We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice Hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
Ranked #1 of 49 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Germany
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Very Nice Hotel”
Reviewed 8 June 2014 via mobile

The hotel was very nice and clean. It is currently undergoing construction externally which made it a bit hard to find. It is centrally located to many tourist sites. The hotel accomodated our big family well in two nearby rooms. The breakfast was fabulous but very expensive. The view from the breakfast and dining area was spectacular.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
Thank Truthseeker01
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLOPEZLENS, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, 10 June 2014
Dear Truthseeker01,

Thank you for sharing your positive experience in regards of your recent hotel stay.

I am sorry to hear that you had difficulties in locating our hotel. However it is good to hear that you were satisfied with its convenient location to the city center.

The entire team hopes that we will have the pleasure to welcome you again at our beautiful property.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,513 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,013
    373
    96
    16
    15
See reviews for
141
754
100
365
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (150)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
North America
2 reviews
Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel is within walking distance of the old city and train station. The outdoor entrance is under renovation, so access is a little obscure via car. The staff are very attentive and professional. The rooms are new and have very modern furnishings. The ambience is quiet with a black and white theme throughout. Lovely views of the city from our room.

  • Stayed June 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sawbones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLOPEZLENS, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear sawbones,

Thank you for having taken the time to comment on the Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal.

In order to facilitate the access to our hotel I would like to let you know that we have a valet service available 24h/7. In case the construction is still going on during your next visit you can just leave your car keys with our valet team and they will do the rest.

I am looking forward to welcome you again at our hotel

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gold Coast, Australia
Level 6 Contributor
224 reviews
99 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 May 2014 via mobile

This Sofitel can indeed be recommended for views, location and comfort. The staff are helpful and tees friendly and the tariff is good value. Breakfast offers a choice of buffet or a la carte on the 8th floor with sweeping views of the viaduct. The only failing is the WiFi internet offered which is unsecured and as slow as dial up, sometimes not working at all. Comfortable bed and a unique shower set up..you will have to stay to see what I mean. Overall - well worth a stay.

Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank HoneyandPaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLOPEZLENS, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear HoneyAndPaul,

It is with great pleasure that I read your review about our hotel.

I will share your comments with my entire team. I am sure they will be delighted by your positive feedback. Furthermore, Im happy to hear that you were blown away by the stunning view you had from our top floor.

I will share your comments in regards of the slow internet speed with our engineering department. We will try our best to optimize our network so that you will have a better experience during your next visit.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 5 Contributor
47 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

This is a nice modern hotel with a beautiful panoramic view on the old city of Lucembourg. Make sure you spend time in the bar or restaurant on the top floor. Great food (don't resist the cheese plate!) and great views. The location itself of the hotel (apart from the view) is not spectacular as it is not really located in the city center.

Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
Helpful?
1 Thank Patrick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLOPEZLENS, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Patrick V,

Thank you for sharing your recent experience which you had at the Sofitel Le Grand Ducal.

It is good to hear that you were able to enjoy our delicious drinks and food which we offer in our bar and restaurant.

Even though you were not that satisfied with the hotel´s location, I hope that we will have the pleasure to welcome you back in the future.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Luxembourg City, Luxembourg
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 27 May 2014

A top choice for those traveling to Luxembourg, this hotel is conveniently located in the city center, with direct access to a public underground parking. In room service is excellent, able to give some "wawww' effect! Rooms with a view over the valley are worth the small extra. Buffet breakfast is worth taking, with a much wider choice than the other 4-5 stars hotels chains.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2Trafas2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLOPEZLENS, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear 2Trafas2,

Thank you very much for your positive feedback. I am very pleased to hear that you were very satisfied with the overall experience you had at our hotel.

We are looking forward to welcome you again.

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Los Angeles, California
Level 6 Contributor
137 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 May 2014 via mobile

While we were in Luxembourg for just a brief visit, we enjoyed our time at this Sofitel. It is within easy walking distance from the train station and the old city. Additionally, it has all the comforts you come to expect from the Sofitel to ensure a pleasant stay (good staff, clean and comfortable rooms, etc). A friend had previously stayed at this hotel and recommended it, and our time there confirmed the positive reviews.

Stayed December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Parabola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLOPEZLENS, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, 4 June 2014
Dear Parabola,

It is great to hear that you enjoyed your short visit at our hotel.

I will share your excellent comments with my team. I am sure they will be pleased to hear that you had a positive experience at our property.

I hope you will visit us again here in Luxembourg

Kind regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Dublin
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 May 2014

I stayed at the hotel for two nights on business. From the moment I stepped in the door the staff were super attentive and helpful. The room itself was lovely and had everything I required including a free soft drink mini bar, coffee maker and Bose sound system. The bed was very comfortable and the breakfast and dinner facilities were excellent.

The rain style shower which could fit about six people was fabulous also - as other posters have stated it did not offer much privacy but I was travelling alone so it was not an issue.

My best hotel stay in quite a while!

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ams1982
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
FLOPEZLENS, Directeur général at Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal, responded to this review, 26 May 2014
Dear Ams1982,

Thank you very much for having shared the experience you had recently at the Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal.

It is with great pleasure to hear that you were satisfied with our staff. I will make sure that your excellent comments will be shared with them.

We hope to welcome you again at our hotel

Kind regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.8 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#2 of 49 in Luxembourg City
765 reviews
0.8 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#3 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,590 reviews
0.0 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,065 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
#4 of 49 in Luxembourg City
948 reviews
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#8 of 49 in Luxembourg City
1,880 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal

Property: Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
Address: 40 Boulevard d'Avranches, Luxembourg City 1160, Luxembourg
Region: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
#1 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
#2 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#3 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
#6 Green Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Alzette and Petrusse Valleys, the luxurious Sofitel Luxembourg le Grand Ducal enjoys stunning views of the historic city centre. The hotel is at the centre of the Espace Petrusse complex, a short walk from major multinationals, embassies, major tourist attractions and shopping. On the top floor of the hotel is a high class restaurant serving gourmet cuisine prepared by a star rated chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with ACCOR, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Odigeo, Prestigia, Agoda, Ebookers, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lux Le Grand Ducal Hotel Luxembourg City
Sofitel Hotel Luxembourg City
Sofitel Luxembourg City
Luxembourg City Sofitel
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing