We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“good place to stay”
Review of Alvisse Parc Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Alvisse Parc Hotel
Ranked #14 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Düsseldorf, Germany
Level Contributor
29 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“good place to stay”
Reviewed 3 September 2014

I have read a number of bad reviews about this hotel. To me, it seems they must be from the time before the hotel was completely renovated. We stayed there in May 2014 and really enjoyed it: friendly staff, modern, comfortable room, the swimming pool is very stylish and big enogh to really swim in there (this is about the indoor pool, the outdoor pool was not open).
We had a dinner at the restaurant which was also very good. One morning, at breakfast time it was a bit overcrowded ion the breakfast room, but that was no real problem.
The location is good, there is a bus stop for a bus to the city centre just in front of the hotel. Recommendation: get a "luxemburg card" which offers free rides on all public transport and free entrance to all museums and castles within the whole country for a very reasonable price.

Room Tip: we had a room to the rear side of the building, looking into the woods.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank duesseldorfian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

694 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    116
    295
    178
    65
    40
See reviews for
72
254
19
227
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Derbyshire
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 2 September 2014

Eventually managed to find a space in the large outdoor car park.
Located in wooded countryside, nothing to walk to.
Rooms fairly comfortable and clean.
Restaurant choices/price not favourable so took the 10 min drive into city.
Sleep OK, no obvious Air Con in room so wouldn't fancy it in hot weather.
Breakfast mediocre.
Reasonable value overall but just for an overnight stop.

Room Tip: High floor to avoid noise of ground level public area Air Con units.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IatrosDerbys
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paisley, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 August 2014

We booked this hotel on our trip to Europe ,the hotel looked nice from outside and as you entered reception lobby, but that was it ,the lad at reception was ok , he gave us our room and a timetable for bus ,we had booked a non smoking room , but there was smell of stale smoke in room ,also soap dispenser empty , carpets soiled in room ,we were at end of corridor at spa entrance ,so you had people back and forward all the time ,I tried to go to reception 3 times but no one there ,we went out into town , and came back later ,still no one at desk ,as it was just 1night ,we just put up with it ,we went to bed about 10pm as we were driving to holland in the morning ,about 11pm I was woken up with someone shouting and arguing for about 10mins ,I don't know if they were drunk , it took me till about 1 30am to get back to sleep ,doors banging ,and trolleys getting dragged down corridors, the breakfast in morning ,terrible,toast machine broken ,yoghurt not topped up,overall standard dire,will never set foot in this so called 4 star hotel ,

Room Tip: Toss a coin ,we asked for a non smoking room ,but it didn't matter
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank John_simmons07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Luxembourg City hotels

Geneva, Switzerland
Level Contributor
145 reviews
50 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 95 helpful votes
Reviewed 20 August 2014 via mobile

The hotel generally has good value for money. It is not an exciting place but it has nice refurbished rooms.
The location is very convenient to go to any Luxemburg location.
Breakfast is fine and the free drink as a welcome at the bar is a nice gesture.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
Thank Skigasp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Bologna, Italy
Level Contributor
163 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 58 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 August 2014

Great hotel out of town with pool, spa, risotrante. Beautiful large rooms, silenzionse, and with spacious bathrooms and clean. A buffet breakfast is plentiful for sweet things that for salty things. perhaps the dishes had a faint smell of eggs, but everything was very good.

  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NosiSakatia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Plymouth, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 August 2014

I was a little disappointed with the Alvisse Parc Hotel if I’m honest. The hotel is billed as a 4 star hotel, but I would disagree, with caveats.

There’s no doubt the facilities, dining and décor are 4 star. Both the indoor and outdoor pools are lovely, with the indoor pool being complimented by a steam room, sauna, solarium and small CV suite. The food was excellent, the staff are friendly, helpful and made us feel very welcome, but there’s just a couple of little things that detracted from the experience.

Firstly, our room had no air conditioning. The room was stiflingly hot. There are air conditioned rooms available for an extra 30 Euro a night. The fact that not all rooms have air conditioning is not made clear at the time of booking. For a 4 star, this is unforgivable. Opening a window obviously helps, however the hotel is on a busy road which is one of the main commuter routes into Luxembourg City.

Secondly, there were no ironing facilities in the room. That’s not really a massive problem as reception hold a stock of irons and ironing boards. You have to leave your passport at reception whilst you have the iron and ironing board in your possession which seems a little over the top, and I had to collect and return the items myself. Now, I’m a fit middle aged man, so it wasn’t an issue. My point is that for a 4 star hotel, I would expect it to be delivered.

There are no tea and coffee making facilities in the room, nor a mini bar. Again, not very 4 star.

I will reiterate that the leisure facilities are excellent, the general ambiance of the hotel is excellent, the staff are friendly and helpful and the public rooms are stylishly decorated and comfortable. There’s ample free parking and the transport links into the city are on your doorstep. This aspect is definitely 4 star. However, the rooms, arguably the most important part of a hotel, have been forgotten about and are very much 3 star at best.

I enjoyed my stay at the hotel, just not the going up to my room to sleep part.

Room Tip: Pay the extra and get a room with air con if planning a trip in summer.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Nick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Alberta, Canada
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 6 August 2014

If you are looking to go to Luxembourg City I'm sure you have realized by now that it is very expensive. The Alvisse Parc Hotel is an affordable option that has all the amenities one could want at a reasonable price.

The hotel is located a short bus ride away from downtown (15min) with a convenient bus stop located directly in front of the hotel. The hotel staff were more than helpful by providing us with a bus schedule and map.

The hotel itself is very well kept (the exterior is aged) and modern. Our room was very clean and the bathroom was updated. Perhaps the best part of the hotel was the free breakfast. The spread they had for breakfast every morning was very impressive and you could eat your fill. If one desired there was even enough food to take a sandwich for lunch later in the day.

If you are looking to go to Luxembourg City definitely go because it is amazing, this hotel offers very nice accommodations at a reasonable price which was hard to find in this area.

For pictures of the hotel and more information on Luxembourg in general see our post at: http://www.the-wanderlusters.com/europe/luxembourg-is-very-fancy/

Recommended for sure!

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Wanderlustrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.3 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#9 of 51 in Luxembourg City
1,801 reviews
2.2 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#3 of 51 in Luxembourg City
734 reviews
1.7 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#2 of 51 in Luxembourg City
1,533 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
2.8 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
2.5 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 51 in Luxembourg City
1,026 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Alvisse Parc Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Alvisse Parc Hotel

Property: Alvisse Parc Hotel
Address: 120 Route d'Echternach, Luxembourg City 1453, Luxembourg
Phone Number:
Region: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#11 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:4 star — Alvisse Parc Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 271
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Its superb location makes Parc-Hotel Alvisse 4* an ideal choice for business and leisure travellers alike. The hotel is surrounded by a leafy, tranquil park and features a swimming pool. The city centre is only a short 5 minute drive away while Luxembourg Airport, the Kirchberg Plateau and the European Institutions can all be reached within 10 minutes. Parc-Hotel Alvisse features 320 newly renovated superior rooms and studios, all fully equipped with air conditioning, luxury bed linen, en-suite bathroom, free Wi-Fi and digital TV. The hotel’s Wellness Centre allows guests to relax and includes free access to our sauna, sunbed, gym, and indoor and outdoor pool areas. A free on-site car park with 450 spaces is also available. Buses run at regular intervals from the nearby bus stop and are a fast and convenient means to reach the centre of town. Guests can enjoy our tennis, ping pong and bowling facilities, and the beautiful surroundings make for pleasant runs and walks and feature a mountain bike trail. The hotel is a 10 minute drive from the Belenhaff ‘Golf de Luxembourg’ golf course. ‘La Veranda’, our gourmet restaurant, offers delightful set menus and à la carte dining in a spacious, contemporary setting with a terrace overlooking our park and pool area. The daily breakfast buffet is a rich selection of both hot and cold options. Breakfast can also be served in your room. The lounge bar is open from 8 a.m. to 1 a.m. every day. The hotel has 12 function rooms suitable for groups of any size from 12 to 1500 delegates or guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Fastbooking, Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Odigeo, Ebookers, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, HRS, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Alvisse Parc Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Alvisse Parc
Alvisse Parc Luxembourg City
Alvisse Parc Hotel Luxembourg/Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing