We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent”
Review of Canli Balik

Canli Balik
Ranked #150 of 273 Restaurants in Kyrenia
Cuisines: Turkish
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: After-hours, Reservations
Isle of Man
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
9 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed 26 June 2014

This is the first restaurant we ate in many years ago, and having returned this year the food was excellent and what is more the waiter recognised us! What a great place

Visited May 2014
Helpful?
Thank Curphs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

152 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    43
    39
    27
    19
    24
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
south Wales
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“if you have the time....”
Reviewed 13 April 2014

Good food and friendly service but rather on the slow side! The favourite menu here is the meze starters with a choice of about half a dozen main dishes.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank BensdadsouthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sheffield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Good location, pity about the food”
Reviewed 9 March 2014

This restaurant has a great location in the centre of the harbour. The service however was a bit surly and not particularly welcoming. The food wasn't great. My partner had the sea bream which was about half the size of one I had had the previous night. I had a prawn casserole which wasn't brilliant and the prawns tasted stale. I can't see it improving in high season.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Latelesley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Catalkoy, Cyprus
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“Canil Balik disappointed”
Reviewed 8 November 2013

We sat beside the harbour. Service very slow on both drinks and food. 1st drink took 25 mins from giving order. There were six of us in the group. Mezes ok but lacked freshness and originality. Russian salad! Soup was supposed to be lentil......a stock cube and croutons!
Fish over cooked in four cases. Chicken tough and dry.
On a positive the setting lovely and people watching enjoyable but this was not under the control of the restaurant thank goodness

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Jacky K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Paphos, Cyprus
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Confusion reins”
Reviewed 30 October 2013

We felt we wanted to eat at the harbour once whilst we were in Kyrenia, and chose the Canli Balik based upon a recommendation in a guide book.

After sitting down and ordering on the veranda outside the shoreside building, where it was a little warmer, we discovered that there is more than one Canli Balik restaurant on the same site. There is the one in the building and on the veranda (where we were), and then another that encompasses the harbour front terrace and also an upstairs terrace (which turned out to be the one in the guide book).

We had some decent enough local fish, but the vegetables listed on the menu did not arrive and on inquiry we were told that they somehow didn't apply.

Inside is in a very poor state of repair.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank paulhZ9321KR
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Canli Balik also viewed

Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
 
Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
Kyrenia, Kyrenia District
 

Been to Canli Balik? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing