We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Overcrowded for hotel grounds capacities and def. not a 5* hotel”
Review of Salamis Bay Conti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Salamis Bay Conti
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Famagusta
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
30 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Overcrowded for hotel grounds capacities and def. not a 5* hotel”
Reviewed 3 July 2014

This is my second stay in this hotel. Mostly because I got this year last minute special price from agency so it was value for money. Last year definitely was not and we overpaid this hotel. This year I went to swim on beautiful beach and clean sea. I saw some improvements from the last year (better and more food so you don’t have to stand like in some canteen all the time, more sunbeds, hotel grounds are little bit cleaner,…). But be aware that this is still not Turkish 5* category hotel…now, with this improvements, it is maybe 4*. Last year it was for 3*. Personnel is friendly and doing everything they can to make you feel more comfortable. But I was on beginning of the season. I don’t know are they going to be that friendly at the end of the season when they are going to be dead tired because they work all the time. Hotel grounds and the beach are not big enough for hotel capacities but they should open amphitheatre soon and then maybe something will change. Anyway, I don’t drink from morning till evening like most of Salamis guest do, so I see some disadvantages they maybe don’t see. Rooms are in my opinion too small for 5* hotel (in old building – can’t say how they look like in new bulding - you can get room there if you are lucky) and bathroom is a horror movie. Full of fungi and rust. You can enjoy Salamis if you like crowdy and loud vacations with just eating and drinking all the time.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
10 Thank Bubolina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salamisguestrelation, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Salamis Bay Conti, responded to this review, 4 July 2014
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on TripAdvisor. Indeed we were so happy to host you once again in our hotel. We are glad to hear that you have seen improvement in the services. I gaurantee you that the hotel is continously improving. We wish you the very best and safe travels. Hope to see you soon in a near future.

Regards,
S.Khadem
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,956 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    927
    571
    296
    83
    79
See reviews for
750
673
56
46
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (281)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Slovak first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 June 2014

I have stayed in Salamis Bay for a week. It was a great experience even thought hotel room wasn't so good. Beach and sea wasn't that perfect either. However food was so tasty and they serve food from 8 am till 11 pm!! And waiters were friendly and helpful. The hotel was 5 star hotel but didn't feel like it because it was old. They are lucky to have great crew!! Special thanks to Aytekin Gonultas, Sukru Adanir and Onur Var. All were really thoughtful and trying to help everyone. They made our trip better. :)

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank ireeemyuksel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Worthing, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
19 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 June 2014

We enjoyed ourselves at this hotel on an all inclusive holiday with Mercury Direct. The staff were hard working and friendly in all departments. The food was buffet style but with plenty of choice and lots of salads which were a perfect complement to the hot weather. Yummy desserts too if you are a pudding person. Locally produced drinks were all included and payment was only for spirits and imported drinks. There was always plenty of bottled water available which was a necessity in the hot weather (June 11-25th) So all in all a good deal.
The room air conditioning was less than efficient but maybe due to the fact that it was only on when the room was occupied as the door key doubled as the power provider key. Did not really join in the entertainment but the music was a bit loud for us, it is not a quiet retreat. There was a cheap shuttle bus to Famagusta for going sightseeing or shopping and some reasonably priced day trips organised by partners of Mercury.
All the transfers and trips were on time and trouble free. All in all a good value holiday.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank marilyn_reading
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 June 2014

As said before ,this is not a 5 star hotel stayed here from the 7th to the 21june.on arrival after midnight dont expect a snack or drink because everywhere is shut all drinks to be paid for after midnight ,all inclusive does not mean anything at this hotel you have to pay for mini bar in your room as well as room service ,no tea or coffee making facilities in your room ,food is very basic and repetitive and not that good we ate out for the last week of our holiday .will not come agin to this hotel,on the brightside the staff work very hard and very friendly, a big thank you to veronika and omit in the lobby bar you are the best .a quick note their is a big step into the bath an shower .

Room Tip: Ask for the new building
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank mark65530
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 June 2014 via mobile

We stayed here from 1st June till 11th June traveling with mercury direct.
When we arrived at midnight a light snack was given to us in the main restaurant, which was great. We were given 2 rooms on the 7th floor, the air con was communial air con and not controlled from the room. It was non existent. We attended the rep meeting with Umut the rep the next morning, we explained that the air con was no good in either rooms and he arranged for us to be moved into the new building situated a 2 min walk away, this had great air con, so good I even had to get the duvet out! Beautiful rooms, great reception staff over there. Breakfast was great, so much choice. As was lunch and dinner times. It was a pleasure being served by Ender and Sami the lovely brothers (they deserve to be applauded for their service skills) a table was reserved most evenings for us, water, drinks served were plentiful. Absolutely unbelievable service from them both. I hope that they remember my family as memorable holiday makers.
We rented a car for three days at a low cost of £25 a day arranged by our rep. We travelled around, went to Lefcosa Sunday market, Girne -very nice and great shops. Famagusta Thursday market. Salamis ruins. Iskele. All worth a look.
The hotel is very isolated and you will need a car, or grab a taxi out there. Everything a quite cheap.

The pool area is gorgeous, as is the beach and sea where it's worth taking some snorkelling equipment with you, also some beach shoes as there are patches of rocks in the sea. The entertainment now this is the big issue with the hotel, the only thing I can fault. We saw some shows three times as there was no variety in the entertainment, it's geared up for the Turkish people, not Brits. Although the guys speak all different languages. One of the staff, I think his name was Ozzy, was so rude to my dad, it was karioke night, dad asked for the song folder, this was slung at him. Now my dad had had a couple of sherbets and didn't really notice but me and my hubby did. We were less than impressed, this needs to be brought up with him, his manners were non existent towards the few Brits that were in the complex.

On site there is a very pricey 'designer shop' beware all, my dad brought mum a nice Swarovski watch. That night it stopped working, intermittently through the night it started and stopped again. They returned to the shop at 9am for either a replacement or refund. They were told the goods in the shop didn't come with any guarantee therefore nothing could be done. My parents were quite persistent and eventually the staff in the shop refunded the cost of the watch. There are all types of designer goods in the shop, Burberry, Prada etc... I'm not convinced that the goods are real but don't quite me on that...Burberry over here in England would not sell you something with no guarantee as would Prada etc. I would steer clear of thus shop just Incase.

Stayed June 2014, travelled with family
Helpful?
12 Thank Jilly30_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salamisguestrelation, Konuk İlişkileri Müdürü at Salamis Bay Conti, responded to this review, 15 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for your recent review.

I am pleased tha in general you have had an enjoyable stay and you were satisfied with our staffs.

Thank you very much once again for your feedback, and I look forward to welcome you back in the future.

Yours sincerely,

Soroush Khadem
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 June 2014

Have recently returned from Our stay at the Salamis Bay Conti. This hotel is definitely not 5* more a 3-4* the location is excellent , although isolated. The rooms are very tired and need some serious attention. Although generally clean, they lacked the standard you would expect from an advertised 5* hotel. The reception area is impressive but you don't sleep in the reception !
The pool area was very nice with ample sun beds provided, and the beach was easily reached via a few steps. The management need to also pay attention to gaining more consistency from a few members of their staff. One day you are welcomed with open arms. The next day ignored, particularly in the lobby bar area. Also a young lady named Seda in reception needs some serious customer service training as she generally gave the impression she didn't care wether you were there or not. By the poolside, there was a delightful lady named Sevtap who always had a smile for you and was lovely as you obtained your towels for the day. As the hotel is isolated, I would expect a reasonably high level of entertainment, but frankly what was on offer was complete garbage !!
Dining would have been much better if more attention was given when you first took your table. By the time drinks were offered the meal was almost over, and plates were taken from under your nose almost as you took your last mouthful. On a positive note. The food was very good with plenty of choice and of good quality. To conclude. This hotel could be so much better by giving attention to minor detail.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank John R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Colchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 June 2014

This is not a 5 star hotel, more than likely on a good day 3-4 star max, it let itself down in many ways. The service in the restaurant was very poor at all times, having nearly finished your meal before being asked if you want water on the table or a drink from the bar and when you had taken your last mouthful from your plate it was whipped away. It's a pity they was not that quick getting the drinks to the table.
I must say that the food was magnificent so much choice and presented with real class,the cakes, breads, pasta dishes, salads,loads of marvellous fish delicacies and many many more choices.
The rooms were in need of a major refurb, the bathroom in particular was not up to scratch. We expected wi-fi in our rooms, but could only get a fairly poor connection in the lobby and the air conditioning in the room was practically non-existent. As for the entertainment, well we have been going abroad 2 or 3 times a year for the last 15 years and this was 100% the worst we have ever seen. It is unprintable how rubbish it was. But on a brighter note the pools are brilliant and Sevtap the lady who gives out the towels was the nicest happiest employee at the hotel, in contrast to the rude,arrogant, young woman on reception called Seda who would have been more suited washing up away from the guests.
The private beach is great, plenty of sunbeds, the sea beautifully clean, the two pools perfect for anyone who can swim a few strokes and the views from the hotel are breathtaking, especially when having your breakfast in the outside dinning area. Overall a good holiday but the managers need to get their staff trained if they want people to go back.

  • Stayed June 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank 440mickm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salamisguestrelation, Halkla İlişkiler Müdürü at Salamis Bay Conti, responded to this review, 11 June 2014
Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your opinions on tripadvisor.

I am teribbly sorry that you were not happy with some of the services. I would like to kindly ask you to leave a detail report of the failure by our offered services. Our front office manager deeply apologies regarding your experince at the reception he look forward to assist you with a VIP service by your next visit. I am also very pleased that you were happy with the food choices and some of our staffs like sevtap by pool. Hope to have you again in our hotel.

soroush khadem
Soroush.khadem@salamisbayconti.com
Guest Relation
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Famagusta
0.0 mi away
Altun Tabya Hotel
Altun Tabya Hotel
#8 of 16 in Famagusta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
14.2 mi away
Debbie Xenia Hotel Apartments
5.5 mi away
Port View Hotel
Port View Hotel
#9 of 16 in Famagusta
4.0 of 5 bubbles 21 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
14.0 mi away
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
#14 of 65 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 999 reviews
12.0 mi away
Amore Hotel Apartments
Amore Hotel Apartments
#39 of 65 in Protaras
4.5 of 5 bubbles 52 reviews
13.5 mi away
Crystal Springs Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salamis Bay Conti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamis Bay Conti

Property: Salamis Bay Conti
Address: Mersin 10 | Agios Sergios, Famagusta, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Famagusta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Famagusta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Famagusta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Famagusta
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:5 star — Salamis Bay Conti 5*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5 star resort hotel in centre Famagusta, Northern Cyprus. Just 40 minutes transfer time from Ercan Airport, the Salamis Bay Conti Hotel overlooks the golden sands of Salamis Bay, ideal for water sports - or just sunbathing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with cyprus paradise , GoNorthCyprus, TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelsClick so you can book your Salamis Bay Conti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salamis Bay Conti Famagusta
Salamis Bay Conti Cyprus/Famagusta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing