We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“excellent & unusual location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Arkin Palm Beach Hotel
Ranked #2 of 15 Hotels in Famagusta
Certificate of Excellence
cardiff
Level Contributor
360 reviews
58 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“excellent & unusual location”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 April 2012

the hotel located right next to the mirage ghost town, a once opulence holiday seafront with miles and miles of sandy beach, hotels, business etc, now a 20 km emptied no man zone for the last 37 years, all the buildings still have logos on them, but all windows were broken, no doors, total empty from human but overgrown with wild plant, a perfect setting for a post apocalyse or zombie movie. there were guards in watching towers and shout at tourist taking photo. it was a bizarre experience to stay in such a five star hotel right next to a politically sensitive zone. but it was all safe, the ghost town has been there for so many decades. as for the hotel, my travelling agent messed up booking and hotel reception couldn't find my booking, but they were very professional, sort it out immediately and smoothly done without causing me any stress. hotel offerring airport transfer but quite expensive, so we hired a car instead, it is a must if you want to see north cyprus because there is hardly any public transport. taxi is reasonably priced but more cost efficient to hire a car, cost about 10-15 euro a day, plenty of free parking space in hotel. we had a double room on top of the casino facing car park, would recommend a sea view room if budget allow. there was a small balcony but we hardly use it. the casino can be quite noisy into early wee hours, but the double glazed doors were well insulated and hardly heard anything when shut. the room was small but sufficient. we stayed for 5 nights and didn't feel cram. in room facilities were very good, plasma tv, safe big enough to put laptop in, fridge, hair dryer, free wifi was fast, reading bed side lights, air con works well, shower was good, toiletries were top class, all molton brown brand, shampoo, conditioner, shower gel, body lotion, shower cap, body wash clothe, felt like a pamper to use them, shoe shine clothe, sewing kit, complimentary bottled water, etc. everything were in the right place, the interior space was nicely design and well spaced out. plenty of wardrobe space and hangers. breakfast buffet was very good, plenty of choice especially on friday and saturday, help yourself with the whole honeycomb, it was very expensive in shop. ordered your eggs and expect surprise as not all waitors speak good english but all very friendly and helpful. according to a fellow customer, the hotel restaurant served very good home made burger but we never tried. we preferred to drive 10 minutes to town near university where there were plenty of local bar and restaurants with a local price.

love the hotel lobby balcony, patio, amazing private beach with plenty of sun loungers and beautiful cotton white sun umbrella with seashell danging to make lovely sound in breeze. lying on beach to watch sunset or have a stroll along white sandy beach, what a life, absolutely love it.

the only negative experience of the hotel were two thing:
1. their cleaning squad, very much in your face type, banging on doors morning and evening, squeezed in the room when i stood right next to the door and looking for stuffs inside wardrobe on my way out; they could have stand back a bit and give me a minute, rather than have a full body contact to barged in behind me through a small room entrance. also their cleaning routine and standard were way below expectation from a five star hotel. throughout the five day of we staying, they did not clean the floor, both bedroom and bathroom, i could see my own hair on the bathroom floor everyday. they never replenished the toilettries probably. they didn't replenish at all one day until i asked. i also found my clean makeup brushes that i carefully placed on tissue on my makeup bag being threw around the desk, a couple of them almost felt into the gap behind desk.

2. the hotel policy of no food allow into premises. what a stupid policy to upset customers, are they trying to force customers to buy their ridiculously over priced mini bar snack? it was a holiday resort supposed to be family friendly, especially family with young kids, and tell them they cannot have any type of food, not even fruit and snack and candies bringing into hotel? i went back one evening with a supermarket shopping bag and were being stop at reception in front of other customers. i showed them i only reused the bag and there was no food apart from bottled water (tap water was not safe to drink in north cyprus). the receptionist apologised to me, not her fault but what a dump hotel policy. they better change that quick or there would be a lot of food smuggling.

Room Tip: definately sea view room if budget allow.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank rebecca m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

462 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    279
    120
    31
    17
    15
See reviews for
91
248
18
14
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (179)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Lymington, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 April 2012

If you need space for mobility reasons do NOT choose the cheapest option of a twin, pay a little more for a larger suite. But over all for for the sheer location and the level of service and the facilities on hand, this hotel I find hard to beat. It was a little quiet when we were there as it had only been re opened with new owners for three months. Therefore we had the luxury of waiter service even for breakfast. Every thing was of a very high standard even down to good quality loo paper. Every thin in the room was well thought of from dressing gowns, slippers, sowing kits, and an amusing suprise condoms in the mini bar. The bath was huge and two in it would not have been a squash belive me ( but no we didnt try it) There was also the option of a walk in shower as well. The view across Famagusta bay was fantastic. Five minuites walk from the hotel were a little square of cafe bars and restaurants. The Palm House on the top right of the square became our favourite which apart from a very good selection and a mean shish kebab the owner and his friend played guitar and balilika on a Friday and Saturday evening singing in both English and Turkish.
All in all we had a wonderful week but just a word of warning
Its 5 star so expect 5 star bar prices, I would say they are what you pay at home. Too my wife is disabled with restricted mobility. For any one completely wheel chair bound this is not for you, because for some silly reason there are 4 steps to negatiate down to the restaurant.We overcame this by using a hotel provided wheelchair left by the management at the bottom, ( we took our electric mobility scooter and it doesnt do steps) Both lifts too are really small. The hotel says it is disabled friendly which for limited mobility it probably is--but not for severe disability.The lobby bar is 24 hrs we arrived late and ate at 1.00 in the morning fresh cooked. There is no ATM nearer than 1/2 hr walk which I found unusual as they have a busy Casino attached. The Spa and fitness facilities, indoor heated pool massage etc are brand spanking new and up to the minuite. We enjoyed ourselves so much I would nit pick the small inconveniences as they would detract from the 5 star pluses

Room Tip: Pay a little more for an upgrade, we were lucky because they gave us a free upgrade as the twin room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
13 Thank GeoS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Amsterdam
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 July 2009

Due to the last comment the Palm Beach Hotel (formerly known as the Constantia with guests as Raquel Welch) the hotel section is closed because of a renovation.

  • Stayed July 2009, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
3 Thank VirinoAntje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
I O W
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 April 2009

This is a dual entry with a similar name.The hotel was "Bilfer" but this has recently been dropped leaving just Palm Beach. Incidentally it was used for many early scenes in the film "Exodus"

  • Stayed May 2006, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gsiw
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North West
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 31 December 2008

We arrived at the Palm Beach Hotel and were plunged into what appeared to be a 1950s film set. This did not bode well. We were told we would have to wait for our room - despite arriving around 3pm. When we were eventually taken to our room the disappointment multiplied. The decor was in need of urgent updating and the cream carpet could only be described as filthy. The en-suite was extremely dated with dirty cracked tiles and a collapsing shower curtain/pole. During our stay we had a leaky toilet which was looked at and found to be a clean water leak as opposed to waste water. The air conditioning was effective however this increased the contrast between the room temperature and that of the 'boiling' outside corridor! The breakfast provided was passible if a bit 'samey.' We recommend you do not purchase any drinks in the bar - particularly if you are thirsty. Service is appaling and at the pace of a snail and the cost of alcoholic drinks is bordering on the ridiculous. If you must stay there - because let's be honest it did appear to be the best hotel in Famagusta - smuggle in your own drinks and/or have some at one of the lovelybar/restaurants in Famagusta old town eg: 'Gingko.'
Remember to smuggle your empties out on a daily basis to a public bin (a hire car is useful for this) or they will charge you hotel prices for them if found in your room. Alternatively, bung them under the bed - they will never be found.
There is a fabulous sandy beach at the hotel where the water is warm and inviting. However (and the hotel 'blurb' conveniently fails to mention this) a glance to your right reveals an entire coastline as far as the eye can see that could be used for a documentary programme about a war zone. Hundreds of skeletal hotels and buildings stand together unchanged from the troubles of the 1970s. For most peole this is undeniably fascinating but if you are on honeymoon or having a romantic break it will come as a shock to the system. This area locally termed 'Varosha' can be seen if you conduct a search on Youtube. The derelict hotel area is a no-go area for tourists, occupied by the Turkish army and photography is banned. Indeed all over the Northern part of Cyprus you will see hundreds of Turkish soldiers at their barracks defending their interests in the North of Cyprus.
We had been under the impression from literature and word of mouth that the North is the most beautiful part of Cyprus. It must be said that Bellapais and Girne are very nice however we feel the South is far prettier, cheaper, the locals are friendlier and the whole infrastructure is more civilised. These distinct differences are most visible when crossing on foot the border between the North and South of Cyprus in Nicosia.

A final piece of advice regarding the Palm Beach Hotel, Famagusta. Don't even go there!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!!

  • Liked — the beach/sea
  • Disliked — poor quality room
  • Stayed August 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank LoveTravelNorthWest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hungary
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 December 2008

We were looking for a seaside resort to spend a weekend add-on to a business trip in Cyprus. For this purpose the Palm Beach was perfect. I can imagine in the summer during high season it is nothing more than a big tourist factory but on this sunny late November weekend it was very enjoyable.
Rooms are neat and clean - get the sea view, it is worth paying a bit more - and it has all the services you want to enjoy during a long, no-work weekend: beach, pool, several bars, OK restaurant, sea-side path for a morning jog or an evening walk, lots of small shops and local restaurants around.
Perhaps also because we were lucky with the weather, we could relax and enjoy. It was interesting to me as a Hungarian that almost all of the hotel staff (from receptionists to waiters to cleaners) were from Eastern Europe. This certainly gave us an advantage in being treated nicely. The quality of drink and food is not very high, however (I suspect there is more water in some of the cocktails than alcohol). Overall, it was a good stay worth the price, but I would not go there for a proper summer holiday. For me it would be too crowded and impersonal.

  • Liked — The palm trees :)
  • Disliked — Staff being generally unkind
  • Stayed November 2008, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank Ann_B37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
UK
Level Contributor
140 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 218 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 3 November 2008

My wife and I stayed at the Palm Beach in Famagusta for 4 nights in October, 2008, as part of a triple centre holiday in North Cyprus. The other hotels on our itinerary were the Pia Bella in Kyrenia and the Bellapais Gardens. This part of Cyprus has enough variety in scenery and culture to support a multi-centre type of holiday, and it was refreshing to move to different environments during the same holiday.

We flew with British Airways from Heathrow Terminal 5 to Larnaca and had no problems crossing the border into North Cyprus in either direction – the formalities were handled by the driver. The transfer times were 90 minutes from Larnaca, including a 10 minute wait at the border and a stop for water, and 70 minutes on the return. We booked the holiday with Direct Traveller, who managed to undercut the cost I had estimated if I had booked everything directly by £50. I would rate Direct Traveller as average – the transfer from Larnaca was reasonably efficient (as long as you realise that the rep waits outside the airport building, rather than inside where all the other holiday companies have desks), the reps were OK, but the return transfer was sloppy, with the taxi turning up at the hotel almost 15 minutes late.

The Palm Beach is a locally-rated five star hotel, but without being unkind the only thing that is five star about the hotel is its prices for food and drink. It is being closed for the winter for refurbishment, so to a large extent recent reviews are irrelevant, but suffice to say that the hotel suffered from what I would describe as ‘peeling paint syndrome’. Having said that, we had read the reviews before we left on holiday and our expectations were fairly low, so we weren’t disappointed. It just happens to be the only hotel in the area situated on a beach and between Famagusta old town and the ‘forbidden city’ of Varosha.

The hotel has 228 rooms, of which about two-thirds seem to face the sea. Some of the inland facing rooms appear not to have balconies, but they get the evening sun. The location is quiet, on a very nice beach, about 200 yards from the fence separating North Cyprus from the forbidden city – it’s fascinating to look over the fence and imagine what this thriving resort was like before the 1974 Turkish intervention. The hotel’s beach area is extensive, with ample sunbeds with comfortable cushions and large parasols, and the beach was kept very clean. The sea, whilst very clear, had rocks near the shore, and we spotted jellyfish in it one day. Clean pool towels are available at the beach hut every day. There is also a small pool facing the beach, but on the morning we used it we found the area to be drab and not kept very clean – probably why it is very underused.

Our check in was efficient, and our bags brought to the room quickly. Our room – 228 – faced the sea, and was average size with a tiny balcony – just about big enough for the two chairs provided (no table). The room had adequate hanging area, but was a little short on drawer and shelf space. The room safe is free of charge, and air conditioning is either on or off – the temperature adjustment dial on ours had broken off. The bathroom was quite big, with toiletries (although for some reason we had no soap on our arrival), bathrobes and hairdryer, but no tissues (five star?). Towels were changed daily but many were quite threadbare – we found this typical during our stay in North Cyprus. There was a medium-sized TV with BBC World, but a pleasant music channel made up for that. There were no tea/coffee making facilities – you are expected to pay about £4.20 for tea for two in the bar, and you don’t even get a biscuit for that. We were prepared for a tired room, and that’s what we got – the sliding doors to the balcony didn’t lock, and the shutters wouldn’t shut, even if you could manoeuvre them around the chairs on the balcony. And the other surprising thing about this five star hotel – there’s no light on the balcony, so no reading on the balcony after dark. Except if you’re a genius like me – moving the only chair in the room to the balcony door, standing the waste bin on top of it, and placing the table lamp (very carefully) on top of the bin – just about enough light to read by! Oh, and avoid the minibar – up to £9 for a branded spirit (that’s definitely five star!).

There was no live entertainment while we were at the hotel. We asked the friendly young lady at Reception if there was any planned, and she kept telling us that a keyboard player would be performing outside after dinner, but it never happened. It eventually became a standing joke between us. The lack of music contributed to a general lack of atmosphere in the evening on what is a very nice verandah overlooking the beach and sea. The only alternative in the hotel is to retire to your room for a dark read on the balcony rather than stay in the bar drinking £5 spirits (plus mixers).

Breakfast is served until 10.30, and is available only inside the restaurant, not outside. It’s standard buffet fare, with a choice of fruit juices, an average fruit salad, a hot buffet and an egg station for cooked-to-order eggs, omelettes and pancakes. Lunch – like most things in this hotel – is overpriced and we can’t comment on the quality as we didn’t try it; nor were we tempted by dinner, although we heard one comment that dinner was good, if a little limited in choice. If you want to go out for lunch, there’s a scruffy-looking beach bar about 100 yards from the hotel, but the food’s OK and reasonably priced. Alternatively, walk out of the hotel, straight across the road and past the tennis courts, and there’s a locals’ snack bar with reasonably priced toasties (luckily the Turkish and English words for toast are very similar).

For evening drinking and dining, there’s choice of the cafes and restaurants in the new square about 5 minutes’ walk from the hotel (there’s also a small minimarket opposite the square where you can buy supplies to avoid the high prices in the hotel). Of the two restaurants, we thought the Blue Lagoon was much better than Saris; the three cafes are much the same, but one had draught beer while the others hadn’t. There’s often some live music in the square organised by one of the cafes/restaurants. The old walled city of Famagusta is about 25 minutes’ walk from the hotel (and about a £3 cab ride back), and provides an interesting mixture of the old and new. The only restaurant we tried was the D&B, which has an extensive menu, and Kemal, the owner provides a friendly welcome.

We used our hire car to explore this eastern region of North Cyprus. The Roman ruins of Salamis (about ten minutes up the coast) are worth visiting, and it’s eerie to look at the forbidden city of Varosha through the fence around it. We spent a day traveling up the Karpaz Peninsula (panhandle), but apart from several ruined monasteries and some wild coastlines, it wasn’t the most interesting day – perhaps it would be better to go on an organised tour, where you’re provided with relevant information. It takes about 1½ hours to drive from the hotel to the end, and the roads deteriorate as you get closer to the end.

The profile of the guests at the hotel when we were there was overwhelmingly British, with a small number of Germans, mainly of a mature age, but that is in line with the general profile of visitors to North Cyprus.

A few words about North Cyprus generally, particularly for people who haven’t been there. Much friendlier people than in the South, and the place generally has more charm than the bigger brasher resorts in the South. It’s also a lot cheaper to eat out, although much more expensive than when we first went, 10 years ago. We found a typical three-course meal for two in the old town would cost about £40, including a couple of drinks and the tip. However, the prices at the two restaurants in the new square near the hotel were much lower, partly because they give you free meze as starters, and very often fruit as a dessert, so you are only paying for a main course and drinks.

Checkout time at the hotel is 12 noon, and our checkout was handled efficiently by the friendly Reception staff. Even the guys at Reception – who looked more like bouncers at the hotel’s casino – seemed to be friendly. The other staff were efficient, but were essentially just doing their jobs – understandable, if they were all about to be laid off for the winter.

It will be interesting to see how the refurbishment changes this hotel, and whether if brings real five star facilities. I imagine the room prices will increase (but surely they can’t increase the food and drink prices any more?), and the rooms should be smarter. But how will they increase the size of the minute balconies? Will they put a light on the balconies? I’m afraid we won’t find out. We stayed at the Palm Beach because it was the only hotel in the location we wanted at that time, but we’ve done it now and there’s no real incentive for us to go back.

  • Liked — The beach.
  • Disliked — The food and drink prices in the hotel.
  • Stayed October 2008, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank AHassall
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Famagusta
0.0 mi away
Altun Tabya Hotel
Altun Tabya Hotel
#8 of 15 in Famagusta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
1.7 mi away
Port View Hotel
Port View Hotel
#9 of 15 in Famagusta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 18 reviews
5.2 mi away
Amore Hotel Apartments
Amore Hotel Apartments
#41 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.3 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,536 reviews
6.7 mi away
Crystal Springs Beach Hotel
7.2 mi away
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
#10 of 66 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 965 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arkin Palm Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arkin Palm Beach Hotel

Property: Arkin Palm Beach Hotel
Address: Nadir Yolu | Deve Limani, Famagusta, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Famagusta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Famagusta
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Famagusta
#2 Luxury Hotel in Famagusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Arkin Palm Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arkin Palm Beach Hotel is located in the ancient port city of Famagusta, North Cyprus. The Hotel offers "a Heaven on Earth Location" where the turquoise hues of the Mediterranean sea, the magnificence of its private golden beach, nature`s own beautiful greenery, and amazing sunsets all come together in a truly idyllic setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with cyprus paradise , TripOnline SA, GoNorthCyprus, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your Arkin Palm Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arkin Palm Beach Hotel Cyprus/Famagusta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing