We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Dirty Rooms and Misleading Advertisment”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Maritsa Lodge Kakopetria
Nicosia, Cyprus
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Dirty Rooms and Misleading Advertisment”
Reviewed 30 December 2013

I visited this Bed and breakfast with my girlfriend after hearing of the large fireplaces, jacuzzi and free wi-fi in all rooms. But sadly after stepping into our room we saw that the room was very dirty and hadn't been cleaned in a long time. There was a very unpleasant smell to it as well. The Jacuzzi didn't work and water leaked out of the side. Also the breakfast offered for an additional charge was awful. For the price of 10 euros you were given toast, a fried egg and tea. I wouldn't recommend visiting this place to anyone as the price is way over the top for such an unpleasant place.

  • Stayed December 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Alex C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

47 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    23
    10
    5
    5
    4
See reviews for
4
31
3
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (6)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Uxbridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
345 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 220 helpful votes
Reviewed 2 April 2013

It was my second visit and was shocked to see that the lovely Arlene was no longer there. What a difference. The rooms are dirty, hot tubs don't work. Grumpy manager has replaced the ever smiling and helpful Arlene on reception. Now charging for once free breakfasts. Advertise a log fire then charge you for the wood. The bedding is shabby and needs replacing
Much better value than this in the village
Never to return

  • Stayed February 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
24 Thank Martin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Mortehoe, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 January 2013

I booked a superior room at this establishment for my husband's birthday. We were very disappointed by the room we were given; tiny windows and therefore no view to speak of, a dark, sparsely furnished, cold room. The fire was not lit; we purchased a small bag of logs for 10 Euros and were given a firelighter to get it going; no grate, no paper, no kindling - the wood wa wet and needless to say we didn't have our log fire. We were told the heating wouldn't be on until 7pm- it was 8th December and 8 degrees outside. The bed was hard, with a plastic lined mattress protector and there was rubbish behind the small fridge, the TV was the smallest one I have seen, the lighting inadequate, the sofa was very hard and uncomfortable to sit on. We didn't stay the night, it's a shame the Mill was closed as this is where would have gone as a first choice. We would definitely not recommend this hotel. (After intervention of the booking agent we were refunded 50% plus wood money - this hotel is not worth Euro120 a night for a double room.

Room Tip: I wouldn't recommend this hotel
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank jacqui_gilbert
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Larnaka City, Cyprus
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 December 2012

Very good as the matter of location and it was really quiet and relaxing and the view was amazing as the lodge was located in the old kakopetria village. The value of money that we paid was quite ok but the hot tub was broken and there was no fireplace accessories and firewood as we expected to be included in the price we paid. When we bought some firewoods from the reception the woods were really wet so they couldnt light up.The drainage was placed in the living room and the smell sometimes was really awful. The customer service was bad as when we reported the issues we've been annoyed with she replied with irony ....

  • Stayed December 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Marios S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Cyprus
Level 4 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

it was a fabulous experience, only let down by broken jacuzzi and not stocked fireplace... There are rare occasions where I do not care, this was one of them..... the place, the view and the setting were perfect, but when you order a place with a fireplace, you expect some firewood... The Argentinian restaurant was AMAZING and please don't knock down the hotel just because of broken jacuzzi...

Room Tip: romantic choice!!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank TinkaBells
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
Level 4 Contributor
41 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 44 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 November 2012

I like to judge a room as value for money, we paid 70 euros for a double room, the room stated a hot tub and fireplace which I thought was a nice touch, however when we walken in the room after dragging our cases across from the car park , to be told that the hot tub is not working, yes there was a fire place, but no wood or equipment to light the fire, there was not even a axe !, when i checked out, we made a complaint, i was informed that there was a fireplace and i asked about the wood, she just shrugged her shoulders at me ! never the less, the room is cosy, the supperior rooms are much nicer but at 120 euros a night it is very steap for the area. The location is amazing, it is just outside but the village is small enough to work around, I highly reccomend the argentinian steak house next door, Kakopetria is an mazing village, it is like going back in time.

  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank soxy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Exeter, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 September 2012

We went to the Troodo to escape the summer heat and found the Maritsa Lodge on Trip Advisor. The good reviews are right, this is a beautiful, wonderful place to come to unwind and relax. Large stone bedrooms with lounge area, modern bathroom facilities, and peace, perfect peace. The old part of Kakopetria is the original single street village, a beautiful place, and the area is marked by extraordinary byzantine "barn" churches with beautiful 11th century frescos. We ate great dinners next-door-but-one at the Tziellari taverna. Our brief stay in Kakopetria was one of the highlights of our summer break.

  • Stayed August 2012, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ChrisD111111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kakopetria
4.4 mi away
Christy's Palace
Christy's Palace
#1 of 2 in Pedoulas
64 reviews
4.8 mi away
Troodos Hotel
Troodos Hotel
#1 of 1 in Troodos
227 reviews
7.3 mi away
Semiramis Hotel
Semiramis Hotel
#1 of 5 in Platres
111 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
The Mill Hotel
The Mill Hotel
#1 of 4 in Kakopetria
221 reviews
4.1 mi away
Casale Panayiotis
Casale Panayiotis
#1 of 1 in Kalopanagiotis
422 reviews
0.0 mi away
Linos Inn
Linos Inn
#3 of 4 in Kakopetria
177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Maritsa Lodge Kakopetria? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Maritsa Lodge Kakopetria

Property: Maritsa Lodge Kakopetria
Address: Palaias Kakopetrias 70, Kakopetria 2800, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Nicosia District > Kakopetria
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 7 Speciality Lodging in Kakopetria
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Odigeo so you can book your Maritsa Lodge Kakopetria reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing