We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Best turtles ever”

Ranked #6 of 46 things to do in Kyrenia
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Kyrenia District, Cyprus
Level Contributor
15 reviews
8 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Best turtles ever”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 July 2014

The beach, as a beach, is basic - it has to be as it s primarily a conservation area. But it is situated in a stunning bay, has plentiful sand, a friendly atmosphere and is All About The Turtles. Take your own umbrellas/loungers, but mind where you put them - this beach belongs to turtles and not to humans.

Visited July 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Annabel B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

382 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    187
    121
    43
    19
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
wales
Level Contributor
163 reviews
52 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 126 helpful votes
“Such a shame”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 July 2014

Having visited this place on many occassions we always get the feeling that so much more can be done to this place.
Instead all you usually get is a rubbish strewn beach!!

such a pity!!

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank ccfceuropesNO1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ware, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
229 reviews
64 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 111 helpful votes
“Just unbelievable.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 June 2014

We went with the turtle project people one night to monitor the turtles coming onto the beach and laying eggs. We go to the project every year and support them as they do brilliant work. We sat around the beach for about 3 hours monitoring the 3 bays, when a loggerhead turtle came up the beach. She laid about 80 eggs, it was fantastic to watch. She was then tagged and a GPS put on her back so they could monitor where she went. It was one of the best experiences we have ever had. The year before, we helped release the baby turtles into the sea. What a great beach.

Visited June 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Cherry M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Riga, Latvia
Level Contributor
53 reviews
24 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“Decent beach close to Kyrenia”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 8 June 2014

Free, sandy and somewhat littered. I only go there because it is so close to Kyrenia and free. The bottom is nice, in the sense that you have fine sand all the way.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Frank K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nottingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
76 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Very quiet beach”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 June 2014

The beach is undeveloped and very quiet in the week. There is a pleasant restaurant with reasonable food and from which you can hire beach umbrellas for a very reasonable 4TL per day.

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Mike P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Alagadi Turtle Beach also viewed

Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
 
Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
 

Been to Alagadi Turtle Beach? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing