We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (326)
Filter reviews
326 results
Traveller rating
103
165
43
7
8
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
103
165
43
7
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviews an art gallery excellent location old town front desk staff was very helpful continental affair eggs cooked to order place guillaume ii car park next door tourist sights nice hotel rooms are nice and clean tourist office the main square hotel de ville notre dame large bedroom within walking distance
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 326 reviews
Reviewed 29 May 2017

Right down the street from the cathedral and in the heart of old town, Hotel Simonini is a great find. You can walk everywhere you might want and if you want to hit the MUDAM, it is a very short walk to several buses that take you there. Artistically modern decor in both the lobby and rooms. Nice sized room with comfortable beds and bathrooms with tubs, which is important for me, who loves to relax in one after a long day of walking and sightseeing. The full breakfast is very good, especially if you are lucky to be there on Sundays, when the champagne, caviar and lox are served. All the staff are very helpful. Very reasonable price for all that you get here.

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sandy F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 May 2017 via mobile

The Hotel Simoncini is centrally located in the upper part of Luxembourg, close to the shopping area and the Place d'Armes. Right next to it is a parking garage. We paid about 18 EUR parking fees for a stay from 4pm to 8am the next morning.

The Check-in was uncomplicated but not overly welcoming or friendly. We got room #203 on the second floor, looking out at Rue de Notre-dame and the Hotel de Ville. The room didn't have a/c and it was quite warm inside, but with a pleasant smell. A fan was also provided, which helped a bit.

The room as well as the lobby were clean and modern, with a certain artsy flair (there's an art gallery in the building, too) which we liked a lot.

The first little disappointment was the not-cooling fridge with the luke-warm contents of the mini bar. At first we thought that the temperature would drop with the key card entered into the slot, so that the fridge would start working properly, but that wasn't the case. The second disappointment was that there weren't any sockets around the nightstands to charge the phones. We found some
free sockets behind the TV, but 'easily accessible' they were not.

The bed was comfortable, not overly so, but acceptable. What prevented us from sleeping well was the temperature and the noise though. It was too warm to sleep without the windows open, but with the windows open it was very noisy.

The bathroom supplies were very nice though, nicely scented. Towels were fluffy and nice as well. The shower was spacious and had good water pressure. What always annoys me though are those 'hotel-style' blow dryers, which are attached to the wall and do everything but dry your hair. Having rather long hair it takes ages to feel a result. I can't imagine that those are so much cheaper than ordinary hair dryers that actually do the job. Maybe it's just for theft-preventing reasons, but it would be nice if it worked properly.

Anyway, breakfast is served between 7 and 10am on weekdays and the choice was very nice. Especially the breads were very fresh and of good quality, everything else was totally sufficient as well.

Upon check-out at 8:30 am we had to wait for about 10 minutes for some employee to show up. We weren't in a rush, but from my point of view it's not necessary to not have your lobby staffed during check-out time.

All in all it was an alright experience to stay at the Hotel Simoncini, but there's definitely room for improvement. We paid 125 EUR for the room including breakfast and had far nicer experiences for under 100 EUR in comparison.

Date of stay: May 2017
Trip type: Travelled as a couple
Thank DadaSuzzy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 May 2017

Lux City is small, so just about anything in the old section of town is convenient. Nonetheless, Hotel Simoncini offers a nice central location very near an outdoor food court/square, and can be viewed as a kind of hub from which any spoke gets you to the City walls. Asked for restaurant recommendations, they suggested a restaurant associated with their "sister" hotel on the square. The main advantage: a free glass of champagne with the voucher. I would give Simoncini it a higher rating, except for sleep quality issues arising from the hotel's apparent practice of featuring plastic under the sheets, to which I react badly. One either has to sleep on top of the comforter, or find some kind of blanket or throw to sleep upon. I wonder when management of some European hotels will discover the benefits of a non-plastic mattress pad between their mattress protection system and a person's body?

Date of stay: May 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank aikido4d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 May 2017

Nice modernized hotel in central city, but easy to get to. Room typical Europe size, pleasant, comfortable. Noisy with windows open, stuffy if closed. Bed good. Breakfast very good. Parking ramp close, less expensive than expected - $16 evening-morning, $24 noon-morning. No place to stop and unload by entrance. Receptionists very pleasant and helpful.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Richard G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 29 April 2017

Nice location with many attractions within a short walking distance. Check-in had a small mix-up, but it was handled well. Room was pleasant except for a noisy street trash pickup early. Not the hotels fault. Breakfast had a nice selection. Internet allowed me to finally send attachments that did not go out from our river cruise ship. Picked the hotel by price and ratings on a booking site and it worked out well.

Date of stay: April 2017
  • Trip type: Travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Bernie O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews