We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Babutsa Rooms(Famagusta)
US$75
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$71
Booking.com
View Deal
US$72
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$66
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Betul Guesthouse(Famagusta)
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Travelocity
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
Balci Plaza(Famagusta)
Priceline
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Go North Cyprus
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (2,487)
Filter reviews
2,488 results
Traveller rating
1,195
705
382
106
100
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,195
705
382
106
100
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssalamichinese restaurantnorthern cyprusshuttle busall inclusive hotellobby barevening entertainmentplenty of choicesea viewfamily holidayanimation teamthe main hotelworth a visitlarge hotelturkish bathall inclusive packagechoice of food
Filter
Updating list...
644 - 649 of 2,488 reviews
Reviewed 10 August 2014 via mobile

The resort hotel is directly on the long beach of Salamis at the eastern coast of Cyprus. Perfect place for swimming, the beach is protected by a rock reef, so sea is mostly calm. Rooms at upper floor have a great view if you chose side of the salamis ruins - you can see till Famagusta. Food is a real good local kitchen, if you love that, this is the right place! In the surrounding various small tavernas, if the beach of the hotel is too crowded, just walk a few steps and you can get a sunbed for a small fee including a tea. So no stress about that.

Stayed: September 2013, travelled with friends
6  Thank Elisabeth K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2014

We arrived at the hotel at 11pm after 10 hours of travelling (motorway, flights and transfer) and were instantly greeted by the customer relation staff who quickly strapped our AI bands on so we could use the facilities as the bar and restaurant would be closing within the hour. We obliged by heading to the bar while the efficient staff collected our bags from the coach and put them at reception. Shortly after we were given our room keys and pool towel cards. As we went to collect our cases the staff asked us for our room number and informed us they would deliver our cases to the room so we headed to our room and our cases followed shortly and then we returned to the bar.

The room was very clean with plenty of room, sufficient wardrobe space and a lockable safe.
All of the power outlets in the room were the 3 pin UK style and some had adapters in them for 2 pin products. The bathroom was well equipped and fridge well stocked with water, soft drinks and even a couple of beers. (There was no charge for these). We were in room 1135 which unfortunately had a very limited sea view balcony but it was very quiet as we were away from the entertainment area so we weren't disappointed. The only downside was the disappointing air conditioning which made sleeping very difficult in the very hot temperatures. After a few nights of struggling to sleep in the high heat i requested a fan for our room. As a fan was not available i was offered a room in the newer complex (only 20 rooms total) which had far better air conditioning. The Guest relation staff were very quick to help out and their English was fantastic. The new room (4108) was much better, everything was brand new and the air conditioning was stunningly effective. No balcony, but no big problem for us!

The entire hotel was immaculately clean at all times and very well staffed in the bars and restaurants as well as the reception/lobby areas.The lobby area has several shops for fashion accessories and jewelry, and on the lower level was a shop that sold the basic goods such as drinks, cigarettes, some clothing and personal grooming products as well as a few touristy items such as fridge magnets and Turkish delight. There was a pool table, a few arcade games as well as some tvs with playstations connected.

There was also a selection of day trips on offer in the main reception from a range of company's who appeared to have representatives there for most of the day.

The hotel also has a shuttle bus that runs to the town and back, one guest commented to us that there was not a lot there so we did not venture to Famagusta Town.

The lobby area had plenty of comfortable seating available as well as a bar that sold a wide range of alcoholic beverages with the local beer being Efes Pilsner. All local products were free of charge with only a minimal charge for more well known products such as Jack Daniels. We found the local products to be good enough. Pepsi, Sprite, bottled water and Fruit juices were all included in the AI deal too, although the juice is a syrup and water mix which is very sweet.

The restaurant was always very clean, and well stocked. The food was kept topped up throughout the service times and the range of food available was fantastic. There was always at least two meat dishes and usually at least one fish dish, with an array of vegetables, salads, fruits, breads, soups, yoghurts, cheeses as well as rice, pasta and chips. And sooooo many desserts, we definitely brought some extra pounds back with us. The outside seating area had some freshly cooked items available too, cooked on an open grill (evenings only). The seating area outside overlooked the sea which made for a beautiful view however the inside restaurant's air conditioning was fantastic which provided some welcome relief from the searing heat! However during peak times it can be very busy and crowded in the restaurant, and often once a table has been used it will be cleared but not re-laid with fresh cutlery/water/glasses etc... these are easy enough to find for yourself but i would suggest this is an area for improvement.

The beach and pool areas are beautiful with plenty of sun loungers and towels provided for guests. The pool was split into two levels and the temperature of the water was perfect. There is a pool bar which is open from 10am until midnight with a fridge that is stocked with bottled water and is constantly restocked. It can be difficult to get a sun lounger by the pool unless you get there early, and warning signs of not reserving loungers by putting towels on them seem to go unnoticed and unchecked. A few steps down from the pool is a shaded seating area for those looking to avoid the heat of the sun, and a few more steps down to the beach which had an ample amount of sun loungers as well as bar for drinks and snacks. You can walk along the beach but there isn't a lot to see other than more beach and a few old tavernas.

The resort employs a number of photographers who will take you on a journey around the outside area to have many posed photographs taken, however if you want to purchase these photos they will cost you 7 euros each. We had 36 photos taken which if we had wanted to buy them all would have been 252 euros although they did say that they would offer us a deal if we wanted them all, we settled on just 2 of them, and there was no pressure to purchase any more.

We chose not to take our 2 year old son with us as we thought the heat would be too much for him although there were plenty of families there with children and there was entertainment for them throughout the day. There was a list of events to do for adults throughout the day such as aqua gym, volleyball, water polo. darts competitions and zumba classes. The evening entertainment came in 3 guises. An amphitheater near the newly opened aqua park, where there were a variety of shows, a cabaret style singer in the pool bar area "singing" a variety western and eastern music although her translation of some of the western songs leaved a lot to be desired. At 11.30 the disco started and went on until 2am. Drinks here will cost you extra as the AI deals stop at midnight. Make sure you have stocked up with water by this point as you will not be able to get any more from the bar area after this time without paying.

There is also a gym, turkish baths, onsite doctor and indoor pool, all of which we did not use so could not comment on.

Pro's:
Excellent Service,
Excellent food
All day entertainment and drinks
Clean and safe surroundings
Relaxing atmosphere
The excellent Guest Relations Staff
Rooms were cleaned Daily (Fridge only re-stocked with water)
Warm and clean pool with changing and toilet facilities towards the beach

Con's
Air con a bit hit and miss
Peak food times can be quite a bustle (suggest early breakfast and lunches with later evening meals to avoid this)
Nothing in the local vicinity outside of the resort

Would definitely recommend to families or couples looking to get away for a relaxing break. 7 days was enough for us, wouldn't recommend a longer stay due to lack of things to do.

We have read loads of bad reviews about this place on tripadvisor but have found it difficult ourselves to justify many of other peoples comments. This is a multi-cultural resort and the staff have done their best to accommodate all nationalities and ages as best possible. I can understand why some people would say this is not a five star hotel but for the money we paid we believed it was excellent value for money. The majority of reviews have been positive and we are glad we spent our first holiday together in four years in such a great resort.

On a separate note, nothing to do with the hotel, just a warning for those with a phobia of creepy crawlies, we were hardly bothered by mosquitoes, although they are present just not massively, however Cyprus is home to some rather large spiders (the wolf spider) and cockroaches, we only saw one of each during our entire stay but they were massive. http://cyprusscene.com/2014/01/11/cypriot-nature-spiders-of-cyprus/

Room Tip: Ask for the rooms in the new building, the main building's air conditioning is not fit for purpose, but the new villa's and complex have much better air con that really is excellent. Try to avoid rooms near the pool or disco if you want to be able to relax more quietly. Room 4108 is excellent but has no balcony to sit on and no views.
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank Mr-n-Mrs-Bailey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 August 2014 via mobile

Oh dear. We have only just arrived and they have managed to make a very bad impression. Put us in a smelly smoking room when I particularly asked for non smoking. No food available at all as we arrived after dinner having travel for 9 hours and desperately hungry! "Late dinner" starts at 11pm so we wait up for it and we are standing outside at 10.57pm and the night manager tells us it will be another ten minutes and we have to wait outside in a very rude manner. Not impressed AT ALL. Got a drink and it is awful sugary chemically fruit juice that tastes toxic. No wonder all the children are running around the hotel lobby on a high!!! A terrible hotel. Not worth the money. Don't go there. If I could leave now I would but I've already paid my money. I'm very very angry with this hotel.

Stayed: August 2014
5  Thank claireclaire2906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salamisguestrelation, Guest Relations Manager at Salamis Bay Conti Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 10 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for your comments regarding our hotel and for taking the time to post your review. It is regrettable that the quality of some beverages and the room were not able to live up to your expectations. Let me mention that the reservation form sent by your agency did not include your request about having a non smoking room. But I am sure, if we have been informed we could have offered some more alternatives to have your room changed.

Once again, thank you for staying with us and we are looking forward to the chance of providing you with an exceptional experience in the future.

Sincerely,

Soroush khadem
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 August 2014

i was with my familly for 6 nights in this hotel between 26jul until 31 jul.i am physician and manager of a big medical company in iran and i had many trips to many countries of the world. this was my first trip to cyprus, this country is small and poor and perhaps you don,t not enjoy from cyprus if you are following for big shoppings and historical places, but this hotel is excellent, we used aqua park, food , pools ,bars.........
if you want to get relaxation, this place is the best place for relaxation, i think manager or owners of this hotel are super Professional , because they know what each passenger need , i must explain some cases :
1- foods was very good, you can see Diversity and abundance in foods of this hotel, all foods are fresh and Delicious.
2- view of hotel is vey good, i was in room 3411, but i could see all beautiful sides of hotel, beach..........
3- all is clean
4- staffs are polite and always serve to you
5- hotel is beside of city and you can go easy to famagutsa very fast.
6- weather is dry and is the best weather for swimming.
7. i couldn,t use wifi in room, if manger of hotel give free wifi to rooms , it will be better.
7-animation team was good but i think that they can peform better show, i and my familly like this animation group, you may hear this words from leader of animations group every nights: do you like our show?.......
finnaly i advise this hotel to each passengers are following for relaxation and one dreamy week . i hope that i have time and come back to this hotel for another dreamy week.

Room Tip: villa is better than rooms
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank rashidm442
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salamisguestrelation, Guest Relations Manager at Salamis Bay Conti Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Rashid,

I am so happy to learn that you were impressed by the service you received from our staff! I truly appreciate your feedback about your experience here.

Thank you for taking the time to leave us your comments, and we look forward to the opportunity to host you in the future.

Yours in service,
Soroush Khadem
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 31 July 2014

I have just returned home from northern Cyprus, where I spent a wonderful vacation with my family at Salamis Bay hotel. I really enjoyed this hotel, where everything is tidy as it should be. Employees of the hotel are friendly and helpful, the food is very tasty, the rooms are beautiful. We also had the chance to have fun in the new Aqua Park and to dive with turtles. It was already our second holiday at this hotel which is strongly recommended to everyone. It certainly was not our last stay at Salamis Bay. Greetings to Eugene and his life guard team. They are the exemple to other services how to behave and communicate with people that are staying in this hotel.

Petrič Boštjan from Slovenija.

Stayed: July 2014, travelled with family
5  Thank Nuša P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salamisguestrelation, Guest Relations Manager at Salamis Bay Conti Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 2 August 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for being a loyal guest and for sharing your feedback with the TripAdvisor community. It is great to hear that you enjoyed the atmosphere here at our hotel! I am so pleased to learn that you were happy with the services and staffs.

Again, thank you for your feedback, hope to see you back with our team in a near future.

Yours in service,
S.Khadem
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews