We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Impressive piece of history”

Luxembourg American Cemetery Memorial
Book In Advance
US$9.00*
and up
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Israel
Level Contributor
174 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
“Impressive piece of history”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

The cemetery is very impressive in size and is a good stop for people who wish to pay tribute to the ones who sacrificed their lives for peace and freedom. A very important stop in one's trip, especially for history buffs.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank ronger5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

980 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    717
    230
    29
    3
    1
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Any
English first
Haddonfield, New Jersey
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“World War II cemetery from the Battle of the Bulge”
Reviewed 19 August 2014

A sober and moving reminder of the aftermath of war...Patton is buried here. Like most US military cemeteries, one is struck by the care and though that went into its design. Enough information is provided to give a visitor enough context to understand its importance relative to WWII.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
Thank Susan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fort Lauderdale, Florida
Level Contributor
170 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
“Go see general George s Patton”
Reviewed 7 August 2014

Not as beautiful as some of the other American cemeteries we have been privileged to visit, but always awe inspiring. General Patton, who died as a result of a car crash in Italy, asked to be buried here with his men.

Visited August 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank kathleen s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rio de Janeiro, RJ
Level Contributor
157 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 85 helpful votes
“Beautiful place.”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

Take some time and visit this site. I've been to Luxembourg several times and almost on every visit I went there. I guess that says it all.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Felipe F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Carolina
Level Contributor
56 reviews
18 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Very Moving Experience”
Reviewed 5 August 2014

We stopped at the American Cemetery Memorial in Hamm, Luxembourg to pay our respects to all those valorous American soldiers who gave their lives in the service of our country in WWII, primarily during the Battle of the Bulge. It was a deeply moving experience. Over five thousand headstones, white and immaculate crosses or Stars of David, grace the fifty plus acres in exacting straight rows from any direction. There are twenty-two occasions where brothers are buried side-by-side. Several members from the 101st Airbourne Easy Company's Band of Brothers are buried there. General George S. Patten is also laid to rest within its hallowed grounds, as well as several soldiers 'known only to God.' The chapel on the grounds is also worth seeing.
The memorial is impeccably maintained.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank marcopolo1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Luxembourg American Cemetery Memorial also viewed

Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
 
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg District
 

Been to Luxembourg American Cemetery Memorial? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing