We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Really good and superb location..........”
Review of Hotel Francais

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Francais
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Reviewed 8 July 2014

Got off the bus (no.16) from the airport at Hamilius (€2) and walked the 2 mins to the hotel at Place d'Armes. The Place was alive with loads of diners and coffee drinkers and in the middle was the hotel. I smiled when I saw the location, it was in the hub of the city and the Place and so accessible. Checkin is upstairs, you pass the eaters and drinkers and up ya go. Rooms are basic, no frills, but very clean and comfortable, no issues what so ever, my room was over the square and the hub bub of noise was not a distraction at all.
Breakfast was more than adequate, fresh parties and bread, and very nice coffee with the hot milk on the side!!
You won't go hungry or thirsty here and if I go back I will stay here again. Told a colleague about it, and checked in after cancelling his reservation in the other hotel.
Very pleasant stay and nice people.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
3  Thank Niall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (199)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

64 - 70 of 199 reviews

Reviewed 23 June 2014

We stayed for 4 nights from the 18th of June, the Hotel is right in the middle of the main square and only 2 minutes walk from the Bus stop and only 2 euros on the number 16 Bus from the Airport.
I would recommend this hotel for all but be aware that it can be noisy at night. The Breakfast was continental and very nice with fresh ingredients, the staff were all very pleasant and helpful.

Room Tip: Room at front for views, rooms at back are quieter
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank martin4fran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

I stayed at Hotel Francais last night and I was very impressed about its location, cleanliness and hospitality of the duty manager. You get what you pay for, the room was comfy and nice. However, the only downside for us was the food. It was below average for the cost. I have no problem revisiting but will never eat there.

Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
1  Thank Hummu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 May 2014

I visited The Hotel Francais on the weekend of 24-25 May 2014 with a group of friends from work.

Reception is on the first floor and you have a very narrow corridor to walk along to get to it but once upstairs it is very nice. We were early and a courtesy room was provided for our bags, and the guy on reception was very helpful.

The room was clean, the towels and sheets clean and fresh, the shower room was large enough and the bed was very comfortable. We were at the back of the hotel and there was no noise whatsoever but some of our party were at the front and they said that the square outside was quite noisy during the night. So if you are a light sleeper ask for a room towards the rear of the hotel.

Breakfast was provided - it was very nice. As you would expect a selection of meats and cheeses, fruits, cereals, and croissants rolls and bread, fruit juices, fresh water, coffee and tea.

Stephen on reception was extremely helpful, patient and "lovely!!!".

Luxembourg city is, in itself, a lovely place to visit. Full of restaurants, bars and things to do. While we were there, there was a street market a small fun fair for younger children. An open topped bus tour is only 14 Euros and is well worth doing if you have time.

I would definitely recommend the hotel if you are going, as for standard of rooms and value for money it would take some beating.

Room Tip: As I have said in my review the front is a little noisy so ask for a room to the rear if you are a l...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Teena2010
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 May 2014

For Luxembourg City a big room, great location and very good breakfast. Located right on the plaza, what a deal! Rooms are large and comfortable, for Europe, there is an elevator and a great view from the room, no noise (4th floor). Again for the average price of 90 euros a deal.

Room Tip: Right on the plaza a few hundred feet from bus stop that goes to train station.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MeinhardG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 August 2013

The room was not so big, but we spent 90 euro (very yummi breakfast included) to sleep in a perfect central location in august. The hotel was clean and the personnale very polite. It's not a luxury hotel, but a very good place to go!

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MatteoP88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 June 2013

The central location is unbeatable, but be aware there is no hotel or nearby on-street parking and the public car parks are very expensive. The restaurant is a great plus which I'd recommend for an evening meal as well as breakfast, and the staff were both polite and very helpful. The hotel is spotlessly clean, but our double room was very small, as was the bed! Overall the style can be at best described as minimalist. This is unfortunate if noise troubles you, because the combination of tiled floors and scant internal insulation means you will have a disturbed night if your fellow guests are not extremely considerate. I would certainly consider using this hotel again, but would probably prefer to pay a bit more for another hotel in the same vicinity for a little more comfort.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the back to avoid niose from the square, and check on the width of the bed! Our s...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank AJC32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.1 mi away
Grand Hotel Cravat
Grand Hotel Cravat
#11 of 50 in Luxembourg City
681 reviews
0.7 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#2 of 50 in Luxembourg City
1,701 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#4 of 50 in Luxembourg City
833 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#10 of 50 in Luxembourg City
1,996 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Simoncini
Hotel Simoncini
#12 of 50 in Luxembourg City
282 reviews
0.7 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Francais? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Francais

Address: 14 Place d'Armes, Luxembourg City 1136, Luxembourg
Region: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 50 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Price Range: £85 - £139 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Francais 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and 5viajes2012 S.L. so you can book your Hotel Francais reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Francais Luxembourg/Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing