We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Friendly and luxurious”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
Ranked #1 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Write a Review

1,452 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    967
    358
    96
    16
    15
See reviews for
132
727
93
353
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (142)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very nicely set out and the staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. The room I stayed in had a great view over the valley across to the City. However, there were some things which let this place down a little. The air con was very noisy and kept rattling. The glass shower cubicle was unusually right beside the bed which was fine for me alone, but if I was travelling with friends might have been awkward (although the rain shower was amazing).

It missed some small touches like not replenishing the shampoo / shower gel after the first night, not having any shampoo at all, not having enough coffee.

All in all a pleasant stay, but would probably try somewhere else in the city if I came again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank GlobeTrotter6680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLOPEZLENS, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear GlobeTrotter6680,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent hotel experience.

I am sorry to hear that you felt that some things were missing during your stay or malfunctioning. Please rest assured that I take these issues very serious and that I will do the proper follow up to avoid this happening again.

All our rooms have a very modern and unique design, with an open shower or bathtub in some cases. It is unfortunate that if you travel with friends that this could become awkward.

Nevertheless, I would be happy if you would give us the opportunity to serve you better during a future visit. If you like you can contact us at the following e-mail address if you desire a more personalized service: h5555-gr@sofitel.com

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

We booked 4 nights in this hotel and it's been fantastic. The rooms are nice and big, I LOVE the shower, amazing bathroom and the sleepers and robe makes the stay extra comfy and enjoyable. It was great to have several English channels and the roof top bar us pricy but bee enjoyable.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Nena1003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLOPEZLENS, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Nena1003,

I would like to thank you for having taken the time to tell us about your previous stay. It is always a pleasure to receive such positive feedback as yours.

I am glad to hear that you enjoyed the unique design of our room and especially the open rain shower.

I am looking forward to welcome you again at the Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Haugesund, Norway
Level Contributor
341 reviews
78 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 204 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 May 2014

Great view from the bar. Large rooms, coffee machine in the room, free water, a bit to soft bed for me.
Had room 712 and 516 from 21/5 of April
Good Wifi.
Laundry service was excellent.
Good service, nice car to the airport for €30,-
Concierge service.
Roadwork on 1 side of the building, but I did not hear much sounds.
If You want Your room for 1 more night - they will not match an Booking agent offer - a bit odd.

Room Tip: I had 712 and 516 both was good
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank svharkes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear svharkes,

Thank you very much for your feedback about the Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal.

The whole team and I are happy to hear that you were pleased with our laundry and limo service.
In order to make your future arrival even more comfortable I wanted to let you know that we also offer a limo transfer in our Audi A6 from the airport to the hotel.

We are looking forward to your next visit

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Lausanne, Switzerland
Level Contributor
13 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 April 2014 via mobile

The hotel is nice but nothing amazing. It s nice, comfortable and clean room but don't expect a huge 5* room like in Hyatt in Shanghai or ritz Carlton etc.. I give the note 5 because the price for the room is unbeatable. So for that price i highly recommend this hotel. Nothing to say.

Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Swissoliver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Swissoliver,

Thank you for leaving us a comment about your recent stay at our hotel.

Even though you are used to larger hotel properties, I am glad to hear that you consider your overall experience at the Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal as positive.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviewed 24 April 2014

We stayed there 2 nights and it's was really over our expectations. A real Sofitel 5*! Do not hesitate to choose them! Friendly and smart staff, nice restaurant and bar with nice view on the city... We checked in late and ask for table at the restaurant, it was fullybooked... after 10 minutes at the bar, a waiter come to inform us that a table was canceled.. great to recognize us at the bar and to think directly about us!!! Thanks!
Very clean room with nice shower!
The lonely thing but detail is that we cannot open the window in the room.
By the way everything perfect! Congrats to the staff!!!

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nicolas S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLOPEZLENS, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Nicolas S,

Thank you very much for giving us such good feedback. I am truly happy to hear that you had such a great experience at our hotel.

I am glad to hear that you had the pleasure to dine in our restaurant and enjoy the scenic view from our top floor.

I am looking forward to welcome you again in Luxembourg

Sincerely,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
119 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 125 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 April 2014

Lovely hotel, amazing service from check-in to check-out. Modern funky decor with large rooms and comfortable beds. Free wi-fi, coffee machine and soft drinks bar in the room.

As we drove to Luxembourg we used the hotel valet parking, which actually uses the underground car park just around the corner, but more or less charges the same price.

At night we dined in Ma Langue Sourit and amazing 1* Michelin restaurant 10min drive away out of the city. Taxis are always waiting outside of the hotel, so it was pretty easy to get one. The hotel also has a fabulous bar/restaurant overlooking the city. On a Saturday night this seemed the place to be, really lively and good fun!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Where_Magic_Happens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLOPEZLENS, General Manager at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, 15 May 2014
Dear Where_Magic_Happens,

I would like to thank you for taking the time to share the "magnifique" experience you had at our hotel.

I am very happy to hear that you enjoyed your time in our restaurant L'Etoile and our bar Coco Mango.

It was a pleasure having you stay at our hotel and we all look forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.8 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#2 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,503 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#4 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 711 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
#5 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 904 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
0.0 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,016 reviews
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#9 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,778 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal

Property: Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
Address: 40 Boulevard d'Avranches, Luxembourg City 1160, Luxembourg
Region: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
#1 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
#2 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#3 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
#6 Green Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Alzette and Petrusse Valleys, the luxurious Sofitel Luxembourg le Grand Ducal enjoys stunning views of the historic city centre. The hotel is at the centre of the Espace Petrusse complex, a short walk from major multinationals, embassies, major tourist attractions and shopping. On the top floor of the hotel is a high class restaurant serving gourmet cuisine prepared by a star rated chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Ebookers, Hotels.com, Odigeo, TravelUp, Agoda, Priceline, ACCOR, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd, Cancelon, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lux Le Grand Ducal Hotel Luxembourg City
Sofitel Hotel Luxembourg City
Sofitel Luxembourg City
Luxembourg City Sofitel
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing