We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Not quite 4 star.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Alvisse Parc Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Alvisse Parc Hotel
Ranked #13 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Not quite 4 star.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 August 2014

I was a little disappointed with the Alvisse Parc Hotel if I’m honest. The hotel is billed as a 4 star hotel, but I would disagree, with caveats.

There’s no doubt the facilities, dining and décor are 4 star. Both the indoor and outdoor pools are lovely, with the indoor pool being complimented by a steam room, sauna, solarium and small CV suite. The food was excellent, the staff are friendly, helpful and made us feel very welcome, but there’s just a couple of little things that detracted from the experience.

Firstly, our room had no air conditioning. The room was stiflingly hot. There are air conditioned rooms available for an extra 30 Euro a night. The fact that not all rooms have air conditioning is not made clear at the time of booking. For a 4 star, this is unforgivable. Opening a window obviously helps, however the hotel is on a busy road which is one of the main commuter routes into Luxembourg City.

Secondly, there were no ironing facilities in the room. That’s not really a massive problem as reception hold a stock of irons and ironing boards. You have to leave your passport at reception whilst you have the iron and ironing board in your possession which seems a little over the top, and I had to collect and return the items myself. Now, I’m a fit middle aged man, so it wasn’t an issue. My point is that for a 4 star hotel, I would expect it to be delivered.

There are no tea and coffee making facilities in the room, nor a mini bar. Again, not very 4 star.

I will reiterate that the leisure facilities are excellent, the general ambiance of the hotel is excellent, the staff are friendly and helpful and the public rooms are stylishly decorated and comfortable. There’s ample free parking and the transport links into the city are on your doorstep. This aspect is definitely 4 star. However, the rooms, arguably the most important part of a hotel, have been forgotten about and are very much 3 star at best.

I enjoyed my stay at the hotel, just not the going up to my room to sleep part.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a room with air con if planning a trip in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

666 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    111
    288
    168
    60
    39
See reviews for
69
240
19
220
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 August 2014

If you are looking to go to Luxembourg City I'm sure you have realized by now that it is very expensive. The Alvisse Parc Hotel is an affordable option that has all the amenities one could want at a reasonable price.

The hotel is located a short bus ride away from downtown (15min) with a convenient bus stop located directly in front of the hotel. The hotel staff were more than helpful by providing us with a bus schedule and map.

The hotel itself is very well kept (the exterior is aged) and modern. Our room was very clean and the bathroom was updated. Perhaps the best part of the hotel was the free breakfast. The spread they had for breakfast every morning was very impressive and you could eat your fill. If one desired there was even enough food to take a sandwich for lunch later in the day.

If you are looking to go to Luxembourg City definitely go because it is amazing, this hotel offers very nice accommodations at a reasonable price which was hard to find in this area.

For pictures of the hotel and more information on Luxembourg in general see our post at: http://www.the-wanderlusters.com/europe/luxembourg-is-very-fancy/

Recommended for sure!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlustrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 5 August 2014

We booked this hotel for its good facilities: pool, sauna and free parking and of course, the high rating and price helped also.

After we checked in and received two magnetic cards, we discovered that our room was at the end of the "tunnel": the hotel is horizontally built with a looong hallway. No problem here, a little walk doesn't hurt. But once at the door, a surprise was waiting for us: the door wouldn't open. Both of the two card were useless. This can happen to anyone we said so off we go to the reception, taking the same long walk. The cards were reprogrammed and back to the room. Unfortunately to no avail. The door refused to cooperate. Now I started to get a little bit pissed. Back to ground floor where the staff verified the cards and wanted to send me back just like that. This was the moment when I had to insist that one of them would come with me to check if it's my fault or the system. Result: the receptionist saw with her own eyes that the cards are not working. When she tried with her supervisor card, after two attempts the door opened and she said everything is fine, we can go inside. When we tried again with ours, one card was working 1 out of 4 attempts. This was unacceptable and we demanded to change rooms. We would like to enter each time in the room escorted by the reception staff. Her answer: "this is the normal behaviour of the electronic locks. The other doors are the same". Our reply: "But how come that the next door family managed to enter with a single swipe of card?". Long story short, we received another room and everything was fine.

The pool, sauna and hamman are great along with the tasty and diverse breakfast. Nice rooms, big bathroom and very clean.

Conclusion: It was a 4 star hotel a long time ago, when it was newer.

Room Tip: Ask for a room closer to elevators
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Flower C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lancashire, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
90 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 July 2014 via mobile

A light, airy, modern hotel, spoilt by the unprepossessing exterior! Rooms clean and bright. No tea making facilities like most continental hotels. Food in restaurant very good. Breakfast good. Staff efficient and polite but need to smile more! Appear rather unwelcoming!

Stayed July 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank Catherine I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mireille M, Directeur général at Alvisse Parc Hotel, responded to this review, 22 July 2014
Thank you for you comment and suggestions that we are going to share with our teams. We will be delighted to welcome you in our hotel again. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
143 reviews
136 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 163 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 July 2014

I stayed at that hotel for a bisness hote. It is bit old school and quite simple but it is clean and relatively comfortable. it is bit out of the way form everything else - quite isolated. Wifi worked well, very slow service in the restaurant. Average room.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Pysiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mireille M, Directeur général at Alvisse Parc Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for having taken time to write the comment and we note your remarks.
Regarding our activities within our hotel, we have just opened a massage wellness center. Other activities are available: tennis, renting of bikes with guide, walks...Indeed the hotel is about 5mn from city center. Nevertheless, it is very quickly accessible by car and by bus. Our parking is free with 450 parking places. We will be delighted to welcome you next time in our hotel for your next stay in Luxembourg. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
38 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2014

A lovely hotel , the room was very nice , a good size , well decorated, very clean and had English TV channels.
The inside swimming pool was excellent, food in the restaurant was excellent and very reasonably priced.
The only thing to let it down was the unfriendly and aloof staff, which is a great shame as its a lovely hotel in a country location.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Andrew H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mireille M, Directeur général at Alvisse Parc Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Google Translation
Nous vous remercions pour cette bonne appréciation concernant notre hôtel et nous notons vos suggestions. Notre équipe fait tout son possible pour guider et apporter un service de qualité durant le séjour de nos clients. Nous serons ravis de vous accueillir lors de votre prochain séjour au Luxembourg. Bien cordialement.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
24 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 June 2014

Nicely done rooms with amenities and conveniences. Reasonably priced mini bar even. Amazing indoor pool with sauna, etc. we had free breakfast and wifi. They were happy to give us 2 rooms across from each other for our family of 5. There was an up charge for the kids however as we had booked "single" rooms.

Room Tip: If traffic noise bothers you (motors just passing by, no brakes) suggest you ask for a room on the b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mireille M, Directeur général at Alvisse Parc Hotel, responded to this review, 8 July 2014
Thank you for this excellent coment that we are going to share with our team. We will be delighted to welcome you during your next stay in Luxembourg. Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#9 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,724 reviews
1.7 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#1 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,448 reviews
2.2 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#4 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
2.5 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
2.5 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alvisse Parc Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alvisse Parc Hotel

Property: Alvisse Parc Hotel
Address: 120 Route d'Echternach, Luxembourg City 1453, Luxembourg
Phone Number:
Region: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Alvisse Parc Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its superb location makes Parc-Hotel Alvisse 4* an ideal choice for business and leisure travellers alike. The hotel is surrounded by a leafy, tranquil park and features a swimming pool. The city centre is only a short 5 minute drive away while Luxembourg Airport, the Kirchberg Plateau and the European Institutions can all be reached within 10 minutes. Parc-Hotel Alvisse features 320 newly renovated superior rooms and studios, all fully equipped with air conditioning, luxury bed linen, en-suite bathroom, free Wi-Fi and digital TV. The hotel’s Wellness Centre allows guests to relax and includes free access to our sauna, sunbed, gym, and indoor and outdoor pool areas. A free on-site car park with 450 spaces is also available. Buses run at regular intervals from the nearby bus stop and are a fast and convenient means to reach the centre of town. Guests can enjoy our tennis, ping pong and bowling facilities, and the beautiful surroundings make for pleasant runs and walks and feature a mountain bike trail. The hotel is a 10 minute drive from the Belenhaff ‘Golf de Luxembourg’ golf course. ‘La Veranda’, our gourmet restaurant, offers delightful set menus and à la carte dining in a spacious, contemporary setting with a terrace overlooking our park and pool area. The daily breakfast buffet is a rich selection of both hot and cold options. Breakfast can also be served in your room. The lounge bar is open from 8 a.m. to 1 a.m. every day. The hotel has 12 function rooms suitable for groups of any size from 12 to 1500 delegates or guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Fastbooking and Odigeo so you can book your Alvisse Parc Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alvisse Parc
Alvisse Parc Luxembourg City
Alvisse Parc Hotel Luxembourg/Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing