We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Location, location and... nothing else”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Hotel Francais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Francais
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level Contributor
25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Location, location and... nothing else”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2013

This hotel is a joke and should be granted one star only for its location. We had to wait 15 minutes before someone showed up at the reception. The room was dimly lit, dull and plain, with a horrible view on a concrete patio. The reception is empty most of the time and there's a box where you can leave your key... and where anybody can take it and visit your room for free!! The waiter in charge of breakfast is obnoxious. I've been to youth hostels in developing countries that easily superate this hotel. Never again!

Room Tip: Pick another hotel!
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Slowstarter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

156 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    28
    75
    43
    6
    4
See reviews for
16
67
18
29
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Cesky Krumlov, Czech Republic
Level Contributor
429 reviews
73 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 167 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 10 March 2013

We stayed in Hotel Francais over a weekend. The location is great, right in the centre of the town with easy access to shopping, sight seeings and bars, clubs and restaurants. This unfortunately also means that the hotel does not have parking and public parking is very expensive in Luxemburg.

The room was functional but small and not that comfortable. All room and bathroom doors seem to lack padding when closing so the hotel is very noisy due to constant door banging. Our room was by the stairs, which didn't help. Also, on Sunday morning, the staff seemed to clean rooms in the order in which guests checked out, meaning that we were not only constantly distracted by door banging but also by chatting staff and hoover noise.

Breakfast was included in the room rate, but it was rather average. Would have almost preferred to go out for a nice breakfast and pay a little bit extra for it.

Would recommend looking around for other options before booking into this hotel.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MarciTravels
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DK
Level Contributor
99 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2012

This small hotel in the central square in Luxembourg city is very nice and well functioning. It is situated inside the pedestrician area. Rooms are normal sized, clean and wellfunctioning. The internet works well. At my last visit there were some noise from the square outside from 6 am, but usually the rooms are quiet. In December there is a Christmas market on the square. Breakfast is Ok, but not one that you remember. It takes 20-30 minutes to walk to the EU buildings at the Kirschberg plateau

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ester G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2012

My husband, son and I stayed there for two nights (Thurs & Fri) in June. I knew nothing about Luxembourg when I booked the tickets and Rick Steves (my usual go-to guy) had nada on the subject so I found an old Frommers book from our local library where Hotel Noga was recommended. Originally when we got off of the train from Brussels I could see an Ibis hotel across the street and regretted not making a reservation there - convenient location and inexpensive. Then we started walking. As I had been correctly forewarned, it was a 20 min walk with our big backpacks to the main center of town. As we crossed over from the city-like part of the town across a very old bridge to the stunning old part of the city I had mixed emotions. First, it was stunningly beautiful. Absolutely picturesque and lovely and quaint. We walked by a storm sewer grate and you know how in NYC they smell just awful. Nobody will believe this, but the one in Luxembourg smelled like lemons. I kid you not! We started joking that Lux. was too beautiful for us so we had to go (movie reference from French Kiss with Meg Ryan). My conflicting emotion was that I could just see the $ signs escalating. We paid around 125 euros for the first night and the weekend rate of 95 euros for the second night. The hotel was clean and well cared for. They had accidently double booked our triple room on the first night so they gave us two double rooms instead - no extra charge. One room was on the front of the hotel looking down on the bandshell and square while the other was in the back. My husband had an appointment the next day so he took the quiet, back room while my son and I shared the front room which definitely was louder i.e. drunk college kids slurring/yelling, "I love you, Loraine!" If you need a good night's sleep and have trouble with noise I might stay somewhere else if I couldn't get a back room. The buffet breakfast was great with lots of choices and the best hot chocolate we had on the entire trip. The staff was friendly. Our hotel was close to the casements/tunnels which we toured one morning. Net, if you want to experience the old town part of the city stay here. If you're looking for a cheap place near the train station for convenience, this probably isn't the place for you.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Christina40_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
103 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 June 2012

Great Hotel situated in the heart of the city of Luxembourg. The owner makes you feel at home!
Fantastic establishment! Wouldn't hesitate to go back and to recommend to all!! Fancy a getaway in Luxembourg, stay at the HOTEL FRANCAIS you won't be disappointed!!!

Room Tip: try to get a room above 4th to get a great view of the Place des Armes ( below too many trees to vie...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Fabienamberieu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sydney
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2012

Whether you stay in a room at the back of the hotel (where the air conditioning unit sounds like a jumbo jet) or at the front (where the yahoos stumble by at night and the delivery trucks rumble in the morning), there is no escaping the relentless noise. Then there are the paying guests, who delight in conversing at the tops of their lungs up and down the stairwell, regardless of the time.

  • Stayed April 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AustralienSydney
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Luxembourg City hotels

Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
122 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 March 2012

Only checked into the Hotel Francais for one night while travelling through Europe and was quite pleased to find this little gem. As has been mentioned, this hotel is located in an excellent section of the city, right in the heart of everything. Only downside is that it is a long walk from the train station (more than 20 minutes), so if you have bags, it's a no-go on foot. It is located in a pedestrian-only plaza with lovely sights and at least half a dozen restaurants. It is also only a few blocks away from some other excellent sights, like the cathedral and the old fort casements that make the city unique.

The rooms were fairly small, although nothing worse than anything else I have experienced in Europe, but were furnished well and we didn't want for anything. Even had a towel warmer in the bathroom! The elevator going up to the rooms is also small, so be prepared to carry some bags up the winding stairs if you have a lot of them.

My only drawbacks were the small elevator/difficult stairs to navigate and on several instances I had to stop by reception for one reason or another, only to find it unoccupied. Someone turned up within 15 minutes each time, but it was just a bit irritating to have to wait, especially during regular business hours.

Overall, though, it is a wonderful little place to stay and the staff were attentive when I did interact with them. I would definitely stay there again when I'm in Luxembourg!

  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brad N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Vauban
Hotel Vauban
#20 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 134 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Simoncini
Hotel Simoncini
#12 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 243 reviews
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Cravat
Grand Hotel Cravat
#11 of 51 in Luxembourg City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Parc Beaux-Arts Hotel Luxembourg
Parc Beaux-Arts Hotel Luxembourg
#19 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 193 reviews
0.3 mi away
La Pipistrelle
La Pipistrelle
#14 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#16 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 353 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Francais

Property: Hotel Francais
Address: 14 Place d'Armes, Luxembourg City 1136, Luxembourg
Region: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Francais 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Odigeo and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Hotel Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Francais Luxembourg/Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing