We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet in the Old City”
Review of Altun Tabya Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Altun Tabya Hotel
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Famagusta
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 7 March 2014

There are very few choices in the Old City. Very well located at the entrance. Old fashioned, run by an older man. The room is large and confortable. Simple breakfast. The only English channel on the TV is Al Jeezira News (Ch 70). Famagusta is by far the best town in Cyprus. so highly recommended to stay there at least one night.

  • Stayed: March 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Pierre W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (42)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

21 - 27 of 42 reviews

Reviewed 2 November 2013

We stayed at this hotel in October 2013, a nice little hotel well positioned just inside the city walls. The elderly gentleman who runs the hotel is very pleasant and helpful. The room was basic but it has everything you need and was clean enough, it even had a balcony. The breakfast could have been a little larger but sufficient for our needs. For 35 euro's a night, an air conditioned room, we couldn't really complain.

  • Stayed: October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank SeasideBournemouth
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 April 2006

Although our tour book stated 20 Euro for a double bedroom without AC, they charged us 25 Euro, which we found overpriced given the poor standard.

Our room and bathroom wasn't exactly dirty, but I wouldn't call it clean either. The bathroom was in a sorry state (with no shower curtains). The bedframes were a complete disaster for anyone weighing over 50 kilogrammes.

Out of the several lamps in the room only one light bulb worked.

What we found most annoying, however, was the noise inside the building. With paper-like walls you can hear just about everything and apparently we had quite a few loud neighbours.

Oh, by the way, coffee for breakfast costs extra...

The problem is that there doesn’t seem to be any other hotel in the centre of Famagusta, so maybe just arrange for a daytrip to Famagusta and stay elsewhere.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Alphonse_Brown
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 November 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Frau A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 October 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: October 2017, travelled solo
Thank Stephane B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 September 2017 via mobile
Google Translation

Stayed: September 2017, travelled as a couple
Thank elena89vr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 20 September 2017
Google Translation

  • Stayed: August 2017, travelled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daina D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Famagusta
0.8 mi away
Port View Hotel
Port View Hotel
#9 of 16 in Famagusta
42 reviews
36.4 mi away
Balci Plaza
Balci Plaza
#7 of 16 in Famagusta
89 reviews
7.5 mi away
Crystal Springs Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
5.9 mi away
Amore Hotel Apartments
Amore Hotel Apartments
#50 of 65 in Protaras
62 reviews
8 mi away
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
#18 of 65 in Protaras
1,200 reviews
8.9 mi away
Mandalena ApartHotel
Mandalena ApartHotel
#24 of 65 in Protaras
427 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Altun Tabya Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Altun Tabya Hotel

Address: Kizilkule sokak no 6, Kaleici, Famagusta 99450, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Famagusta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Centre with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #8 of 16 Hotels in Famagusta
Price Range: £39 - £52 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Charming and cozy atmosphere. Our place is close to restaurants, beaches, family-friendly activities, public transport and nightlife. You’ll love our family-run place because of the location, the people, and the ambiance. Our place is good for couples, adventurers, and business travelers. We also have Cyprus Village Museum in a house in the garden of the hotel. There are a lot of antiques there. It would be a pleasure for us to host you in our family run place Altun Tabya, my father opened in 1973. Since 2010 my home was closed, my family re-opened our hotel in July 2016 again, to keep that traditional home open for everybody. We are located in the heart of the Castle and all historical places are within walking distance. As the hotel has the entrance in one of our nice small streets here in Famagusta, you can enjoy your breakfast or evening drink in a very charming and cozy area. It would be a pleasure for us to host you in our family run place Altun Tabya, my father opened in 1973. Since 2010 my home was closed, my family re-opened our hotel in July 2016 again, to keep that traditional home open for everybody. We are located in the heart of the Castle and all historical places are within walking distance. As the hotel has the entrance in one of our nice small streets here in Famagusta, you can enjoy your breakfast or evening drink in a very charming and cozy area. If you arrive by car, free parking space is located 5 meters away. Shops are reachable in 2 minutes. Of course our rooms are with AC and private shower. WIFI is availabe in- and outside. For giving our guests more information about our history, we are preparing a small museum. Also some bikes will be available soon. We also have Cyprus Village Museum in a house in the garden of the hotel. There are a lot of antiques there. If you have more questions, please don't hesitate to ask us. Berna and Family Of course we would be more than happy to help you out with information about the area, things to do, where to visit and eat and anything you would need. Our place is close to restaurants, beaches, family-friendly activities, public transport and nightlife. You’ll love our family run place because of the location, the people, and the ambiance. Our place is good for couples with children, solo adventurers, and business travelers. The Turkish Republic of Northern Cyprus (TRNC) occupies the northern and eastern reaches of Cyprus, with scheduled flights from London, Manchester and other regional airports providing means of entry. If flying to Ercan Airport or Geçitkale Airport, North Cyprus’ two international landing points, passengers must transit briefly in Turkey. No visa is required for British or EU citizens wishing to visit or cross between the northern and southern parts of the country, meaning those wishing to fly into Larnaca and Paphos can easily commute to the north of the island in just over an hour. If you arrive by car- free parking space is available. Puplic Trasportation - Busses to Nicosia (Lefkoşa) and Kyrenia (Girne) are just outside the walled city, 300m away, around the corner. Once upon a time Famagusta was the most important port city on the island. The naturally deep harbour attracted ships, merchants and traders from all over the eastern Mediterranean and further. It was during this time that the region began to flourish with wealth, and the idea that wealth could be measured by the churches they built inspired these rich merchants to build a multitude of them. Famagusta came to be known as "the district of churches” – legend has it that at one time the area had a church for every day of the year. Today the area boasts some of the most impressive medieval ruins anywhere in the world. The contrasting Lala Mustafa Pasha Mosque is fascinating for its gothic cathedral exterior as it was once a church, which has since been transformed into a mosque on the inside. A walk through the walled city offers wonderful insight the history of the area, like a crumbling postcard to the past. Salamis is a home to some fantastically preserved Roman ruins, including statues, standing columns, theatre and baths. But, of course, the area is as famous for its spectacular beaches as its rich history so there is really something for everyone. The Karpaz Peninsula is an area of unparalleled, natural beauty and must be seen. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Altun Tabya Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altun Tabya Hotel Cyprus/Famagusta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing