We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Fancy a shower ? Have two !”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
Ranked #2 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Bucharest, Romania
Level Contributor
35 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Fancy a shower ? Have two !”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2010

First thing's first: this hotel is clean, comfy and well-served, a safe choice if you can get a good rate and have business downtown Lux (if not, stay in Kirchberg). So, really, looking at the black-and-white hound's tooth carpet, the tall pinky vase (or lamp?), the bathtub with shower and the other center-stage disco-lit shower, I realised I'm probably not in their target. Such target, probably, have tough decisions to make every day. Hungry ? Room service is impeccable, except the poor waiter cant get in with the tray, because of the shower walls. Feeling cold ? Its all open space so the air conditioning won't do it. Want to get drunk ? There's a free minibar full of water and coke, but no beer in sight (thank God for the showers, I would have mistaken it for a convent). Want to watch TV, but don't speak French or English ? Watch BBC News (only). Fancy a shower ? Finally, I thought you'd never get here. Have two !

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank camelia_d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,431 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    951
    353
    96
    16
    15
See reviews for
130
721
92
344
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (141)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 October 2010

We came as a family (two adults and two children 4 and 7y) and met a compeltely unflexible staff/hotel. It was only the portier who was kind enough to greed us. The other staff seemed to be to arrogant even to look at us or give our children a smile or any sort of acknowledgement.
We ordered a room for 2 adults and 2 kids. But when we arrived they weren't abel to accomdate us with any exstra beds, comforter or even a pillow.
The thick smell off perfume gave a final toxic touch to a hotel that lacks any remote signs of a 5 star hotel.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
7 Thank cjekm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 October 2010

I stayed here for three nights for a conference. The room was great and the service always friendly and efficient. The shower was one of the best I have had anywhere. Both restaurant and room service food were good.

My only complaint would be only one PC provided as the 'business centre' for the hotel. Not having my own laptop with me it made for frustrating evenings waiting for other people to get off the computer so I could check emails. Also the lack of a pool is a drawback in a hotel of this price/quality.

I would recommend and will stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RJMLondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brisbane
Level Contributor
162 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 October 2010

We stayed here two nights, October 5 & 6 2010. The hotel was very easy to get to by car and parking is available around the corner near the Novotel, I used the valet so it was even easier and was 20 euros for the two days - so I would valet it again, you ,also get water and mints when the car is returned - a nice touch.

Check-in was very easy and the staff most helpful, I arrived early and my room was ready. The room was a good size with a view over the Petrusse Valley (I had booked a view room after reading reviews here). The room has a separate toilet, Nespresso coffee machine, amazing shower and a extremely comfortable bed. The amenities were also very nice. Internet was not free but at 20 euro for 24 hours use over 7 days was ok, this is cheaper than the advertised rate for PT hotspot.

We had dinner on in the Top Floor restaurant which was very nice, a real treat as the food and service were both excellent. Breakfast was also excellent and is also in the restaurant.

The business centre has a single computer and printer with free internet, there is also coffee and water available here, it all functioned and I caught up with some printing.

The Hotel is a short walk to town, we went down to old town and got the elevator up, a very enjoyable walk and covers a lot of the sights as you stroll. There are many restaurants in the old town, again with a pleasant stroll back to the hotel after dinner.

I would return to Luxembourg to stay at the hotel, it may not be the best hotel I have stayed at, but is in the top 5 - I would have no hesitation in recommending a stay here.

Book a view room and make sure you have time to enjoy the hotel and the room, we made it part of our trip and am very glad we did so.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Drew Jones
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Vancouver, Canada
Level Contributor
393 reviews
103 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 318 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

We stayed here recently for one night in September. The hotel is very nice; our room was just a standard room but for the price we paid was a great deal. Check in was very good and fast. The room itself was nice, and we really enjoyed the free mini-bar stuff ... all hotels should do this. The hotel is great, across the water with a great view of the city and parking is easy (we walked out front of the hotel). The hotel had a very strong air-freshner going on, maybe to hide the smoke .... luckly the room didn't smell like this. Overall a great visit and would highly recommend to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank d1289
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Heidelberg, Germany
Level Contributor
18 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 October 2010

Great location, quality, and service! It is located just across the bridge from the city center and the Casemates du Boch, which is not even a ten minute walk past the scenic Pétrusse Valley. We stayed in one of their Superior Rooms with a view of the valley on the fourth floor. I would recommend trying for a room on a higher level go get a full appreciation for the view. The room was modernly and comfortably furnished. The bed and shower were amazing! We also took advantage of the breakfast which was a nice spread of meats, fruits, breads and cereals. They also offer an a la carte breakfast with eggs and meats. Recommend booking through the hotel, as I found a better deal that included the breakfast. They also have two lounge/restaurants that are up scale and worth a stop in for a drink or two.

  • Stayed October 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank meganwesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
160 reviews
137 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 162 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2010

The location of the hotel is good with walking distance to the center.

Rooms are really modern and beautiful.

I did not like, however, to be given a smoking-room without any discussion about this. I had travelled so long by that time and was in a rush to my meeting so did nothing about this. With these prices you should be asked if you want a stinking room.

Breakfast was good. I have to say, though, that they did not offer the eggs etc to me that were available (made-to-order). When I realized that others were getting more, it was too late (had to go to a meeting).

All in all this is an excellent hotel. Service is not quite on the same level.

  • Stayed May 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kauris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
0.8 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#1 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,483 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#4 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 696 reviews
1.1 mi away
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
Sofitel Luxembourg Europe
#3 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 897 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
0.0 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,009 reviews
2.4 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#9 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,753 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal

Property: Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal
Address: 40 Boulevard d'Avranches, Luxembourg City 1160, Luxembourg
Region: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Luxembourg City
#2 Business Hotel in Luxembourg City
#2 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
#3 Family Hotel in Luxembourg City
#6 Green Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal 5*
Number of rooms: 128
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking the Alzette and Petrusse Valleys, the luxurious Sofitel Luxembourg le Grand Ducal enjoys stunning views of the historic city centre. The hotel is at the centre of the Espace Petrusse complex, a short walk from major multinationals, embassies, major tourist attractions and shopping. On the top floor of the hotel is a high class restaurant serving gourmet cuisine prepared by a star rated chef. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Agoda, ACCOR, Odigeo, TravelUp, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Traveltool, S.L.U., Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sofitel Lux Le Grand Ducal Hotel Luxembourg City
Sofitel Hotel Luxembourg City
Sofitel Luxembourg City
Luxembourg City Sofitel
Sofitel Luxembourg Le Grand Ducal Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing