We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Modest clean room BUT noisy breakfast !!”
Review of Hotel Grey

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Grey
Ranked #26 of 49 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Reviewed 11 June 2014

130 euros for a very clean, modern and confortable room including breakfast in the center of the city is an excellent rate. Room are small and the italian shower in the room, not in a separate bathroom but I am sure that separate bathrooms are available.
The bad point is the breakfast place. A modest and flavourless buffet seemed in a terrible noisy café open to the street. Noise comes not from the street but from the NON professional person in charge of the breakfast. Without à single smile the woman runs everywhere with the plates and dish swinging and making your breakfast something not relaxing at all. Her other activity is writting textos and asking people for their voucher cards. So, next time I will bring my ear plugs!

Room Tip: Rooms are really OK but paying for à breakfast terribly noisy is a problem (even the breakfast is in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank PhilippeDouvier
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (183)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

81 - 87 of 183 reviews

Reviewed 2 May 2014

This hotel was perfect for my short stay in Luxembourg.
The location is close to Central Railway station, with good transport connections (Practically every bus that comes into Luxembourg will stop there), however, the street this hotel resides has a lot of people hanging around, but did not feel threatening.
The room is decorated and furnished in a modern style, which I like. It's clean and practical. WiFi is available within the room, so no hanging around the reception area of the hotel.
I did find the room very warm. While air con is available, I was not able to get it to blow out cool air. Therefore had to have the window open, lucky I had a room at the back of the hotel, so avoided the street noise.
All in all, I was happy with my stay and would recommend this hotel for short trips.

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Andy C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 April 2014

I stayed at Hotel Grey for two weeks in January 2014. It was my base for a business trip to Luxembourg. The decoration of the hotel is modern and nice, bathrooms clean and luxurious.
A friend came over for the weekend and I was lucky enough to get an upgrade to a larger room with two large beds. This room was perfect as well. WiFi signal is perfect, the brasserie as well. Didn't use the breakfast a lot, but when I did it was basic but good.

The hotel is located in a street with some bars. Since I am living in a busy city, I wasn't disturbed by this at all. But if you like to sleep in complete silence, try to ask for a room on the backside of the building. The central busstation, next to the trainstation, is just a very short walk from the hotel. From there you can take buses to everywhere in the city. Since LUX is quite small, you can even walk wherever you want to go.

The personnel was great, they helped me out on everything I needed. I definetely recommend this hotel to everyone!

  • Stayed: January 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rick M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 April 2014

This practical and conviently placed hotel provides everything a business traveller on a short trip needs - a clean and practical room, including wi-fi and breakfast. Location in the centre, typically near the railway station ensures easy arrival and departure and connects to the most important spots in Luxembourg even by public transport (which mattered in our case as well). Excellent stay and easily recommended!

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TAlbreht
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 March 2014

Initially thought location in a busy side street off putting.but managed to park just outside hotel, room smaller than imagined from website.all very clean.good choice of breakfast included in the price, staff very helpful,a little noisy during the night due to location,but overall good value.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank horace92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 February 2014

I stayed here for 2 nights during a business trip, only spent 5 minutes on searching/comparing/booking this hotel. It's a very nice hotel, looks brand new and is located just across the train station.
Service was very good (I even could check in at 24h00), just as the breakfast.

I was a bit sceptic on the noise: near the train station and some busy streets but it's amazing how quiet the rooms are. The downside is that the noise coming from the other guests and the hotel staff is really annoying: it looks like you don't have a door in your room, but are lying on the hallway... Which brings me to the bed, which was a very thin mattress on a sort of wooden shelf. OK to sleep but far from luxurious.

Tip if you come by car: park in the garage of the train station, so you don't have to walk through the red light district streets to get to the hotel.

  • Stayed: February 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jhml
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 January 2014

Formerly known as Bootik Hotel, this newly refurbished and renovated hotel still shows some "marks" of its old origin, but it's fully renovated, with brilliant and carefully well matched vibrant colors, as well as some curiosities I'll tell later.
Its location is simply fantastic:right across the street fromLuxembourg station central, which deserves some brief considerations:
-the neighborhood is far from being warm-plenty of drunk people, homeless and a bunch of prostitutes running along the nearby area, due the 3 or 4 cabarets we passed by on the blocks. Not very different from people you meet near central train stations in major cities if you arrive late at night or very early in the morning. The atmosphere may seem a little bit frightening, even though we could freely walk along and among without being neither disturbed nor harassed. Be warned. This is no Amsterdam Centraal or NY Grand Central Station. Be precautious and everything is going to be fine..
-The main tourist attractions are mere 15 minutes walk far from it, crossing the Pont Adolphe, and it's a perfect place to stay, unles if you plan a longer stay, because in that case you're going to have a hard time when finding a way to hang your clothes. I'll get there soon.
Main lobby is tiny and narrow, yet big enough for its purposes, and the staff is very friendly, helpful and multilingual. French, English and Dutch are well spoken.
Fast and efficient check-in and a very good elevator, also renovated, will lead you to your room. Corridors, walls and floor are impecably clean and there's a plus: NO CARPET! This was an awesome surprise. We could literally breath the thin, clean air, free from dust.
Another curiosity is the room numbers on the floor, right in front of each room, which is a very clever idea.
Rooms are amazingly big for Europe, and on our first try, we were given a naughty bathroom - it's possible to watch your partner shower through the glass wall. But, the shower door was stuck, and we were moved to a bigger room, one floor above, once the hotel was far from being crowded (in December 25th...).
Well, the overall appearance was good, except for the horrendous pipe with a lot of hangers for your clothes.
No wardrobe or cabinet. Nothing but the pipe. There's a tiny fridge with the usual minibar and a safe.
Rooms are VERY well illuminated, and this property had learned the newly taught lesson: dark rooms are for brothels, not hotels.
A very good LCD TV and a very efficient air conditioning system.
Although simple, almost military, bed was comfortable, with a mattress whose thickness was the second biggest letdown of this hotel. Bedsheet, pillows and the mattress were very clean.
There's a very nice vintage telephone by the bed, more decorative than useful. It's a funny vintage telephone, after all.
If you have an Ipod, it's possible to plug it on the other side of the bed to listen to your songs on the smart speaker at the bed.
Our new room had no naughty view. In fact it had a proper door and well decorated, more spacious bathroom, with a delightful square shower. A big pleasure for those who enjoy a comfortable bath.
BUT, THERE'S ALWAYS A BUT!
The staff member, maybe a manager person, had apparently, forgot to free our former room and mar ours as occupied, becaus all of a sudden, another guest, with his key, had simply entered our room!
After a brief explanation, the poor man was so embarrassed he 'd immediately left, on his way back to the lobby.
Loooong after the episode, all we've got was a simple phone call from the lobby, apologizing for the incident. That was all.
On modern management systems, each mistake must be properly aranged, and the least expected was an immediate apololgy request IN PERSON, and maybe some kind of compensation. A simple phone call shows no attention, no care for the customer.
This was my first biggest letdown of this hotel!
Breakfast place is nice and warm and food quality is good. Not exceptional, not brilliant, but fresh and generous portions of tasty breakfast items.
Good value for the money. Great location, but do not expect too much. It worths what it charges. That's it.
With some adjustments and a bigger atention, this hotel has great potential.

Room Tip: If you want to play naughty with your partner, ask for the glass wall on the bathroom. Otherwise, i...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Schwartzkopf_Reiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Empire
Hotel Empire
#15 of 49 in Luxembourg City
285 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Carlton
Hotel Carlton
#16 of 49 in Luxembourg City
388 reviews
0.1 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
City Hotel Luxembourg
City Hotel Luxembourg
#33 of 49 in Luxembourg City
215 reviews
0.1 mi away
Hotel Bristol
Hotel Bristol
#39 of 49 in Luxembourg City
204 reviews
0.0 mi away
Best Western Hotel International
Best Western Hotel International
#38 of 49 in Luxembourg City
317 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Grey? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Grey

Address: 4 Rue Joseph Junck, Luxembourg City 1839, Luxembourg (Formerly Bootik Hotel)
Region: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #26 of 49 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Price Range: £74 - £162 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Grey 3.5*
Number of rooms: 28
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
New design hotel in front of the central train station. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Ebookers and Evoline ltd so you can book your Hotel Grey reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Grey Luxembourg/Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing