We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Improved on previous visit” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
London
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Improved on previous visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

I stayed at this hotel about 18 months ago and I wasn't impressed (see back for a previous report on TA). I gave the hotel another chance since I use Sofitel a lot and know this was out of kilter with my general impression. I must admit, my 2nd stay was outstanding and back to the level I expect from Sofitel. The room was very nice and this time the air-con worked! The staff couldn't have been nicer. The showers are amazing. I still don't understand why smoking is permitted in bars in Luxembourg, but this is nothing unique to Sofitel. The views from the bar are amazing. Breakfast was a feast too, with the most interesting fruit salad I've seen in a European hotel. I will be back!

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank AirlineBuffLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLOPEZLENS, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear AirlineBuffLondon,

I appreciate you commenting about our hotel for a second time and I am pleased to read that you decided to give our hotel a second chance.

You mentionned that when you stayed with us in December 2013 you were not very happy that smoking was allowed in our bar Coco Mango. I have the pleasure to confirm that since January 2014 all bars and restaurants in Luxembourg are now smoke free.

Furthermore, I would like to thank you for complimenting out staff. They work very hard to provide the best service to all our guests. I will make sure that your comments will be shared with them.

I am already looking forward to welcome you again at our hotel

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,416 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    941
    350
    95
    16
    14
See reviews for
129
716
91
340
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Bonheiden, Belgium
Level Contributor
95 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 May 2014

I've stayed several times in this hotel and I particulary love the great view you have from here over the Petrus valley and the old city of Luxembourg. Staff have Always been friendly and wellcoming. Food at the 'L'Etoile du top floor' restaurant is good but expensive, make sure to ask a table at the window to enjoy the view. Rooms are modern but make sure you don't have a problem with a shower that is placed in the middle of the room ... :) And don't forget to have a drink after dinner at the hotel's bar !! again a must do. A stay in this hotel makes my visits in Luxemburg Always most enjoyable !

Room Tip: Book a room with view on the Petus Valley it's worth the extra money.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank patrick-belgium
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLOPEZLENS, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, 22 May 2014
Dear Patrick-belgium,

I would like to thank you for sharing you experience which you had at our hotel.

It is always with great pleasure that we welcome you at the Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal. We are delighted to hear that afer visiting us for several times you still enjoy the hotel and its features

Our entire staff is already looking forward to your next visit and we hope it will be as enjoyable as the previous ones.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
112 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 May 2014

Very nice hotel. Great staff. Due to construction on the street in front of the hotel I had trouble getting to the front door. With great kindness the bellmen rescued us and took care of the car. I knew about the shower in the middle of the room thanks to the reviews I had read. My husband assured me that he could not see in while I showered. In any case better that than no shower. We and my sister with whom we were traveling stayed 2 nights and felt very comfortable. Four stars be cause the rooms were a bit small. A great value because of the location.

Room Tip: Get a room overlooking the old town.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lovesweims
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLOPEZLENS, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Lovesweims,

I am sorry to hear that you had difficulties in getting to our hotel. Please rest assured that the construction we have going on in front of the hotel is only temporarily. Please do not hesitate to use our convenient valet service if you plan to visit us again.

It is good to hear that you felt comfortable with the other person in the room even though the shower is half exposed.

I am looking forward to welcome you again

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
47 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

The hotel is in a very convenient location, you can walk to the old town and in only 15 min you'll be right in the centre of the city. For airport transfers I would suggest using the hotel service, which would be the same as taking a normal taxi, but far better and mire convenient.
The room we had was very nice, especially enjoyed the Hermes toiletries and the rain shower, which can be a very pleasant experience at night with only the red and blue lights on - quite relaxing. The bed and pillows were ok, although the bed was a bit too soft, making the sensation really nice at first, nut lacking back support for a good night sleep.
Staff are very nice and helpful. Worth visiting the bar on the 8th floor in the evening.
I would, with no doubt, recommend this hotel for a short stay in Luxembourg

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Koush_Ann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLOPEZLENS, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear Koush_Ann,

Thank you very much for complimenting and recommending our hotel. It is with great pleasure to hear that you were very satisfied with our limo service for the airport transfer.

Furthermore, I noticed that you enjoyed our modern room layout and the fantastic rain shower with its amenities.

Even though you were not very satisfied with the bed I hope that we can welcome you again at our hotel in the near future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cornwall
Level Contributor
20 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 May 2014

The sofitel suffers in that it seems to have been squeezed into an old office building. There are very charming touches to distract you from this conclusion like aromatherapy in the coridors and delightful art in the lobby but I couldn't escape the conclusion. The rooms are constructed with the shower in the middle which is different but does leave you feeling like your sleeping in the bathroom. The beds are of the sinky memoryfoam type that make you sweat by insulation and make moving in the night hardwork. The biggest disapointment was the minibar which had only a narrow selection of soft drinks. To me the word bar infers some kind of booze. A minikiosk would perhaps have been a less disappointing name for the fridge with Coke and orange juice in. It was very pretty, clean and the service was charming.

Room Tip: request an upperfloor if you have a valley view. 2nd floor rooms had a view of tree tops
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HeadBrewer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLOPEZLENS, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear HeadBrewer,

Thank you for taking the time to tell us about your experience at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal.

I am sorry to hear that you disliked the hotel layout and the amenities we offer. Our minibar is complimentary and therefore only has a selection of soft drinks. If you would like to enjoy a drink during your next visit we have a stunning bar on the top floor with a scenic view over the city of Luxembourg.

Even if you did not like the hotel and its design I am glad to see that you were very satisfied with the service you received during your recent visit.

Nevertheless I hope that you will give us the opportunity to welcome you again at our hotel.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014 via mobile

The hotel is very nicely set out and the staff are extremely pleasant and helpful. The room I stayed in had a great view over the valley across to the City. However, there were some things which let this place down a little. The air con was very noisy and kept rattling. The glass shower cubicle was unusually right beside the bed which was fine for me alone, but if I was travelling with friends might have been awkward (although the rain shower was amazing).

It missed some small touches like not replenishing the shampoo / shower gel after the first night, not having any shampoo at all, not having enough coffee.

All in all a pleasant stay, but would probably try somewhere else in the city if I came again.

Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank GlobeTrotter6680
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLOPEZLENS, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, 20 May 2014
Dear GlobeTrotter6680,

Thank you very much for sharing your recent hotel experience.

I am sorry to hear that you felt that some things were missing during your stay or malfunctioning. Please rest assured that I take these issues very serious and that I will do the proper follow up to avoid this happening again.

All our rooms have a very modern and unique design, with an open shower or bathtub in some cases. It is unfortunate that if you travel with friends that this could become awkward.

Nevertheless, I would be happy if you would give us the opportunity to serve you better during a future visit. If you like you can contact us at the following e-mail address if you desire a more personalized service: h5555-gr@sofitel.com

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.8 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#1 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,444 reviews
0.7 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#4 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 682 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
#3 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 890 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
0.0 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 994 reviews
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#9 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,722 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal

Property: Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
Address: 40 Boulevard d'Avranches, Luxembourg City 1160, Luxembourg
Region: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
#2 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#3 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
#6 Green Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Alzette and Petrusse Valleys, the luxurious Sofitel Luxembourg le Grand Ducal enjoys stunning views of the historic city centre. The hotel is at the centre of the Espace Petrusse complex, a short walk from major multinationals, embassies, major tourist attractions and shopping. On the top floor of the hotel is a high class restaurant serving gourmet cuisine prepared by a star rated chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Prestigia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, ACCOR and TravelUp so you can book your Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lux Le Grand Ducal Hotel Luxembourg City
Sofitel Hotel Luxembourg City
Sofitel Luxembourg City
Luxembourg City Sofitel
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing