We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Relaxing week in a splendid location”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Arkin Palm Beach Hotel
Ranked #3 of 16 Hotels in Famagusta
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level Contributor
14 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Relaxing week in a splendid location”
Reviewed 29 April 2013

Our first visit here in mid March on the excellent recommendation of Green Island Holidays. We had a Junior Suite - a very decent size looking out onto a pristine beach with a (small) balcony.
This is not a 'mega hotel' and dates back to the 1940's with just over 100 rooms. It appears to have been owned by Arkin for a few years and they have done a superb renovation. The public rooms are very relaxing and tastefully decorated and the main dining room is equally pleasant looking directly over to the water / beach with outside dining available when weather permits.
The food was generally of a high standard with plenty of choice. The staff were friendly and the overall service excellent. The hotel is a short walk into Famagusta with an interesting walled old town. Car hire would be recommended for further afield (we used Pacific Car Rentals) to visit sites such as Salamis as well as a visit to Kyrenia with a lunch stop in beautiful Bellapais on the way! We look forward to a return to Arkin Palm Beach.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jashley79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArkinP, Guest Relations Manager at Arkin Palm Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Arkin Palm Beach hotel.

The original hotel was built in the 1940’s but in the 80’s the hotel was extended and a further floor put on the hotel. The Arkin Group took over the hotel in 2008 and completely refurbished the hotel to then re-open in December 2011.

Your comments regarding the quality of the work, décor and other aspects of the hotel are valued by all of us here.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Adviser and we look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

482 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    289
    127
    31
    19
    16
See reviews for
98
255
20
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tewkesbury, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 29 April 2013

The Palm Beach Hotel, situated by its own attractive sandy beach, is a superb hotel in every way with excellent service throughout. The quality and amount of food for both breakfast and dinner was amazing, and always beautifully laid out. The waiters constantly kept our water glasses refilled: no purchasing of bottles of water.

Our good-sized room, which looked out over the city of Famagusta beyond the hotel's garden, was very clean and comfortable.

The beach has plenty of sunbeds, and behind the beach and next to the hotel is an attractive outdoor swimming pool with a wide variety of different types of seating and sunbeds around it.

The old part of the city is about twenty minutes walk away. However, at times this was an extremely hot walk, and it would have been good if the hotel was to provide an occasional minibus service there and back for guests.

  • Stayed September 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank peteralexandra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArkinP, Guest Relations Manager at Arkin Palm Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 10 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for taking the time to write such a positive review of our hotel.

As you say the walk from the hotel to the old town is between 15 – 20 minutes and is about 1.5 km from the hotel with no incline. It is a very pleasant walk next to the sea and past the harbour, alternatively just a short and affordable taxi journey away.

Your comments regarding our service, quality of food, rooms and cleanliness and greatly appreciated by all members of staff and make us very proud.

We hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 28 April 2013

Stayed here in February this year for a work trip. Hotel is beautIful and rooms are amazing with fabulous views! Staff are great and helpful. Gym and spa also excellent!

Bit daunting when you drive past the 'ghost town' but hotel itself makes up for it and the beach is beautiful!

Would definitely stay here again - really recommend this hotel. Best to hire a car if you can as there isn't much to do locally.

Room Tip: Ask for an oven view - stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Fransteyn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArkinP, Guest Relations Manager at Arkin Palm Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 8 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you for choosing to stay at Arkin Palm Beach hotel and for taking the time to write a positive review on Trip Advisor.

Your comments are greatly appreciated by us and we hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Coeur d'Alene, Idaho
Level Contributor
90 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 25 April 2013

Being next door to the famous 'Ghost Town' - this hotel has an interesting location. Because of this, there isn't the typical foot traffic on the beach. The turquoise water is marvelous. The hotel itself is meticulously well cared for and the restaurant staff as well as housekeeping, groundskeeping and reception all get high marks! The buffet food tended to be over cooked every night - surprising as the 'hot dishes' were never hot (many guests mentioned this). All salads and desserts were lovely. You can tell there is pride in this hotel but maybe new buffet warmers...

Room Tip: Sea side is a must!
See more room tips
Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank Julie S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArkinP, Guest Relations Manager at Arkin Palm Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Arkin Palm Beach hotel and for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor, our guest’s thoughts are greatly valued by us.

Your comments regarding our personnel and location are very kind and greatly appreciated.
As you mentioned we do take a lot of pride in the work we do and your comments regarding our ‘hot dishes’ have been taken on board and will be investigated.

We are always looking for ways to improve our guest’s experiences at our hotel and we can only do this by receiving valued feedback.

We hope to see you again next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 23 April 2013

Perfect location on beach but food a big letdown. Had expected more from a five star.
Very small choice of main courses in evening and very dried up. Also small choice of
breakfasts. Spent previous week at the Rocks Hotel' Kyrenia which was definitely a
five star and one hundred percent better! There was no comparison!!!!

Room Tip: We had a seaview room which was lovely.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DeesLondon_England
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArkinP, Guest Relations Manager at Arkin Palm Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Firstly, thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor and for choosing to stay at Arkin Palm Beach hotel.

We are sorry that you had a bad experience with the selection of both our breakfast and dinner buffets during your stay with us. We pride ourselves on our quality of food and we feel that our buffets offer a large selection of hot dishes including meat, fish, chicken and vegetarian dishes as well as side dishes and salads. The amount of food that is prepared may vary on how full the hotel is.

We are always disappointed when a guest leaves our hotel unhappy and hope that the points you have mentioned will not deter you from staying with us in the future. We always strive to ensure that our guest’s expectations are met and we are confident that these unfortunate experiences were a one off.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Norwich, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 April 2013

I booked this place after reading ratings on Tripadvisor, and wasn't disappointed. The facilites were the best I've seen on our typical budget, the food was varied and delicious, and the room clean, well-equipped and smart.
We had paid extra for a sea view and this was definitely worth it, though the sea was a lot closer than expected ! Facilities: it was great to have the use of an indoor swimming pool, it not yet being warm enough to swim outdoors, AND a steam room AND a sauna included in the price. The TV in our room had more than one English channel (not just news either). The bars and lounges were also great places to be, though we didn't spend a great deal of time there. The staff were friendly and helpful. And on top of all that, the location was great, being only a short walk from the city of Famagusta. There's also a great little cafe just down the road which does lovely ice-cream.
If I have any quibble at all, it is only that the room was a bit on the small side, but really that's nit-picking. I would definitely go back there.

Room Tip: As everyone else has said, sea view rooms are great, but the sea can be noisy at night if it's w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank pleasetryharder
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArkinP, Guest Relations Manager at Arkin Palm Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 2 May 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay with us at Arkin Palm Beach hotel.

We appreciate the time you have taken to write such a positive review of our hotel on Trip Advisor specifically our staff, guest rooms, spa and location.

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your holiday with us and we hope to see you soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
burgess hill
Level Contributor
119 reviews
55 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 April 2013

This hotel provided the best sleep of our holiday with a huge comfortable bed, blackout curtains and a wonderful spa bath. It was wonderfully quiet and comfortable. We were upgraded to a suite which included a sitting area and a huge balcony with double day bed and views straight out to sea. The other rooms looked just fine, the balconies are smaller and less private with table and chairs. Breakfast was good and the dinner buffet was very good. Car parking was very easy and the hotel was about a 20 minute level stroll mainly along the seafront into lovely old Famagusta.

  • Stayed April 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank oakroyd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ArkinP, Guest Relations Manager at Arkin Palm Beach Hotel, responded to this review, 23 April 2013
Dear Guest,

We are very pleased that you enjoyed your room and that you enjoyed the best sleep of your holiday with us. Your comments regarding our cuisine, views and location are all greatly appreciated.

Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Trip Advisor and we look forward to seeing you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Famagusta
18.3 mi away
Kaya Artemis Resort and Casino
1.7 mi away
Port View Hotel
Port View Hotel
#9 of 16 in Famagusta
25 reviews
36.1 mi away
Balci Plaza
Balci Plaza
#5 of 16 in Famagusta
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Altun Tabya Hotel
Altun Tabya Hotel
#8 of 16 in Famagusta
27 reviews
9.3 mi away
Capo Bay Hotel
Capo Bay Hotel
#8 of 65 in Protaras
1,648 reviews
5.2 mi away
Amore Hotel Apartments
Amore Hotel Apartments
#42 of 65 in Protaras
54 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Arkin Palm Beach Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Arkin Palm Beach Hotel

Property: Arkin Palm Beach Hotel
Address: Nadir Yolu | Deve Limani, Famagusta, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Famagusta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Famagusta
#3 On the Beach Hotel in Famagusta
#3 Luxury Hotel in Famagusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Arkin Palm Beach Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 102
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Arkin Palm Beach Hotel is located in the ancient port city of Famagusta, North Cyprus. The Hotel offers "a Heaven on Earth Location" where the turquoise hues of the Mediterranean sea, the magnificence of its private golden beach, nature`s own beautiful greenery, and amazing sunsets all come together in a truly idyllic setting. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, GoNorthCyprus and Cancelon so you can book your Arkin Palm Beach Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Arkin Palm Beach Hotel Cyprus/Famagusta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing