We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“First time cyprus”
Review of Salamis Bay Conti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Salamis Bay Conti
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Famagusta
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This was our first time in cyprus travelling with Travelsphere may 30th - 6th june . From the time we got there to getting back to the airport the service by all staff was fantastic. Although we didn't have a nice view from our balcony the room was well equipped with large tv
, mini bar and hair dryer . Entertainment team tried very hard but is more geared up for non british.ample sun beds both around the pool, sun terraces and on beach.food was loverly but by end of week started to get Samish! Couldn't go into Turkish resteraunt as there were not enough bookings (minimum of 10 people) but was told we could still have the same menu (10euros extra) and eat it in the main resteraunt .didn't do this as the atmosphere wouldn't,t be the same. All in all a very nicely run hotel but be aware it is quite remote and there are no nearby shops or restraunts.

  • Stayed: June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank essexdave58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salamisguestrelation, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Salamis Bay Conti, responded to this reviewResponded 11 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your review of your recent stay at Salamis Bay Conti. It's a pleasure to see that you enjoyed your stay, and that our location and facilities are well-suited to your needs.
Regarding our animation, let me assure you that by arriving the new team we offer much better and more entertaining programs.
Thank you once again for your review. Please do contact me directly when you plan to return, so that we may welcome you personally.

Kind regards,


S. Khadem
Guest Relations

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,211)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

567 - 573 of 2,212 reviews

Reviewed 8 June 2014

Pat & Nor Smith we stayed here for 2 weeks 15th May – 29th May with Mercury Direct we found everything really great. We had 3rd floor room on pool side which was about standard for 4* good and clean and well serviced. Food was very good at all times but with a local flavour with is to be expected, service from all the staff though-out hotel was exceptional at all times. Access to the beach and pool area was close and easy, just beautiful.
We do have a criticism with the entertainment, lobby bar music never happened although it was advertise in the lifts, other entertainment was rather dire. Other than that we had really good holiday well looked after at times, just excellent. Last but not lest, thanks to Tour Plus for a good airport transfers, and to Unut our rep. for his help and attention over our stay

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank patsmith2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salamisguestrelation, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Salamis Bay Conti, responded to this reviewResponded 9 June 2014

Dear Smith,

Thank you for your nice remark about our hotel, We appreciate your nice word about our concept and staffs. I am also very pleased to hear that you have had a good stay.

Thank you very much once again for your feedback, and I look forward to hearing from you in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Soroush Khadem
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 June 2014

This was my first experience of an all inclusive hotel. The staff are very friendly and attentive.
Food quality and choice are exceptional, The service until Wednesday evening was very efficient and professional. At dinner on Wednesday there was no waiter service in the external dining area until I complained to a duty manager.

The room allocated to me had a number of faults as listed.
Bathroom fan not working.
Wash basin plug not functioning
Not enough storage space.
Very poor lighting level.
Shower head unstable

The entertainment is the worst I have ever experienced anywhere in my life.
Audio levels are so high they could damage peoples ear drums.

This hotel could be so much better with a little care and attention.

I would not recommend staying here until the above faults are corrected.

Room Tip: Chose a room above level 2.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank derekclark2016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salamisguestrelation, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Salamis Bay Conti, responded to this reviewResponded 8 June 2014

Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your commnets. I am happy that you were pleased with our team in general. I am extremely sorry for your experience regarding Wednesday night your notes have been shared with the related department. let me assure you that we have the stated remarks about the rooms in our near future plan. thank you very much for your remarks and Hope to have you again in our hotel.

Best Regards,
Guest Relation
Soroush Khadem

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 June 2014 via mobile

Stayed here for a week and it was absolutely great. Rooms were basic but clean. Food choice was exceptional, service was spot on. From the restaurant you could go down some stairs and you were on the beach. Beautiful.
My only criticism was the entertainment...absolutely dire. For an international hotel, it was pretty appalling only catering for the Turkish people. Other than that, excellent

  • Stayed: May 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Aggiesmith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salamisguestrelation, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Salamis Bay Conti, responded to this reviewResponded 7 June 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice remark about our hotel, We appreciate your nice word about our concept and staffs. I am also very pleased to hear that you have had a good stay. I also want to assure you that our animation team is moving forward with much more entertaining programs.

Thank you very much once again for your feedback, and I look forward to hearing from you in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Soroush Khadem
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Don't want to end on a sour note so will start with the cons first:
NOISE- the entertainment was really loud. We were located in the family villas which were approx 40m from the DJ booth. The music went on until 12am and then the disco started after that and didn't end until 2am. My children hardly slept. We were kindly offered another room in the new part but the chair which pulled out as a single bed was tiny and far too small for my 13 year old. So we had to put up and shut up. Can't understand why the disco is situated in the middle of the resort. It has glass walls so it's not even sound proof. The noise gets worse when people open the door to stand outside to smoke.
ENTERTAINMENT - it wasn't great but sadly we are used to all inclusive in the Caribbean and it was hard to try and not compare them. The team tried their best though. We wasn't happy that 2 out of 7 nights our entertainment was non-existent. One night they had a corporate event on and another night there was a wedding. We are no spoil sports but it wasn't particularly entertaining for other guests to watch someone's wedding and corporate event! Have they no function rooms or why not move it to the roof terrace? The hotel also never offered any watersports which is a shame as the hotel is ideally located on a beautiful beach.
FOOD - started off with a good variety but towards the end of the week there was 90% vegetarian dishes. On our last night the only meat dish available were chicken wings and some dodgy looking 'meat' stew. There were no prawns and had limited seafood. The soups were also labelled up wrong a few times. What was labelled lentil soup turned out to be chicken soup. You also had to pay €2 for fresh orange even though we were all inclusive.
The villas do need updating. There is black mouldy grout in the bathroom and the room smelt slightly damp. No clock or kettle in the room. It was quite large though.
CONS
Fantastic staff who were extremely friendly. Especially Sami & Ender in the restaurant and Veronika in the lobby bar. The lifeguards were really knowledgeable and friendly too!
The new water park looks fantastic and will be a definite bonus when it opens.
The salamis ruins are only a 25 min walk on the beach and well worth a visit.
The pools were large and clean
This is more of a 3+ star than a 5* but with the new facilities and a room makeover it will be up to standard.

Room Tip: Take ear plugs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank beenaroundagain
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 2 June 2014

Went to northern cyprus in may weather was not to good but hotel was lovely the staff was very kind, we took our grandchildren and they made a big fuss of them,
The restaurant was very clean and the food was very good great choice and the dessert well watch the waist line ladies,
The rooms was great as well we was in a bungalow which was very spaces nice and clean there really s nothing to moan about we are differently going back next year and were be taking the grandchildren as well
And a big thank you to the guest relations team they was always there when you needed something xxx

Room Tip: If your a family go in bungalow there are very big and quite as well
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank FrancesR66
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 30 May 2014

Having just returned fro the hotel can honestly say what a fantastic break. Stayed in the villas which were close enough to the pool and amenities but far enough away that any noise didn't travel if you were relaxing. The facilities were excellent and all staff were helpful and friendly.
We took our 10 year old daughter with us and although the kids club was aimed at children slightly younger they didn't mind her joining in the activities laid on (at no extra cost).
Evening entertainment provided by the highly efficient animation team was a good mixture to cater for all types. I was particularly impressed by the way ALL members of the team were fluent in about 4 languages.
The food was well prepared and nice, my only criticism was that after a week it got very repetitive.
Would definitely stay there again.

Room Tip: After listening to a couple of gripes about the old complex where the rooms are, we seemed to have f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Kel385
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salamisguestrelation, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Salamis Bay Conti, responded to this reviewResponded 31 May 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your nice remark about our hotel, We appreciate your nice word about our concept and staffs. I am also very pleased to hear that you have had a good stay.

Thank you very much once again for your feedback, and I look forward to hearing from you in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Soroush Khadem
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Famagusta
33.1 mi away
Balci Plaza
Balci Plaza
#5 of 16 in Famagusta
85 reviews
0.0 mi away
Altun Tabya Hotel
Altun Tabya Hotel
#8 of 16 in Famagusta
36 reviews
14.0 mi away
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
#17 of 65 in Protaras
1,176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Crystal Springs Beach Hotel
12.0 mi away
Amore Hotel Apartments
Amore Hotel Apartments
#50 of 65 in Protaras
61 reviews
19.7 mi away
Golden Bay Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salamis Bay Conti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamis Bay Conti

Address: Mersin 10 | Agios Sergios, Famagusta, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Famagusta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Famagusta
#1 Luxury Hotel in Famagusta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Famagusta
Price Range: £52 - £730 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Salamis Bay Conti 5*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5 star resort hotel in centre Famagusta, Northern Cyprus. Just 40 minutes transfer time from Ercan Airport, the Salamis Bay Conti Hotel overlooks the golden sands of Salamis Bay, ideal for water sports - or just sunbathing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, GoNorthCyprus, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salamis Bay Conti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salamis Bay Conti Famagusta
Salamis Bay Conti Cyprus/Famagusta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing