We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Avoid the room in the annex building”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Hotel Victor Hugo
Ranked #15 of 51 Hotels in Luxembourg City
Sao Paulo, SP
Level Contributor
77 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
“Avoid the room in the annex building”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 15 February 2012

The hotel is divided in two parts. The regular buildong and the annex buildong across the street. The latter has no reception and in case you ned something from the reception you will have to cross the streer and enter another building. Rooms are clean and tight, and have no view. I am glad I stayed just one night. Overall, the hotel is ok, I guess. But, not very comfortable. On the parling lot close by, there are buses that take you for free to downtown.

  • Stayed February 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rmcolin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

243 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    58
    105
    57
    15
    8
See reviews for
27
64
24
101
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
37 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 January 2012

I agree with previous reviewers that the name promises more than what you get. It's a decent, clean "no frills" hotel. Be careful, they have the main building and an Annex on the opposite side of the street. I stayed in the Annex (my employer booked it). Since there seem to be different rates, I believe that the rooms in the main building must be somehow different (better) than in the Annex. Also the breakfast in the Annex is a bit simpler than in the main building but for my taste still with enough options. In the Annex there is no free WiFi (there were just about to install it when I left). The location is excellent, for the city center as well as for the business district at Kirchberg.

  • Stayed January 2012, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank melaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
DK
Level Contributor
99 reviews
72 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2012

This small and nice hotel is in walking distance of both Luxembourg city center and the Kirschberg plateau with the EU buildings. I booked a room in the annex but got a room in the main building. Everything was new, held in simple Scandinavian style and well functioning. Staff was very helpfull. The breakfast was international with few surprises and served in a nice glass veranda.

  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ester G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Gotland
Level Contributor
84 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 December 2011

The name indicates something big, but this is actually very small. It is a kind of wanna-be. I've stayed here a couple of times (did not book it myself). The beds are bad, like travel beds with a wooden frame around to make them look like real beds. The still have the impossible hangers that needs two hands and ton of patience to use, the soap dispenser is broken or empty and the quality of their shampoo etc is bad (smells bad). The hotel is divided in premium and economic, with one entrance on each side of the street. Try to take breakfast on the premium side (there they serve nice coffee, fresh fruits, nuts etc). The rooms have OK Internet connection with cable and no hassle - this is a very good thing! The staff wants to do good (friendly, speaks many languages etc) but their equipment is so, so. I asked for an ironing board and got a miniature board to put on the desktop - even the bed was better to use as board. The "hotel" looks nice, modern design and fancy decoration - but my impression is that they are running it at low cost to show profit.

Room Tip: Check the room, many rooms have windows facing a dark garden with machinery that is noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Laotse2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Leuven, Belgium
Level Contributor
55 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 November 2011

The room I got was very small, the breakfast buffet well below what I expect in a 4 star hotel.
Also a bit noisy - I can hear my neighbours in the next rooms a bit too good for my liking. There is no parking in the hotel, although a few parking garages very near by.
On the plus side, there's free wifi, and there's digital tv in the room (lots of channels). Also , the hotel is situated quite close to the city center.

  • Stayed November 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Bozzie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mountain View, California
Level Contributor
23 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 November 2011

Everything was ok. However some expected amenities were not available: the sauna was broken, internet was on and off, a fan in a room was broken as well (was substituted later on)... It is better when you get what you expect or even more than that. Only in this case you wish to come back or advise this hotel...

  • Stayed October 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank St_yugi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Odivelas, Portugal
Level Contributor
137 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 October 2011

Despite having enjoyed the photos and description of the hotel, on arrival at reception they told me that my room was in the building across the street. The hotel has some rooms in a smaller building across the street who probably do not deserve the designation of 4-star hotel. Nevertheless, the hotel has a nice breakfast and the rooms are clean.

You take about 10 minutes walking to the center, or less if you rent a bike that costs 1 euros for 7 days, and if you walk only 30 minutes each time it's free.

Room Tip: I just recomend that if you stay there, you should confirm in wich building is your room and pay the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ricardo_Marques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Luxembourg City hotels
1.2 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Luxembourg City
0.8 mi away
Melia Luxembourg
Melia Luxembourg
#1 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,481 reviews
1.8 mi away
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
DoubleTree by Hilton Luxembourg
#9 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,748 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxembourg
Le Royal Hotels & Resorts - Luxe...
#5 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.5 of 5 bubbles 694 reviews
0.7 mi away
Grand Hotel Cravat
Grand Hotel Cravat
#11 of 51 in Luxembourg City
3.5 of 5 bubbles 573 reviews
1.1 mi away
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
Novotel Luxembourg Centre
#7 of 51 in Luxembourg City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,008 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Hotel Victor Hugo? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Hotel Victor Hugo

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Hotel Victor Hugo
Address: Avenue Victor Hugo 3-5, Luxembourg City 1750, Luxembourg
Region: Luxembourg > Luxembourg District > Luxembourg City
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#12 Luxury Hotel in Luxembourg City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Hotel Victor Hugo 4*
Number of rooms: 45
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, Odigeo, TripOnline SA, Evoline ltd and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Hotel Victor Hugo reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
BEST WESTERN PLUS Grand Hotel Victor Hugo Luxembourg/Luxembourg City

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing