We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“poor customer service”
Review of Auberge La Veranda

Auberge La Veranda
Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Auberge La Veranda
Hexham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“poor customer service”
Reviewed 28 December 2013

when we booked this over the internet it clearly stated check-in from 17:00, so I did not find it unreasonable to arrive at 17:15.
Staff are in the still-closed restaurant, so I knocked on the door and it took some persistence to stop them ignoring us standing in the rain. Eventually somebody unlocks the door only to tell us they are still closed and we have to wait outside (still in the rain...). So we sat in the car until 18:00 and returned to the hotel/restaurant. It is now open and we are allowed in, and one of the staff who ignored us before does the check-in. No apology or any explanation even after I pointed out it states on the booking site check-in opens at 17:00. When I got the key I am told there is also a back entrance which I can use, so why couldn't I do that before??
I am sitting in the room now, listening to the occasional beep of a smoke alarm with a weak battery.
Why would I want to go to this restaurant tonight for dinner????

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Annie186351
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

32 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    5
    12
    11
    3
    1
See reviews for
8
10
3
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room Tips
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kilrea, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
80 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 156 helpful votes
Reviewed 22 September 2013

I stayed here as it was cheaper than most of the hotels in Luxembourg City (for a single room). The reason it's cheaper is probably because it isn't centrally located. However it is still very accessible to the centre by public transport. The number 16 bus runs every 10 minutes or so from a stop on Rangwee street which is just over a 5 minute walk from the hotel. The bus takes about 5 minutes to Central Station and depending on traffic another 5 minutes to the edge of the old town.

As other reviewers have stated the rooms are located above a restaurant. Whilst check in is done in the restaurant itself, once checked in I was given a key for a separate entrance to the accommodation.

I was given a twin room for single occupancy. One of the beds in my room did have a hollow in the middle of it but the other one was reasonably comfortable. There was a small tv, a wardrobe and a desk in the room. The room was a decent size and was clean. The ensuite was also clean and appeared to be cleaned each day as was the room. The door of the shower didn't close completely as another reviewer has pointed out but really that wasn't a problem. Free wi fi is also available and I had a very good signal for it in my room.

The accommodation over looks quite a busy road. However at night time there wasn't much noise from the road although in the morning I could hear the traffic. The windows had blinds and curtains on them which blocked out the light quite well.

The breakfast was more than sufficient. Cereal, toast, fruit, ham, cheese, juice and coffee were all available.

Overall I was more than satisfied with my stay and would have no hesitation staying there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank alan_ni
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Krakow, Poland
Level Contributor
81 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 May 2013

The place is located in a very far district, walking there takes solid 30 mins to the center. The room was an average one, with rather old furniture, small TV. Beds were not very comfy, had old mattresses. Breakfast was filling, Italian style (toasts, croissants, muesli). 5 mins form eh place is the last stop of bus 3 that takes you straight to the old town on the other side of the river.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank BarbaraSajn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Loveland, Colorado
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 May 2013

The rooms are upstairs, over the restaurant (no lift), and are cool/cold when temps drop, bathroom was poorly lit, dingy, and shower door didn't close completely. The bedroom had a lot of natural light. Cable TV had a lot of channels but is small, internet was very slow, and parking while free was hard to find near the hotel. The restaurant had some very tasty Italian cuisine, (not inexpensive), and the breakfast included in the price at 60 euros was ample and tasty. Location is some distance from the city, so with a car this isn't a problem but we didn't see a lot of public transportation nearby. Host and service is friendly and helpful, but not a great deal of English spoken.

  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ricktoday
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 April 2013 via mobile

this restaurant on older days was a good place to go. But the owner left and the new owner try his best to have the restaurant working on the older days values. The food and service is "OK" The quality seamed to missing in kitchen service. Overall there is nothing to say all is ok the restaurant is average .The front veranda is been added sone years ago. This is ok as before the traffic was very close to the terasse.
It's not a italian owned restaurant or a real italian food service.

  • Stayed December 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank motomania
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cascais, Portugal
Level Contributor
21 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 April 2013

Spacious room. There is a restaurant right under the hotel, which is very practical if you want to eat and go directly to rest in your room. Also, there is a bus stop very near the hotel and you can be at the city center in less than 10 minutes.
It was a little difficult to find it, as there is no sign of the hotel, but only for the restaurant. Also, I could say that it is more similar to a hostel than a hotel, (there is no reception, the entrance is via the restaurant) but still, the room was clean (which is very important) and spacious. It is nice if you want to stay for one or two nights.

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vasiliki k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kington
Level Contributor
49 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2013

Fairly easy for getting to/from Luxembourg Central station (out of the station onto Place de la Gare, turn left, follow road over the bridge crossing the railway, follow the road along up the hill past the Total garage and it's on the left). Staff were friendly and helpful, and I found the bed to be quite comfortable. Shower was pretty decent quality, most welcome after a very busy previous day touring Europe by rail. TV is of flatscreen type and lots of channels, but I failed to find anything in English except BBC World News. A kettle and tea/coffee/hot chocolate was provided, the first time I've found this on the continent. Never cease to be amazed when I don't find one, after being used to it being standard in Travelodges in the UK/Ireland. Breakfast was OK, didn't find the croissants to be much good and wasn't super satisfied but still fairly full for most of the day.

Certainly not a bad hotel, second best European hotel I've stayed at so despite it costing me €55 it is a recommended place.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank TechniquestS482
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
1.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
2.0 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#2 of 50 in Luxembourg City
1,539 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Le Chatelet
Hotel Le Chatelet
#30 of 50 in Luxembourg City
251 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.2 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 50 in Luxembourg City
1,027 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#39 of 50 in Luxembourg City
191 reviews
1.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Cravat
Grand Hotel Cravat
#12 of 50 in Luxembourg City
603 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Auberge La Veranda? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Auberge La Veranda

Property: Auberge La Veranda
Address: 175 Route De Thionville, Luxembourg City 2611, Luxembourg
Region: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 10 B&Bs / Inns in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 7
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Auberge La Veranda reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Auberge La Veranda Luxembourg/Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing