We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Bring back Arlene”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Maritsa Lodge Kakopetria
Reviewed 2 April 2013

It was my second visit and was shocked to see that the lovely Arlene was no longer there. What a difference. The rooms are dirty, hot tubs don't work. Grumpy manager has replaced the ever smiling and helpful Arlene on reception. Now charging for once free breakfasts. Advertise a log fire then charge you for the wood. The bedding is shabby and needs replacing
Much better value than this in the village
Never to return

  • Stayed: February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
24  Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (50)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

19 - 25 of 50 reviews

Reviewed 15 January 2013

I booked a superior room at this establishment for my husband's birthday. We were very disappointed by the room we were given; tiny windows and therefore no view to speak of, a dark, sparsely furnished, cold room. The fire was not lit; we purchased a small bag of logs for 10 Euros and were given a firelighter to get it going; no grate, no paper, no kindling - the wood wa wet and needless to say we didn't have our log fire. We were told the heating wouldn't be on until 7pm- it was 8th December and 8 degrees outside. The bed was hard, with a plastic lined mattress protector and there was rubbish behind the small fridge, the TV was the smallest one I have seen, the lighting inadequate, the sofa was very hard and uncomfortable to sit on. We didn't stay the night, it's a shame the Mill was closed as this is where would have gone as a first choice. We would definitely not recommend this hotel. (After intervention of the booking agent we were refunded 50% plus wood money - this hotel is not worth Euro120 a night for a double room.

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank jacqui_gilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Very good as the matter of location and it was really quiet and relaxing and the view was amazing as the lodge was located in the old kakopetria village. The value of money that we paid was quite ok but the hot tub was broken and there was no fireplace accessories and firewood as we expected to be included in the price we paid. When we bought some firewoods from the reception the woods were really wet so they couldnt light up.The drainage was placed in the living room and the smell sometimes was really awful. The customer service was bad as when we reported the issues we've been annoyed with she replied with irony ....

  • Stayed: December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Marios S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

it was a fabulous experience, only let down by broken jacuzzi and not stocked fireplace... There are rare occasions where I do not care, this was one of them..... the place, the view and the setting were perfect, but when you order a place with a fireplace, you expect some firewood... The Argentinian restaurant was AMAZING and please don't knock down the hotel just because of broken jacuzzi...

Room Tip: romantic choice!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank TinkaBells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I like to judge a room as value for money, we paid 70 euros for a double room, the room stated a hot tub and fireplace which I thought was a nice touch, however when we walken in the room after dragging our cases across from the car park , to be told that the hot tub is not working, yes there was a fire place, but no wood or equipment to light the fire, there was not even a axe !, when i checked out, we made a complaint, i was informed that there was a fireplace and i asked about the wood, she just shrugged her shoulders at me ! never the less, the room is cosy, the supperior rooms are much nicer but at 120 euros a night it is very steap for the area. The location is amazing, it is just outside but the village is small enough to work around, I highly reccomend the argentinian steak house next door, Kakopetria is an mazing village, it is like going back in time.

  • Stayed: November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank soxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We went to the Troodo to escape the summer heat and found the Maritsa Lodge on Trip Advisor. The good reviews are right, this is a beautiful, wonderful place to come to unwind and relax. Large stone bedrooms with lounge area, modern bathroom facilities, and peace, perfect peace. The old part of Kakopetria is the original single street village, a beautiful place, and the area is marked by extraordinary byzantine "barn" churches with beautiful 11th century frescos. We ate great dinners next-door-but-one at the Tziellari taverna. Our brief stay in Kakopetria was one of the highlights of our summer break.

  • Stayed: August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ChrisD111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 22 July 2012

Stayed for 2 nights on room only basis. Room was spacious and comfortable with outdoor seating area, large comfy bed and jacuzzi bath.
Because of the location in the old town it is very peaceful and quiet and mostly all we heard was the sound of running water from the river.
There is a well stocked mini bar which is very reasonably priced and we were also provided with fresh fruit by the lovely receptionist. There are tea and coffee making facilities.
Parking is in a public car park nearby which was only a couple of Euros per day.

Room Tip: All of the rooms are different.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank betsymarge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kakopetria
4.4 mi away
Christy's Palace
Christy's Palace
#1 of 2 in Pedoulas
81 reviews
7.2 mi away
Edelweiss Hotel
Edelweiss Hotel
#5 of 5 in Platres
50 reviews
0.2 mi away
Ekali Hotel
Ekali Hotel
#1 of 1 in Kakopetria
81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.7 mi away
Troodos Hotel
Troodos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Troodos
248 reviews
0.1 mi away
Enipnion Apartments
Enipnion Apartments
#2 of 8 in Kakopetria
25 reviews
4.4 mi away
Two Flowers Hotel
Two Flowers Hotel
#2 of 4 in Pedoulas
94 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritsa Lodge Kakopetria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritsa Lodge Kakopetria

Address: Palaias Kakopetrias 70, Kakopetria 2800, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Nicosia District > Kakopetria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Speciality Lodging in Kakopetria
Price Range: £43 - £62 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Maritsa Lodge Kakopetria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing