We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely hotel in a great setting”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arkin Palm Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Famagusta
Certificate of Excellence
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Lovely hotel in a great setting”
Reviewed 15 October 2012

Just returned from our second visit to this lovely hotel. The rooms, although not huge, are bright, modern and very comfortable. Fab location - right on the beach -with the added interest of being able to look over to the Varosha. The food is very good and the staff friendly and professional. We will be back!!!!

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank pamelap_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

480 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    288
    126
    31
    19
    16
See reviews for
98
253
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Heathrow
Level Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 October 2012

We had visited the 'old' Palm Beach on a number of occasions and we were delighted to see it reopened because of the superb beach which has the advantage of safe swimming and a possible siting of the turtles which have returned recently.
The renovation has worked brilliantly, the rooms are bright and airy but maintain character. We had a balcony overlooking the sea and the room felt spacious, certainly big enough for the two of us - yes, they provide shelving in the wardrobe for clothes instead of drawers but that was no problem and there was plenty of hanging room. The original restaurant has been converted to enlarge the new casino but the new restaurant is super enabling you to choose if you wish to eat in the open air or not. There is also a brand new end of pier nightly Barbeque. Casinos are not my cup of tea but we were not disturbed in any way by noise or anything else. The front desk is managed by a young man who is more than helpful and who was born and educated to degree standard in the UK, he also speaks other languages fluently. All the front desk support staff are fluent in English. The majority of restaurant and beach staff have at least a smattering of English while all managers including Chef are fluent speakers.
If you are unfortunate enough to suffer from food allergies, the Chef (who was kept on from the original Palm Beach), goes to every effort to ensure that you have an enjoyable meal, even going to the trouble to cook a special dairy free cake for our wedding anniversary. A different attitude to that at the Denizkizi Royal in Kyrenia, where I had to go hungry at more than one meal because they could not be bothered to get me something I could eat!
Every single member of staff gives the feeling they want to make your holiday as special as possible and certainly they succeeded for us. A wonderful hotel, worth all their five stars and we hope to go back next year.

Room Tip: Ask for a balcony looking out to sea and watch the sun rise and set - magic!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank ElizabethBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
32 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 October 2012

Recently returned from our first visit to the "new" Palm Beach. Having been a regular visitor to the original hotel I am going to try to avoid comparisons between the two, on the basis that will serve no useful purpose, and our own memories are both unique and personal. Having said that it was great to meet up again with some of the "old" staff and guests.

A lot of money has been spent on bringing the hotel into the 21st cenury and a good job has been made of this. Furnishings in the open areas are very tasteful; restaurant is well laid out and the food is excellent; bedrooms are well equipped although a little tight for space (stayed in a standard room with side sea view) and the Wet Room was excellent; bars were for the most part good with prices commensurate with a 4 or 5* hotel; bar service was variable but was definitely getting better as the holiday went on as staff, who spoke limited English, gradually got used to you; the swimming pool and surrounding area were good and also enjoyed a cooling breeze particularly in the afternoon.

However, the beach is still the hotel's jewel in the crown and it continues to be well used and appreciated by most guests. It is important that greater care is taken in maintaining the condition of the beach as the cigarette ends I found beside my sunbed on day one were still there at the end of the holiday.

All in all we had a great time and will definitely be back.

Room Tip: Side sea view room was excellent and very quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bgsupremo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

I have posted a review on the palm beach thread but think it would be better on here,we stayed for four days after a week in kyrenia, this hotelis very nearly perfect!! the staff ,rooms and facilities are all first class,we only stayed b & b but ate at the hotel a couple of nights the food was excellent there is a small resturant nearby called the Palm House which does very good meals also. This really is the ideal place for a totally relaxing break.Famagusta may not be the most picturesque of places but look beyond the neglected streets and bulidings and you'll find some little gems, the palm beach been top of the list!

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank dtoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
uk
Level Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We stayed here after a week in Kyrenia,this is a beautiful hotel that is really hard to find fault with, the staff were fantastic granted they didnt all speak great English although I reckon it was a lot better than our Turkish Cypriot! They couldn't do enough for you and were always very polite and friendly
we only stayed b & b but ate at the hotel twice,once at the pier and once at the buffet,both were very good meals,there is a good resturant called "palm house" just around the corner from the hotel which was great. The area around the hotel which is next to the Ghost street certainly isn't the most picturesque but if you can look past that and go with the flow this is a little piece of relaxation thats hard to beat!

Room Tip: Ask for a sea view
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dtoak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kent
Level Contributor
23 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed 4 October 2012

We arrived around lunchtime.
The new building is white and bright blue. It stands out on the vista. The entrance is not so easy to find.
You have to go through the new bus station to get there. Parking wasn’t a problem.
The hotel reception is very small as are the lifts and the rooms. It looks as if quite a bit of the hotel space has been sacrificed to the casino, which takes up a lot of the frontage.
We were greeted and booked in and our room was ready (before time). The room was tiny. Not enough storage space for anything really. The wardrobe was too short to hang my long dresses in.
There was a lot of clutter around taking up much needed space. There were huge fluffy dressing gowns and slippers. Big silver trays and bolsters and cushions taking up valuable space! It’s all very well being luxurious if you have the space but they didn’t. One full-length tiny width mirror that you didn’t really have the space to stand in front of. Dark. Needed the lights on at all times. No balcony either. Wet room and WC were ample.
Duvets and four big thick feather pillows on the bed 35C!?* Nowhere to put them out of the way.
The air conditioning was noisy and even on the lowest setting belted out cold air on our heads. Couldn’t move the vents to redirect it. Spent the first night in this torture. Told the reception the next morning. Then we went up to Dipkarpez and spent a night up there. The only stars were in the sky but boy we got a great nights sleep. When we returned to Palm Beach they had managed to calm the air conditioning down. However it is still very noisy. Outside the hotel are the new bus station and a new car park. All through the night there are motors coming and going with deliveries and arrivals and then the dustcart turns up.
Even with the windows shut you can hear all this. If the outside doesn’t get you the casino guests arriving back in their rooms in the wee small hours will. Banging doors and shifting furniture. Then having the audacity to put “do not disturb” signs out the next day.
The interior ground floor has a slick bar and terrace overlooking the sea. The restaurant downstairs is both inside and outside dining. Breakfast was a joy. Laid back and easy with blues music in the background. Good food nicely presented.
Dinner was good also. No complaints about the food or service what so ever.
The beach is still as lovely as ever. The sun beds are good and the beach towels are large enough to cover the entire mattress.
The very pretty umbrellas don’t offer adequate protection unless you are constantly on the move.
There’s a beach bar and an a la carte restaurant on the beach. We didn’t use them.
The public beach next door still seems more fun than the private one and the beach bar is still there with the same Guy and his Eric Clapton music. Large beer 6YTL. Good lunchtime grub at good prices.
Evening time the restaurants and bars on the corner liven up.
The Hotel is chic and smart but I feel it is more for the weekenders over from the mainland to use the casino than tourists.
Hence the tiny rooms and wardrobes.
Some of the younger staff don’t have a good grasp of English. Just ask the older ones.
We were booked in for 5 nights and we only slept there 4 so it was o.k. but if I went back for a longer stay I would have to insist on a larger quieter room.
Nice hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank squeakgonemad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArkinP, Manager at Arkin Palm Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 14 October 2012
I am very sorry that you did not enjoy some aspects of your stay here at The Palm Beach Hotel. Most of our guests are very happy with the 5 star service and facilities which we offer, as you will see from many of the other reviews. Unfortunately, we were restricted with the amount of reconstruction work we could do to the hotel and due to planning restrictions we were not allowed to knock any walls down to make any of the rooms larger. The hotel was completely re-designed in terms of décor, furniture, fixtures and fittings to what we feel is a very high and comfortable standard but as I mentioned we were restricted with any construction work we could do. The additional pillows, dressing gowns, shoe polish & shoe horns etc. are offered to our guests to fit in with our 5 star standard. Being a busy hotel we do have visitors coming and going 24 hours a day but during the night noise is always kept to a minimum and we rarely have complaints on this topic. I would also just like to mention that only a small percentage of our guests are those from the casino. The majority of our guest’s visit us via Travel Agencies or by booking with ourselves directly.

We hope that the points you mentioned will not deter you from visiting us again and we would be happy to offer you a room which you would be more comfortable in.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Farnham Common, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 1 October 2012

We have just returned from the "Arkin Palm Beach Hotel" and if we had the choice we would go back there tomorrow. Its our first stay at this hotel but it will not be the last. Its like walking into a brand new hotel as we didn't know it before it didn't matter to us. Everything is first class the Food, Cleanliness, service, attention to detail which is most important. The food is a buffet service both breakfast and dinner which suits both my wife and me as you can help yourself to how much you would like as opposed to wasting any. It dose have a private beach which is cleaned every morning and raked smooth in the evening. I was very impressed as before we went there I sent an e-mail to the General Manager Mr. Tunc requesting a particular drink for my wife although they did not stock it a case was purchased on our behalf of which we had a bottle on the night we arrived 10.30 pm. On a Friday night there is entertainment called "Cyprus Night" which again was first class well organized and very professional. The room we had was a junior suite well furnished super bathroom and panoramic view of the sandy bay and the blue Mediterain. I would recommended this hotel to a friends without hesitastion. All the staff are fantastic and they try so hard to understand you so maybe you wait a little longer for your order but on the other hand have how much TURKISH do we speak...!!!

Room Tip: Sea view Junior Suite
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Douglas M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Famagusta
18.3 mi away
Kaya Artemis Resort and Casino
1.7 mi away
Port View Hotel
Port View Hotel
#9 of 16 in Famagusta
25 reviews
0.0 mi away
Altun Tabya Hotel
Altun Tabya Hotel
#8 of 16 in Famagusta
27 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
36.1 mi away
Balci Plaza
Balci Plaza
#5 of 16 in Famagusta
75 reviews
5.2 mi away
Amore Hotel Apartments
Amore Hotel Apartments
#42 of 65 in Protaras
54 reviews
9.3 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#7 of 65 in Protaras
1,646 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arkin Palm Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arkin Palm Beach Hotel

Property: Arkin Palm Beach Hotel
Address: Nadir Yolu | Deve Limani, Famagusta, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Famagusta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Famagusta
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Famagusta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Famagusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Arkin Palm Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arkin Palm Beach Hotel is located in the ancient port city of Famagusta, North Cyprus. The Hotel offers "a Heaven on Earth Location" where the turquoise hues of the Mediterranean sea, the magnificence of its private golden beach, nature`s own beautiful greenery, and amazing sunsets all come together in a truly idyllic setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with cyprus paradise , GoNorthCyprus, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your Arkin Palm Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arkin Palm Beach Hotel Cyprus/Famagusta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing