We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“A peaceful getaway!”
other travellers have booked this property
Le Manoir de Gurson, waiting to welcome you.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Le Manoir de Gurson, waiting to welcome you.
Morning mist over the hidden valley. Entrance hall, with lots of information about the area, and a delightful 'Love Seat'.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Excellent
43 reviews
Le Manoir de Gurson, waiting to welcome you.
Morning mist over the hidden valley.
Entrance hall, with lots of information about the area, and a delightful 'Love Seat'.
Lounge, with reclining sofas, leading to dining room, with plenty of board games for all ages.
The Gold Room, overlooking the lakes
Ruby room, with view of the ruins of the Chateau de Gurson
The Emerald Room, overlooking the fields
Emerald bathroom, with corner bath, foot spa, wc, and two wash basins in front of a wall of mirrors
A little mermaid!
The Sapphire twin room, overlooking the lakes.
The Diamond Room, on the ground floor, overlooking the garden.
Rear hall, leading to the garden, sun terrace and pool. Plenty of books to choose from.
The sun terrace, the perfect place for a barbecue.
Private pool with superb views.
Another view of the pool.
View of the rear of Le Manoir.
Take a stroll around the grounds, and enjoy the views.
Hot Air Balloon trip over Le Manoir.  Enjoy the splendid views.
View of Le Manoir from Lake One.
View of Le Manoir from the third lake
View of the ruins of the Chateau de Gurson in the early morning mist.
Annual Fete Cantonale (4th Sunday in July) at local town, Villefranche de Lonchat
Canoeing at the Lac de Gurson with its sandy beach, swimming lake and adventure playground.
Market day in St Foy, next to the Dordogne.
Swap the boardroom for 98 acres of peace and quiet at Le Manoir de Gurson.  Perfect!
Outdoor dining at sunset, a wonderful experience.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Villefranche-de-Lonchat, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Excellent - based on 43 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Charise06
1 review
“A peaceful getaway!”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Set in the most remote and beautiful location, this picturesque manor is the perfect location for those who want some peace and quiet. Coming from a very busy lifestyle, this venue allowed us to completely unwind and relax. Charmaine was a fantastic host and gave us a warm, friendly welcome and each day gave us some brilliant ideas for things to do. We tried the lake near by, the wine tasting, the canoeing and the festival. All were super and are a MUST!
This manor is an awesome place to enjoy some real family time and I strongly recommend to all.

Rooms Location
Cleanliness Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexwheel...
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful house in idyllic setting”
Reviewed 18 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent just over a week at Manoir de Gurson and it was tremendous.

The house is grand and wonderfully set. We spent most of our days next to the pool overlooking the lakes which were at the bottom of the valley at the end of the garden.

All of the rooms were extremely spacious and spotless. You have enough room to spread out... and then some (they're massive).

The host is extremely knowledgable, charming and made our week even more relaxing. She came up with all of the best places to visit so we didn't have to think of it ourselves.

Overall, a lovely stay and i would most defiantly recommend that you visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Locatoin
Liked least: Bathrooms
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Simon H
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Le Manoir De Gurson definitely has that 'WOW factor'.”
Reviewed 16 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

I have just returned from our extended family holiday at Le Manoir. My party comprised of 8 adults and 2 children aged 18 months and 20 months. Some of the group flew in to Bergerac airport and the rest of us drove from Cherbourg. Due to a ferry problem the guests who drove arrived 24 hours late which left those at Bergerac airport in need of transport to Le Manoir. This was no problem as Charmaine kindly collected those herself in her car and provided them with a welcome meal on their first day. When all our party were eventually together on the second day Charmaine and her son Tim provided and joined us for a lovely BBQ which we had in the evening sunshine on the poolside patio. A good chance to get to know each other and a brilliant start to our stay.
When we arrived at Le Manoir and we saw the house for the first time from the top of the drive we all said, "Wow". The house is truly impressive. The five en-suite bedrooms were all a good size and the big kitchen, lounge, dining room and downstairs entrance hallways provided plenty of room both for group socialising and for those who wanted a quiet space. The kitchen is equipped with every appliance and gadget you will need. The next door barn houses the laundry room which is available for guests' use. There is free wifi with internet access of good speed. Also British television and a DVD player.
The private pool is at the rear of the house by the patio and lawned area from which there are extensive views over the surrounding countryside and the fishing lakes on the estate.
The nearby Lac de Gurson is about 20 minutes walk away and has a sandy beach with toilets, canoe hire as well as bar/restaurant facilities. There is free car parking as well.
The nearest town of Villefranche de Lonchat is about a 20 minute cycle away and has a couple of small shops selling the everyday necessities. Every Friday evening the town hosts a 'night market' which is a must for it's range of food.
Members of our group visited Arcachon (less than 2 hours by car), Bordeaux ( about an hour by car), and the nearer beautiful towns St Emillion and Aubeterre. Even more locally, the quiet roads are ideal for cycling. The Dordogne is about 30 minutes away with opportunities for canoeing and sightseeing.
So, Le Manoir is ideal for those who just wish to laze by the pool (or play table tennis, boules, go fishing or cycling) and also for those who wish to tour the local area including the renowned vineyards of St Emillion.
All our group enjoyed our stay at Le Manoir, particulary the space in the house. There is nothing to dislike.
This review would not be complete without a special mention for Charmaine who, without being intrusive, was always on hand for any query about what to do/where to go etc.and nothing was too much trouble for her. She always has a smile and obviously loves her job. Whilst Le Manoir is a fantastic venue for a holiday Charmaine adds the final touch. Thank you so much.

How easy was it to book the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Space for large group of people
Liked least: Nothing to dislike other than going home!
Travelling group: Extended Family
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Casson03
2 reviews
“Great location and house, hidden costs and broken loos though!”
Reviewed 5 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The chateau is very large and homely with all the amenities you need. The bedrooms are large and airy. The location was perfect in the summer due to the many night markets and festivals in this peaceful place. However, we were asked to pay more half way through the visit as the quote was wrong, and we were given an extra tax of €98 at 7am as we were leaving which was not on the breakdown of costs. My en suite toilet was also broken. These factors put a damper on an otherwise wonderful holiday in such a great house.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Management Response
7 Aug 2016
Thank you for your review.
We are pleased that you had a great time here, but are sorry to hear that you had a problem with the toilet. We do our best to make sure that everything is in good working order, and endeavour to put things right when necessary, but need to be informed as soon as any problem arises so that it can be addressed.
We were obliged to ask for the extra cost for your holiday, as the original booking through Holiday Lettings was for two people, and there were nine in your group, which makes a difference. Holiday Lettings continued with the reservation for two people, not nine (which, unfortunately, was not clear during the booking process), so you actually saved money, as we asked for a nominal sum instead of the official amount.
The Taxe de Séjours (Tourist Tax) is applied to every adult over 18 and is obligatory under French Law, payable at the end of the stay, which is why you were asked for this on the day you left. Holiday home owners pass this on to their Local Community Office at the end of the season.
You were very nice guests, and we would be happy to welcome you back to Le Manoir de Gurson for another wonderful holiday.
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bridgetjn
Bromsgrove, United Kingdom
1 review
“FABULOUS HOUSE & CHARMING OWNER”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

The title description of this house couldn't have put it better - it is paradise and perfect! The house itself is stunning and the location does provide a get-away-from -it -all vacation whilst still being only a short drive from local villages. The local knowledge provided by the owner meant that we were immediately able to make the most of the area. We particularly enjoyed a local food festival and the wine tour at Chateau La Plante. Charmaine was on site but very discreet yet always on hand for advice and suggestions. I would thoroughly recommend it to anyone who wants to be in this area.

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Location and views
Liked least: nothing
Travelling group: Large Group
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway People with disabilities
Older travelers Families with young children
Large groups People with pets
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
jillmorri...
Belbroughton, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“The Perfect holiday rental : beautiful house with breath-taking views”
Reviewed 28 July 2016 for a stay in July 2016

We enjoyed our stay at Manoir de Gurson immensely. The house is stunning and set in the most breath-taking location. The children were sold on the long drive up to the entrance! ...but the views from the pool surpassed even that! We passed many a happy evening admiring the sunset across the valley from the terrace.
Charmaine is the perfect host! On hand to give advice and help out when needed but very mindful of her renters privacy. She gave us some excellent tips for trips out - highlights being the market at Le Puce and wine-tasting at Chateau la Plante- not to be missed!
I would highly recommend holidaying here. The house is beautifully furnished with huge amounts of space for everyone; the location is ideal - sufficiently rural to be peaceful but within striking distance of lots of amenities; and the views are spectacular. Definitely 5 stars!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: The views
Liked least: Nothing
Travelling group: Friends
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Manchester, United Kingdom
Reviewed 29 September 2015 for a stay in September 2015

Travelling group: Solo
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveller and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing