We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bogus Hotel”
Review of Bogaz Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Bogaz Hotel
Ranked #13 of 16 Hotels in Famagusta
Reviewed 27 June 2012

This hotel bears no resemblance to the photos. It is falling apart, filthy and noisy. There is no pool. We had to turn the air conditioning on from a chair as there was no remote. The beds are smelly and damp. The water in the bathroom is salt. Could not be a worse hotel.

  • Stayed: June 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Purple2304
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (49)
There are newer reviews for Bogaz Hotel
See the most recent reviews
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

23 - 29 of 49 reviews

Reviewed 28 May 2012

The Good - room size, balcony, view, breakfast (in beach-front restaurant), TV with English language news (Al Jazeera).

The Bad - filthy carpet, sagging bed, smelly fridge, black mould in shower, salt water (when available..!), just dont look too closely at anything.

The Ugly - owner gave us a 1.5 litre bottle of water which we hadnt requested but, since the tap water is totally undrinkable, I thought was a kind gesture. We had our own bottle anyway, as one must in these countries. Next morning he presents me a bill for TL 4. (costs TL 1 or less in the shops).

  • Stayed: May 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank spesbona
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 October 2011

We had the unfortunate experience of this Hotel. We can take the dated rooms and the worn furniture and fittings but some things are dangerous and hazardous to your health. The electrics are dangerous, wires not properly secured and plugs hanging off the wall. The bath is fine if you have 6 foot legs to get in and out without self harming. The water is constantly cold and is salt water (very salty) so you cannot wash/shower/shave properly. Just down the road is the club beach and bar which includes the restaurant for breakfast. The pool had a greasy film and the whole area wanted a good clean. If you are thinking of staying at this hotel just visit the toilets at the restaurant, disgusting!!!!!!! Horrendously smelly, the most disgusting toilets and smell we have ever experienced. The village has a lovely little harbour and could be a nice place to stay but the whole village needs some TLC.
Only because it wouldn't let me leave review without a rating I reluctantly give it 1

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
4  Thank roxychick52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 11 October 2011

Well, What can I say!! Stayed only two nights with friends and we were ready to leave after the first night!! Only the fact that we had paid upfront stopped us. To start off with the staff tried to put us in rooms which were already booked out to other customers, so we had to move to the next floor up and when you are getting on a bit and your lungs don't work properly that is a real problem when there is no lift. I would not recommend it to anyone. I can stand the shabbiness but dirty shower rooms with mould and salt water to shower in is a bit much!

  • Stayed: October 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sweetiepieLimassol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 September 2011

Although not the height of luxury, the Bogaz Hotel is comfortable and welcoming. The staff are all friendly and nothing is too much trouble. We have stayed there twice , Oct 2010 and May 2011 and are going again Oct 2011. On last visit we were picked up from airport on arrival and on departure were taken back and I was helped right to check in as my husband was still decidedly drunk from previous night! Have been to North Cyprus many times and Bogaz Hotel is the only one to draw us back - will probably never try any other now we have found this one.
S. Bonner.
Sudbury, Suffolk

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank Sally B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 6 October 2010

slight concerns pre-trip after reading reviews on this site but apart from some trivial issues we had a good stay .
room was dated but clean and staff very freindly .
if you want 5 star at 2 star prices you will be disappointed . this hotel is very good vfm.

  • Stayed: September 2010, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank jadams-10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 14 August 2009

Terrible terrible hotel. Rooms not cleaned, shower door filthy, staff unfriendly, balcony furniture only fit for the skip, balcony dangerous with crumbling rubble falling from balcony above. The sheets on our bed didn't even fit.Outside it got worse. The private beach was dirty and full of broken beer bottles and broken beds. In the restaurant plates were left on the table from the night before and breakfast dishes weren't cleared away so that the cats ate what was left on the table!! Cats slept on the restaurant cushions and I'm convinced that due to that I got bitten by cat fleas. As you can imagine we left after a few days. This hotel needs to be completely rebuilt.

  • Stayed: July 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Nythfa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Famagusta
0.0 mi away
Port View Hotel
Port View Hotel
#9 of 16 in Famagusta
35 reviews
0.0 mi away
Balci Plaza
Balci Plaza
#5 of 16 in Famagusta
85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Altun Tabya Hotel
Altun Tabya Hotel
#8 of 16 in Famagusta
33 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Amore Hotel Apartments
Amore Hotel Apartments
#47 of 65 in Protaras
59 reviews
0.0 mi away
Secret Garden Walled City
Secret Garden Walled City
#2 of 5 in Famagusta
3 reviews
0.0 mi away
Oscar Resort Hotel
Oscar Resort Hotel
#12 of 30 in Kyrenia
901 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bogaz Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bogaz Hotel

Address: Mersin 10, Famagusta 00675, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Famagusta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#7 On the Beach Hotel in Famagusta
Price Range: £38 - £53 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Bogaz Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 44
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Overlooking emerald green of the nature and turquoise blue of the sea, situated at zero distance far to the sea on one of the best coves of Cyprus with its private sandy beach offers you enjoyable accommodations and splendid views. Also now it’s renew and more comfortable for your pleasure. You can enjoy the picturesque sea view from your room, restaurant, meeting room, lobby and also indoor pool. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with GoNorthCyprus so you can book your Bogaz Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bogaz Hotel Famagusta
Bogaz Hotel Cyprus/Famagusta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing