We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing fancy but a decent hotel!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
City Hotel Luxembourg
Ranked #31 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Wiesbaden, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Nothing fancy but a decent hotel!!!”
Reviewed 11 June 2012

We had a decent room with fantastic breakfast!!! The hotel is located very close to the central station and it takes less than 10 minutes to walk to the downtown, which is very convenient. The room was very clean and neat. The staff was very nice. We forgot a book there but they were very nice enough to mail it to us to Germany, which we were happy about!! The free wi-fi they provided was so weak that I almost had to walk to the hallway to be on the internet though!!

  • Stayed May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiara-Belle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    18
    90
    68
    20
    8
See reviews for
20
56
35
65
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Tallinn, Estonia
Level Contributor
79 reviews
69 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 June 2012

Location is good, near the Central station. however, nothing more that can attracte you to visit it againi, or to stay there more then one night. No conditioning, too noisy, small bathroom, nothing special at the breakfast.

  • Stayed June 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Zaza64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
11 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 March 2012

The hotel is located near the train station and a short 10-15 minutes walk to the Ducal Palace. The staff was very friendly. The room and bathroom were very large and my rate included breakfast, which was quite extensive--all sorts of meats, cheeses, bread, pastries, eggs, fruits, juices, cereals, yogurts and even "champagne". The floor of the room was a little weird as it was a nubby surface but it did not bother me. They have parking--it is not right on site but in a garage around the corner but the rate was a discounted rate for hotel guests. I actually liked that the hotel was not right in the center as it would have been a bit more difficult to get in and out with the car.

  • Stayed May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inbru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
231 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 177 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 January 2012

It is located between Luxembourg's Central Station and main attractions. I spent about one hour to find most valued hotel in Luxembourg. It has big room and large washroom. Room is very clean and has dinning table, desk and sofa. Luxery hotel with good price. Hotel employees are also friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask front desk to get quiet room. Hotel is located in main street. Half of rooms are not facing st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Eunwoo L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
29 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 31 December 2011

Looking to break a long train journey to Strasbourg I decided to stop over (and explore) Luxembourg City and found a great deal at this hotel (via this website in fact) for the night.

It is a very short walk from the central train station (200m?), it is well within walking distance to the city centre and the ancient ramparts. A very warm and posh welcome greets you, and the fresh fruit and handwritten welcome message from the manager since I was a first time guest was unexpected and rather nice. The breakfast was a satisfactory continental buffet that came included in my hotel deal, and while the sauna and gym room is open to all paying guests I didn't find time to check it out myself. Would not hesitate to stay there again, if I found another good deal that is.

Room Tip: All rooms are reduced in price for the weekend period.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ajburgess
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashby-de-la-Zouch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
186 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 132 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 December 2011

Car park difficult to find - you need to find somewhere to park and go to hotel to get directions and key, then 5 minute walk back. On check out you have to walk back to car park and then return to hotel to return key!
Room very small and very warm. Bed not that comfortable.
Location on busy road, noisy. Only few minutes on bus to old town.
Breakfast OK.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wildpoppy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Utrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 August 2011

The hotel's location is great, practically across from the train/busstation and opposite two of the major streets going into the downtown area.

The staff isn't overly friendly but they do their job well and assist you whenever you have a question or such. Spoken foreign languages include English, Dutch and German.

The room was cleaned and vacuumed very properly and every day there were fresh sheets, pillow cases, enough towels and the shower was very clean too.

Overall like I said a good hotel, although there were some minor downfalls.

First of all; it is true that it is a little warm in the room when you first enter it, since there is no airconditioning system, but this is nothing that can't be overcome if you keep on the fan (also when you leave the room) and keep the windows opened. At night and in the early morning though, if you're not used to busy city's streetnoise, you'll probably have a hard time sleeping if you leave them opened.especially during the weekdays.

Secondly: They're very strict in the breakfastroom. There's a sign telling you you aren't allowed to leave the room with any of the food, be it fruit, bread, an egg or what so ever. They will call you on it when they notice it. It also takes a very long time in the lounge before the dinnersnacks are prepared (we waited almost 45 min. on a not too busy afternoon)

And third; I somewhat expected a four star hotel to help you with your luggage or help with the door if they see you struggle but they don't. They have a room where you can deposit your bags on the day of check out if you want to go downtown, but they only watch as you have to carry them in and out yourself, even taking a few stairs to get to them, which is not that much of a practical enterance to a deposit room.

Room Tip: rooms on the front have a nice view but come with streetnoise, the back rooms look out upon the cour...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank aroundtheglobe_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.2 mi away
Hotel Central Molitor
Hotel Central Molitor
#26 of 51 in Luxembourg City
266 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Grey
Hotel Grey
#27 of 51 in Luxembourg City
166 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Christophe Colomb
Hotel Christophe Colomb
#33 of 51 in Luxembourg City
147 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
0.0 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#15 of 51 in Luxembourg City
371 reviews
0.6 mi away
Grand Hotel Cravat
Grand Hotel Cravat
#12 of 51 in Luxembourg City
600 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to City Hotel Luxembourg? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about City Hotel Luxembourg

Property: City Hotel Luxembourg
Address: Coin Avenue de la Liberte | 1 rue de Strasbourg, Luxembourg City 1021, Luxembourg
Region: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service
Hotel Style:
#19 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — City Hotel Luxembourg 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Ebookers, Hotel.de, Travel Republic (UK), Priceline, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your City Hotel Luxembourg reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Luxembourg City Hotel
City Hotel Luxembourg Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing