We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Disappointing....”
Review of Orchidee

Orchidee
Ranked #12 of 789 Restaurants in Luxembourg City
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Indian
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Delivery, Reservations
Reviewed 15 August 2014

we went to have dinner here encouraged by the good reviews. The owner was very charming and gracious us a host, but the food was disappointing to say the least. I love Indian food and have tried many Indian restaurants, both in Europe and in India. The main dishes were good, nothing special, but edible. The nan was not tandoori baked and resembled a mini pizza, also tasting strongly of yeast. The rice was full of nuts and other sweet elements resulting in a rather overbearing accompanying dish. We chose two starters, chicken and lamb, which appeared to be baked in the same sauce and presented in exactly the same manner. Edible, but boring. Overall, we found the food bland and missing character, spice and marked tastes. We will definitely not going back and will stay loyal to our favourite Indian in town....

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
1  Thank CaroK721
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
suhann, Owner at Orchidee, responded to this reviewResponded 18 August 2014

Thanks a lot for your critic. We always appreciate when our client points out our draw backs. Reason we always say critics are very important for a succesful business. Anyway we are extremely sorry that we couldn't satisfy you with our service but there's some misunderstanding like we don't use any kind of nuts in the rice and not even other dishes because of allergen question. Secondly our naans and grills are always baked in tandoor. We don't have any other options infact.
We always ask our clients to specify clearly to our waiters about their choice and tolerance of the heat and if the dishes are not upto the mark they have the freedom to refuse their dishes to have the second one.
Anyway it'll hurt us if we miss you but even if you decide to come back again please feel free to talk to me before you place your order and we still look forward to see you again.
Thanking you.
With kind regards

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (402)
There are newer reviews for Orchidee
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

116 - 120 of 402 reviews

Reviewed 10 August 2014

We went here with quite a large group of people, encouraged by the good review scores. Our experience can only confirm the positive feedback. The quality of the food was excellent. Some of us spent part of their lives in India and confirmed the cuisine to be genuine. Moreover, the quantity was generally abundant and service very friendly. I will go back.

Thank beograd72
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 July 2014 via mobile

I walked there from the train station (over the bridge). After checking the website and seeing it was open, I was disappointed to get there only to see they were closed on holiday until the end of July. Taj Mahal was across from my hotel, so they got my business instead. I would have liked an updated website to save me 2 miles of walking.

2  Thank travelingtexan23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 July 2014

The advice on the choice of food from the owner was very good. The food was tasty and abundant. Service was friendly. On this hot day, we could look out on the terrace. A very enjoyable lunch.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank 60Jean-Luc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 July 2014

Another meal at the Ochidée and it was absolutely excellent, as always. Certainly the best Indian/Bangladeshi food in Luxembourg Ville!

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Paul B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Orchidee also viewed

Strassen, Luxembourg City
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
 
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
 

Been to Orchidee? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing