We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great relaxing holiday!”
Review of Salamis Bay Conti

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Salamis Bay Conti
Ranked #1 of 16 Hotels in Famagusta
Reviewed 23 August 2014

Myself and my partner stayed at the all inclusive for one week. This place is ideal for families and a great stay if you want to unwind and relax. I believe the hotel should be rated a 4* and not a 5* The hotel grounds are clean and tidy with all the amenities you need, it's right near the beach including Turkish bath, sauna, two pools, gym, disco and casino at the hotel..
The best part is the food, a fantastic selection, all tastes catered for, all freshly made - I have been back one day and miss the food already! Bear in mind you have to pay for fresh orange juice and icecream.
We stayed in the apartment room which is ideal for families with teenagers or two couples wanting to share a room, the room is a little tired, but it was fine, I sometimes felt the cleaners only tidied the room rather than actually cleaned it, but that wasn't a problem.
You have to be up early to claim your sunbed which is annoying, but I guess that is the case in any hotel. They have two large pools, one is slighter livelier with music playing and water slides. There are plenty of sunbeds around the pools and on the beach.
We had a great stay at this hotel and would defiantly stay here again.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
4  Thank cherrie_berrie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
salamisguestrelation, Guest Relations Manager at Salamis Bay Conti, responded to this reviewResponded 8 September 2014

Dear Guest,

Thank you for sharing your experiences at Salamis Bay Conti.

We are so glad you had a lovely holiday. The issue with the sunbeds is an issue wherever in the world you go to as you mentioned unfortunately. We however have a policy in place where the beach towel is removed from the sunbed if it is left unattended for 30 minutes or more.

If you would like to make a future holiday booking with us please do not hesitate to contact us.

Kind regards,

Sinem Ulusoy
Guest Relation

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (2,213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

541 - 547 of 2,213 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2014

First week of our stay this Hotel was a 3+ to 4 star (not 5 * ) which we expected and were very happy with. However the second week was a different matter, the quality of the food available and the overall level of service dramatically declined to the point we felt we had to mention it to reception (as its no good complaining when you get home). Reception were not interested in helping and informed us that we had to speak to guest relations who were unavailable until next day. Upon a conversation with guest relations we were promised a reservation at the restaurant to prove it could be as expected . Upon arrival no reservation went to reception to find out what was happening not interested again told to see guest relations who again were unavailable till the next day (if guest relations are the only ones to be able to help perhaps they should be available more regularly !!) We never had our reserved table. Our Rep from Mercury direct (tour plus) was very good and tried to help but it was too late by then as we were going home.
The Air Conditioning in our rooms was very poor in fact other guests had complained and had been moved to the new building.

We feel that the Hotel was at best a 3* for the second week.

Remember if you booked direct the room rate was 240 euro for a double for one night.
We feel that they were considerably understaffed for the sheer quantity of guests.
The staff they had did their best.
The location of the Hotel meant it was quiet not a lot around it but car hire reasonable and roads had very little traffic.
You can walk along the beach to the Salamis Ruins (worth a visit if you like Roman history).
During the first week we were considering returning at a future time but after the second week this is now unlikely with that level of service and lack of concern.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with friends
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Sue K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2014

This was a last minute break, not much research, so you pay your cash and take a chance. All we intended doing was snorkelling in the sea, for which the hotel was perfectly located, and chilling by the pool; we were not intending, in fact, to go out of the resort sight-seeing, which was a good job, because, as indicated by a previous review, it is rather isolated for that purpose. Although a shuttle service is provided to the nearest town, the last is at 6 pm, so hopeless if you fancy an evening out, requiring a return taxi for the journey of, I understand, 6 km. Anyway, the location, providing you don't want to go out, is spot on.

Because this is northern Cyprus, in what is, at the end of the day, a zone subject to what the UN considers a military occupation, the whole set-up is Turkish, not Cypriot; if you want Cyprus proper, go south of the demarcation line.

Upon arrival it was clear that the staff were pretty clueless - communication was poor, in that simple instructions regarding where to go and what was where just weren't easily forthcoming; never experienced anything like it. In fact, very few of the staff spoke any English, making communication difficult, and to my mind if a hotel is attracting an international audience, the onus is on same to be able to communicate effectively with guests.

The food is OK for a week, but no fruit juice available, only high sugar synthetic stuff. The beer was pretty poor, served in small glasses rarely filled. OK, so branded spirits are always extra, but here the bar staff, in spite of fancying themselves as cocktail stars, hadn't a clue how to make a proper drink. A gin and tonic, for example, consisted of half a large glass full of gin, with a splash of 7 Up or similar - virtually undrinkable, as was any other combination of spirits and mixers. So we paid for a Southern Comfort but unfortunately the SC and lemonade ended up going the same way, and the straight SC was half a pint! Ridiculous.

The kitchen, waiting and cleaning staff, however, were excellent - certain of the bar staff surly (and useless), and reception, with one notable exception, well, equally useless. For example, on our last day, I called reception asking for a 3 am wake up call, which I was assured was understood and sorted. No surprise, we never got that call, so a good job my wife's mobile alarm worked. Then the porter managed to put our luggage on the wrong coach - unsurprising seeing as they weren't even checking off guests' names!

We understood that there was nightly entertainment, in addition to the awful singer at the hotel, who pretty much murdered every number, but were not told where this was - only on our last day did we discover that there was an 'aqua park' and 'amphitheatre' outside the front of the hotel. OK, that's our fault, possibly, because were we so inclined we could have found out, but, call me lazy when on holiday, but that shouldn't have been necessary. As it happened we weren't bothered, so just an observation.

It is fair to say that in the main, we had no confidence whatsoever in the staff, who clearly require some customer service training.

The food was OK but not great quality and was a bit samey.

Surprisingly enough, all of the foregoing said, we had a good holiday, mainly because we largely let things wash over us and the location, as I've said, made up for other deficiencies. Would I go there again? No. Would I recommend it - possibly, based upon location (for snorkelling, not sight-seeing or trips to town) and that the hotel is newish, clean and well appointed, but with reservations regarding the reception and bar staff.

It seems to me that the owners need to do some proper research into what westerners want from holidays and cater for their needs - not make it up as they go along based upon their own perceptions and not actual market research.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Divingtec
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

As Northern Cyprus is not a recognized territory I would not recommend taking the flight path that we took through Green Island Holidays. We had to leave Stansted, touch down in Antalya for approx 1 hour (refueling process which is a nonsense) then onto Ercan airport (45 mins flight). You will be better off flying to Larnaca then transferring to this hotel as the transfer is only 15 mins more.

On arrival our bags were swiftly removed from the coach and taken into the lobby by the friendly staff. You will probably notice that people have stated that the staff are not friendly, these are ludicrous statements by people who probably still believe in slavery and expect their boots to be shined while they eat... The staff were very accommodating and always willing to help in anyway.

our bags were brought to our room promptly and as it was late, as well as travelling with an infant, we were able to quickly freshen up and head down to the late restaurant that offered late night soup which was delicious. (Again you will probably get people whinging about the soup, that's probably because they do not like soup and just wanted chips)..

We were possibly a little disappointed that we were situated on the 9th floor (Top Floor) especially with an infant, and because looking down from the balcony, it was extremely high, but as responsible parents it didn't make a great difference, also the air conditioning was better the higher you were in the hotel.

A couple of things that may help:

You need to get your towel out onto a sunbed very early, as they get taken up very quickly. My theory was that people were putting their towels out just before they went to bed at approx. midnight, I may be wrong but when I looked out of my balcony window at approx. 7am when my boy woke up, many sunbeds already had towels on them, so get your towel out early.

The waterslides and baby pool was fantastic, we spent most of our time in this area due to having a 2 year old who loved the slides and baby pool. one downside was that you had to pay for any food that you ordered at this café/bar area, although drinks were free. Also ice cream was an additional charge. You can walk back though the hotel to the other pool area and get a burger etc between 12 & 4, but no food was included in the all inc deal at the baby pool/waterslide area. Another thing which is not the fault of the hotel, but general society problems - some children are just left to do what they want in the pools as some parents left their kids to get on with things. I had to tell a few children off for their dangerous behavior a couple of times.

The restaurant was really good, and offered an eclectic mix of food, as well as various themed food nights on different evenings of the week. Again the staff work very hard to clear tables and accommodate everyone so no complaints there. Again some children do get let loose by parents that cannot be bothered to discipline them, but again not a hotel problem. One thing that you will encounter is the severe lack of high chairs for babies. You need to get in early or get lucky to bag yourself one of these bad boys. We missed out a couple of times and had to go without.

The rooms are spacious, and were very clean. We were in the main hotel, so I believe its the older building of the 2 building they have. The bathroom was dated and had some wear and tear issues, but generally was a good room to be in.

The lifts are a slight issue. This was a contentious problem because although there were only 3 lifts for the public to use which probably was not enough for the amount of people in the hotel, especially at peak times (Feeding time at the zoo) where everyone tries to get to the restaurant first, there is also a severe lack of knowledge as to how a lift works. I witnessed a number of people pushing the button for the lift, but they pushed both the up and down button in some hope that the lift would arrive faster, and when the lift did arrive, it went the opposite direction to where they wanted to go. One person got on at the 1st floor in order to go down 1 floor to ground level, and was surprised when the lift went all the way up to floor 9 as that is where I was heading, then had to travel back to the ground floor ( probably stopping at many of them along the way). It would be quicker to walk down 2 flight of steps.. Anyway you will witness it if you go there.

To sum up:

Not all inclusive - ice cream is additional, some cafes/bars are additional for food, also freshly squeezed orange juice for breakfast is additional.
Get your beach/pool towels down very early or you will struggle to find a sunbed.
If you are sneaky use the lifts that the staff use which are adjacent to the public lifts, it will defo save you time.
If you need a high chair then get into breakfast/lunch/dinner early as you will struggle to find one.

I would defo recommend this hotel though as the main issues you will encounter are mainly down to people that are staying there and not the hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
7  Thank Nazza32
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2014

This was very much a last minute holiday and after booking through green island holidays we set off for a week in mid august 2014. We searched for a bargain and knew that we shouldn't set our expectations too high when trying to find somewhere with near guaranteed sunshine and all inclusive for around £600 including flights at this time of year.

Everything we found was either too expensive or the trip advisor website had put us off. Despite the odd moan, it would appear that the vast majority of visitors were happy with their stay at The Salamis Beach Hotel.

We arrived after along flight at the hotel round 10pm and we were pleasantly surprised that they were offering a late supper until midnight. This wasn't just for us at it was the same every night so if you felt peckish after an evening in the bar.....

Our room was in the main hotel on the 7th floor with a great sea view. In fact I later realised that every room in the two main blocks have a sea view! There were lifts which you never had to wait long for and the room was air conditioned. It had a stocked mini bar with a couple of beers, water and soft drinks which was all included but were told would not be re-stocked (fair enough)

The main restaurant was buffet style and catered extremely well considering the wide range of nationalities. It was great to try some new dishes and the perfect opportunity when you knew if you didn't like it you could go back for something else instead. Overall we were suitably impressed with the food, the restaurant opening hours were more than enough and there were other poolside snacks etc if you wanted.

In addition to a very large two tier main pool an additional brand new pool had just opened with a range of water slides to suit all ages. There was the usual competition for sun beds but we never failed to secure one despite the fierce competition from the people who insisted on getting up at the crack of dawn to lay their towels on exactly the bed they wanted for the day (despite the fact that they might not have laid on it for more than an hour!) I'm sure you know that type!

The bar was well stocked with a wide range of drinks included as part of the all inclusive package. Their own cocktails were more than fine and if you really wanted a 'Gordon's gin rather than the 'local' then you could always get one for a few euros!

We would definitely recommend the A la carte restaurant as a treat, yes there was a 10 euros cover charge but well worth being waited on and the food was first class.

Staff were friendly and as I think is only polite when visiting a foreign county it's worth being able to say a few words in the language (Turkish) as it shows so much respect and the staff really appreciate it.

Downsides are so few and far between that I feel almost embarrassed to say anything however worth mentioning that the hotel is somewhat isolated and you would need to take a taxi to really find somewhere lively away from the hotel but when you are all inclusive you don't really want to shell out! The other mention is the air conditioning which in the high summer is having to work very hard especially in communal areas and was completely missing in the corridors.

There was laid on entertainment if you wanted it with a variety of singers, musicians and dancers. My partner was not very impressed with the entertainment and preferred to give it a miss but the vast majority of guests seemed happy. The outdoor amphitheatre was a great venue and they catered for a full wide range of ages. The on site disco was also useful to keep the youngsters happy.

Yes it's fair to say this was not a 5 star hotel ( as claimed in the brochure) but we didn't go thinking that. In comparison to the uk it's a 3 maybe 4 at a push. Overall though would thoroughly recommend this hotel. We had a very relaxing and enjoyable week and would highly recommend it. Well done!

Room Tip: A pool facing room is a good option but every room in the main two blocks has a sea view!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank Medialane
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 August 2014

I was in salami last weak and it was great ... Great food great waterpool and nice sea and beach..i had allinclusive and i didnt spen any many because you have all from 7-24 ... Staff is fantastic... Waiters in loby bar are the greatist fun fast and great coctails.... At all salamis bay are great hotel for that money its not hilton but is more than 3 or 4 stars ...Thank you salamis bay for great vacation for me and my girlfriend

  • Stayed: January 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Goran J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2014

We spent 2 weeks all inclusive at this hotel, which was probably a bit too long. Whilst the hotel and staff are fine, it is a bit isolated which can leave you a bit stir crazy. To that end we spent a couple of nights in Kyrenia to break the monotony.
The food was of a good standard, although a bit repetitive at times. The kitchen and waiting staff were excellent and Ender in particular was very attentive and kind at every meal. Likewise the bar staff were friendly, polite and efficient. The entertainment was reasonable but you got the impression the team were starting to get bored with the same weekly routine.
The A la Carte restaurant can be used if up to 10 people book for a 10 Euro fee per person. It makes a change from the buffet, but they do not always have everything advertised on the menu.
The rooms are clean and comfortable and we found the house maids to be excellent.
We did not use the casino, but used the bus shuttle for a trip to Famagusta which was worthwhile.
Pools and beach are good and clean. The hotel is advertised as 5 star, but is more of a 4.
Not too much to complain about, but 2 weeks was a bit too long.

Room Tip: Choose a room high up and back from the pool area as the evening entertainment can be noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Ronnie C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Famagusta
33.1 mi away
Balci Plaza
Balci Plaza
#5 of 16 in Famagusta
85 reviews
6.3 mi away
Altun Tabya Hotel
Altun Tabya Hotel
#8 of 16 in Famagusta
36 reviews
14.0 mi away
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
Golden Coast Beach Hotel
#17 of 65 in Protaras
1,178 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.5 mi away
Crystal Springs Beach Hotel
12.0 mi away
Amore Hotel Apartments
Amore Hotel Apartments
#49 of 65 in Protaras
61 reviews
19.7 mi away
Golden Bay Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Salamis Bay Conti? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Salamis Bay Conti

Address: Mersin 10 | Agios Sergios, Famagusta, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Famagusta District > Famagusta
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Luxury Hotel in Famagusta
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Famagusta
#5 Romantic Hotel in Famagusta
Price Range: £53 - £963 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Salamis Bay Conti 5*
Number of rooms: 517
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A 5 star resort hotel in centre Famagusta, Northern Cyprus. Just 40 minutes transfer time from Ercan Airport, the Salamis Bay Conti Hotel overlooks the golden sands of Salamis Bay, ideal for water sports - or just sunbathing! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, GoNorthCyprus, Hotelopia, Travel Republic (UK) and HotelQuickly so you can book your Salamis Bay Conti reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Salamis Bay Conti Famagusta
Salamis Bay Conti Cyprus/Famagusta

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing