in advance. (20€ per day) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, Hotels.com and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Carlton Hotel Luxembourg City
Hotel Carlton Luxembourg/Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing