We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A tranquil base for Northern Cyprus trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of High Life Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
High Life Hotel
Ranked #2 of 30 Hotels in Kyrenia
Certificate of Excellence
Skibbereen, Ireland
Level Contributor
45 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A tranquil base for Northern Cyprus trip”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 June 2014

The High Life is an oasis of peace and tranquillity.
Huseyin, the manager, has only just taken over the hotel from his parents and plans even greater improvements to what is already a nice little hotel.
There are beautiful flowers in a well maintained garden with both mountain and sea views
The pool is cleaned early each day so as not to disturb guests.
The rooms are extremely spacious each with their own balcony or terrace.
There is a kettle in the room but you have to buy their sachets of tea or coffee that else where I have always found provided.
Breakfast on the terrace overlooking the sea a fantastic start to the day. Hussein the waiter is great fun. As well as everything else I had for breakfast I always had a poached egg as the chef cooks them to perfection each time
We were half board and while some evening meals were good others were a bit disappointing.
The staff are very friendly and really do want you to have a good holiday.
The reception has loads of books for you to borrow and Huseyin even has a few sun hats that you may borrow, a really nice touch.
There are so many places to visit and High Life makes a great base. You can hire a car through the hotel and taxis are cheap if you want to go out for an evening.
Would love to go back but would do B&B as Kyrenia harbour is so full of fabulous restaurants.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Biddy40
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    255
    85
    18
    5
    3
See reviews for
37
255
9
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Preston, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

We had a wonderful stay at the High Life Hotel last month. It is located a few minutes’ drive outside the centre of Kyrenia right on the coast. The views are lovely (the sea to the north and mountains to the south). The hotel grounds and pool are also very nice and were well maintained. The terrace overlooking the sea was a delightful setting for breakfast. We stayed on a bed and breakfast basis, but also enjoyed an evening meal in the hotel restaurant one night, and the food was very tasty. The room we stayed in was spacious and clean; we had nice views from the balcony and the housekeeping was very good. The hotel staff were all wonderful. The manager was very friendly and helpful, nothing was too much trouble for him and we felt very well looked after. He helped us to organise trips to places we wanted to visit and had excellent recommendations for where to eat in Kyrenia. The waiter, housekeeping and maintenance staff were also very friendly. In what is a lovely hotel in its own right, the wonderful staff really helped make our stay so enjoyable.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank kp_cine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Fleet, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 June 2014

Having not been to North Cyprus before we were given advise with the holiday company on hotels. HighLife was perfect... In a nice quiet location but within a 10 minute walk of local restaurants and 35 minute walk from the centre of town.
Owner was very welcoming and helpful, and Hussain the waiter was very friendly. Food in the restaurant for breakfast and dinner was very good.
Lovely gardens, great pool and view over the sea was superb.
Rooms were big and functional and had everything we needed, although perhaps not up to date with furnishings or the tv. All worked well though.
Would recommend without any hesitation.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jo R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
HighLifeCyprus, Owner at High Life Hotel, responded to this review, 2 June 2014
Dear Jo,

Thank you for taking the time to write your review. We are glad your first visit to North Cyprus and our place was a positive experience. Your kind words about each of my team member’s work is much appreciated.

We are planning many upgrades to our place in the near future and some of the furnishings will be part of the updates (including the entertainment system) - though I hear what we currently have, especially the big seats are very comfortable (granted perhaps they are more classical looking than what’s in trend today). Your feedback is important and noted for sure.

We hope to see you again soon and hopefully welcome you to an upgraded room.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
lichfield
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 May 2014

We stayed in the Highlife Hotel in April 2014 , the position by the sea front is excellent , the hotel is clean and well run and the staff very friendly . We enjoyed the breakfast served with a lovely view of the sea.. We would recommend a visit to the hotel which is ideally situated being a 5 minute taxi ride from the lovely harbour of Kyrenia .

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank redhotfinks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Helmsdale, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
37 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

Superb place to stay, clean, tidy and peaceful. Very helpful management and staff who will make your stay exactly what you want. Just the place if you want a quiet relaxing holiday. We had probably the best trip to N Cyprus here having been 5 times before, we would have no problem recommending Highlife to anyone looking for a good base that is quiet and great value. Huseyin and his staff looked after us as though we were family. Easy access to Kyrenia and main roads to the rest of the North Cyprus.

Room Tip: All rooms have views to the Med and mountains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Graeme M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Taunton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

So pleased and delighted to find that Huseyin has turned Highlife around since 2012 and it is now a wonderful place to visit once again. The service is excellent, the rooms clean and frequently changed,
Breakfasts are wholesome (and quick), the pool spotlessly clean and the setting in the gardens
quite delightful. For a quiet relaxing chill out you can't beat it.
Huseyin cannot do enough for his guests and we would recommend this place to anybody.
A car for trips out is a good idea and Highlife has a small modern fleet at reasonable rates.

Room Tip: We like the upstairs rooms with internal stairs up to the bedroom, others prefer one on the level do...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Alan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Blackwood, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 23 May 2014

We (two couples) spent 3 days at High Life and enjoyed a quiet peaceful break. Although the hotel is close to Kyrenia it is well set back from the main settlement being accessed from a long winding lane - be careful not to miss the sign on the main road.
The rooms were large and airy with a comfortable double bed and all the usual accoutrements each with its own access. A complementary continental breakfast is provided (although other breakfasts are available at a small charge) in the restaurant or on the terrace overlooking the sea with the Harbour within sight. Dinners were available from an extensive menu and were very tasty. The staff are very friendly and could not do enough to satisfy guests requirements.
The General Manager, Huseyin Firincioglular, has recently returned from California and is fluent in English and the rest of his staff also can communicate in English. The cost of the three days stay with complementary breakfasts and one evening meal amounted to 660 Turkish Lire. I thought excellent value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank RhysHavard
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyrenia hotels
0.9 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#3 of 30 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
5.0 mi away
Merit Park Hotel & Casino
1.4 mi away
Kyrenia Palace Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#14 of 30 in Kyrenia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
1.7 mi away
Rocks Hotel Casino
Rocks Hotel Casino
#5 of 30 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
2.9 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#9 of 30 in Kyrenia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 469 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to High Life Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about High Life Hotel

Property: High Life Hotel
Address: Akdeniz Sokak No 25 | Mersin 10, Kyrenia 9000, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Region: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Kyrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kyrenia
#2 Romantic Hotel in Kyrenia
#2 On the Beach Hotel in Kyrenia
#4 Family Hotel in Kyrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — High Life Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A family owned hotel, just a few minutes from the center (old harbor) of Kyrenia in North Cyprus. Situated on the sea, away from noise, well suited for those seeking a quiet environment with friendly and quality service. With only 20 rooms and a restaurant with a spectacular setting, High Life is a place guests come back to year after year. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with cyprus paradise , GoNorthCyprus and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your High Life Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
High Life Hotel Karakoumi
High Life Hotel Kyrenia
High Life Kyrenia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing