We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Don't eat here!” 1 of 5 bubbles
Review of Canli Balik

Canli Balik
Ranked #80 of 268 Restaurants in Kyrenia
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: View, Romantic, Child-friendly
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, After-hours, Full Bar, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Amsterdam
Level Contributor
10 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Don't eat here!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 April 2013

After an evening stroll on the harbour we decided to have a bite to eat here. Worst. Decision. Ever.
The food is absolutely terrible. I know this sounds exaggerated, but believe me, it's not. The mezes were okay, despite the fact that they forgot to bring us half of them. But it took about an hour before the main course arrived and after it finally had arrived we just burst out laughing! The vegetarian 'moussaka' was with chips in it and was drenched in fat (see pic). My sister had an upset stomach after eating it and is still nauseous this morning. The chips we're disgusting, half cooked and also drenched in fat.
We're not super critical, but never in my life have i tasted such badly prepared food. Seriously, i think me and my dad (who has never seen a stove in his life) could have done a better job if we'd just popped in to the kitchen.
Compared to other restaurants that we really enjoyed the price was really high.

After the meal we decided to let the waiter know that we weren't satisfied and didn't enjoy the meal. He simply ignored us. After I said it again, trying to get his attention, his response was: the chef is downstairs, go and tell him yourself. Obviously this is not the first time that customers have complained.
The chef and another employer made sure not to be seen when we left the restaurant. They must know the food is awful, i doubt they'd eat it themselves...

The only plus is the view and the fact that we had a good laugh!

Once again, save yourself from a terrible meal and please don't eat here!

  • Visited March 2013
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Louise A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

135 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    40
    37
    25
    14
    19
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
102 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great location - disappointing meal”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 March 2013

Tried this restaurant because it seemed to have a few people already dining. (This is early season and everywhere was quiet) Unfortunately Canli Balik just hasn't quite got it together. Hopefully it will improve as the season progresses. Advertises 12 Turkish mezes starter - it comes on 12 different plates so the table is covered with plates some stacked and overlapping precariously. Mezes were unremarkable, we have had better elsewhere. We hadn't finished our mezes and our main meal arrived so there was nothing else to do but for the waiter to remove the unfinished starter. The fish was disappointingly small and we left the restaurant still feeling a little hungry. The restaurant is in a very nice setting, it's a pity they are not capitalising on that.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank PADC5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ayia Napa, Cyprus
Level Contributor
17 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Lovely fish meze”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 November 2012

Me and my family and friends have been visiting this lovely and friendly restaurant several times trough the years. They serve mostly fish dishes, and it is absolutly wonderful. They have tables next to the harbour, at a terrace with an over vue of the harbour, and also inside. So you can go there all year round. The waiters are very friendly, and speak very good English.

  • Visited August 2012
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Nina M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
28 reviews
14 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“Not a bad place”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 October 2012

Good setting on the harbour for lunch, attentive and friendly service and had sea bream that was cooked to perfection. The meze was reasonable but never got my grilled Hellim that was supposed to come with it.

  • Visited October 2012
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank redwing58
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
billericay
Level Contributor
211 reviews
152 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 103 helpful votes
“big mistake”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 September 2012

we were hasty in walking into this restaurant because there was a few people there already.
the meze was a collection of similar tasting dips,looked as though this was not their first trip to a table.the main course did not look appetising ,there was not enough fried potatoes for two of us and the salad was lettuce,lettuce and more lettuce.even the coffee and brandy did not seem right.
the final straw was that when i went into the restaurant to pay the bill a bare chested man sweating profusely (possibly the cook) came out of the kitchen , and then went back again when he saw me.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank berniejBillericay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canli Balik also viewed

Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
Kyrenia District, Cyprus
 
Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
 
Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
 

Been to Canli Balik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing