We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
“Blissfully relaxing.....”
other travellers have booked this property
Le Manoir de Gurson, waiting to welcome you.
Bookings for this home are first-come, first served. Lock in your dates before they are gone
Le Manoir de Gurson, waiting to welcome you.
Morning mist over the hidden valley. Entrance hall, with lots of information about the area, and a delightful 'Love Seat'.
Check Availability
Request to Book
Make Enquiry
Very good
39 reviews
Le Manoir de Gurson, waiting to welcome you.
Morning mist over the hidden valley.
Entrance hall, with lots of information about the area, and a delightful 'Love Seat'.
Lounge, with reclining sofas, leading to dining room, with plenty of board games for all ages.
The Gold Room, overlooking the lakes
Ruby room, with view of the ruins of the Chateau de Gurson
The Emerald Room, overlooking the fields
Emerald bathroom, with corner bath, foot spa, wc, and two wash basins in front of a wall of mirrors
A little mermaid!
The Sapphire twin room, overlooking the lakes.
The Diamond Room, on the ground floor, overlooking the garden.
Rear hall, leading to the garden, sun terrace and pool. Plenty of books to choose from.
The sun terrace, the perfect place for a barbecue.
Private pool with superb views.
Another view of the pool.
View of the rear of Le Manoir.
Take a stroll around the grounds, and enjoy the views.
Hot Air Balloon trip over Le Manoir.  Enjoy the splendid views.
View of Le Manoir from Lake One.
View of Le Manoir from the third lake
View of the ruins of the Chateau de Gurson in the early morning mist.
Annual Fete Cantonale (4th Sunday in July) at local town, Villefranche de Lonchat
Canoeing at the Lac de Gurson with its sandy beach, swimming lake and adventure playground.
Market day in St Foy, next to the Dordogne.
Swap the boardroom for 98 acres of peace and quiet at Le Manoir de Gurson.  Perfect!
Outdoor dining at sunset, a wonderful experience.
This property is not available for these dates.
Don't give up! Enquire about other rentals just like this one that are available -
Show all rentals available
Overview
Holiday Rental House -
5 Bedrooms, 6 Bathrooms, Sleeps 10
Villefranche-de-Lonchat, Dordogne, Nouvelle-Aquitaine

Reviews from our community

Very good - based on 39 reviews
Write a Review

Reviews from our community

Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
English first
French first
German first
Any
English first
Tim M
1 review
“Blissfully relaxing.....”
Reviewed 3 September 2017 for a stay in August 2017

We stayed at Le Manoir de Gurson in August 2017. From the minute we arrived, our party of two families (4 adults and 5 kids), all felt instantly at home, both from the stunning setting and of course the wonderful welcome Charmaine gave us. Throughout our stay, Charmaine was the perfect host and hits the perfect balance between giving guests their privacy whilst still being on hand to help when she can. We visited St Emilion whilst staying which was well worth it and only half an hour away. The monolithic church tour was incredible. On Charmaine's recommendation, we also visited Chateau La Plante for a wine tasting with the lovely Jacques Mornaud. Incredibly priced, fantastic wine!
For those that like to fish, we caught numerous black bass up to 2lb on small plugs and carp up to 6lb on boilies although they seemed to like floating croutons more!! The lake is also full of small roach which you can catch on maggot or sweetcorn. The wildlife is stunning: we saw Deer, Coypu, Terrapins, Kingfishers and the resident Heron.
The nearby Lac De Gurson is 10 minutes by bike and offers swimming and canoeing. All in all a wonderful stay with no negatives! Charmaine even let the kids push her in the pool!!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mark C
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Relaxing and comfortable”
Reviewed 5 June 2017 for a stay in May 2017

The Manoire is spacious and comfortable, it is shabby chic, rather than ultra modern, but that is part of its charm and everywhere was spotlessly clean. Charmaine (the owner) was attentive, but never intrusive and made us and our dogs feel so welcome. We wanted for nothing during our stay and cannot recommend it enough. Superb!!

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rosemarie...
Dortmund, Germany
1 review
“Manoir de Gurson is a magic place”
Reviewed 23 April 2017 for a stay in April 2017

It was our third stay at the most lovely and peaceful place and again: We all had done hard work the weeks before our holiday and it took not more than a few hours to feel so relaxed. Again we enjoyed the kitchen and the cooking and of course the sightseeing with our bicycles. Thanks Charmaine for a wonderful stay!!!

Your age range 50-64
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
PamGoodch...
1 review
“Peace in paradise”
Reviewed 22 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Charmaine was the perfect host in the perfect location. There is nothing more we could have asked for. The photos don't do the Maison justice and our breath was taken away as we pulled up the long drive towards to the property. Each bedroom having an en suite was perfect and everything about the house was great. Charmaine was on hand to answer any questions and give us advice on all the local events and attractions. Thank you

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Denise R
Jersey, null, Jersey
2 reviews
“Total relaxation.”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Just perfect for all the family to be together. Everything you need us at hand and Charmaine was so helpful, even recharging our car battery for us. Perfect setting if you want total peace. Thank you.

Value Rooms
Location Cleanliness
Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Charise06
1 review
“A peaceful getaway!”
Reviewed 21 August 2016 for a stay in August 2016

Set in the most remote and beautiful location, this picturesque manor is the perfect location for those who want some peace and quiet. Coming from a very busy lifestyle, this venue allowed us to completely unwind and relax. Charmaine was a fantastic host and gave us a warm, friendly welcome and each day gave us some brilliant ideas for things to do. We tried the lake near by, the wine tasting, the canoeing and the festival. All were super and are a MUST!
This manor is an awesome place to enjoy some real family time and I strongly recommend to all.

Rooms Location
Cleanliness Service
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
alexwheel...
London, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Wonderful house in idyllic setting”
Reviewed 18 August 2016 for a stay in July 2016
1
person found this review helpful

We spent just over a week at Manoir de Gurson and it was tremendous.

The house is grand and wonderfully set. We spent most of our days next to the pool overlooking the lakes which were at the bottom of the valley at the end of the garden.

All of the rooms were extremely spacious and spotless. You have enough room to spread out... and then some (they're massive).

The host is extremely knowledgable, charming and made our week even more relaxing. She came up with all of the best places to visit so we didn't have to think of it ourselves.

Overall, a lovely stay and i would most defiantly recommend that you visit!

How easy was it to book the property? How helpful were the directions to the property?
How easy was key pickup/access to the property? Overall condition of the property
Bedding & mattresses Kitchen & utensils
Bathroom cleanliness Other facilities & amenities
Service
Liked best: Locatoin
Liked least: Bathrooms
Travelling group: Large Group
Your age range 25-34
Would you recommend this hotel to a friend?   Yes.
Recommended for:
Friends getaway Older travelers
Families with young children Large groups
  • Was the property as advertised?
  • Would you recommend the location of this property?
  • Was it a good value for the price paid?
  • Did the property offer wi-fi/internet access?
  • Was your security deposit returned on time?
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Enter dates for more accurate prices
2 guests
Adults2
Children0
Apply
Do you own a holiday rental? List it here.
Extra income
Earn money by renting out your home. With no up-front fees and no contract, you keep more for yourself.
Easy to manage
Confirm bookings in one click and track everything from enquiry to check-out – even while you're on the go.
Trusted by travellers
With millions of reviews and protected online payments, TripAdvisor helps travellers book your home with confidence.
Set up your free listing