We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Rude and slow”
Review of Dome Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Dome Hotel
Ranked #11 of 31 Hotels in Kyrenia
Reviewed 28 August 2013

The waiters here either don't know english or don't like the english. It took us 3 hours to have a main meal and having asked for the bill twice, after an hour we had to go to the till. The waiter practically ignored us and placed an industrial fan exhaust by our table, so it was very hot! Do no go here - it is not as cheap as some other places on the harbor and you'll come away with the wrong impression of the locals as in general they are very friendly.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
1  Thank KMN26414
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (474)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

197 - 203 of 474 reviews

Reviewed 23 August 2013

We dined here for lunch and was met by a waiter who quite frankly looked like he wished he was elsewhere. We ordered the full mezze which was of both hot and cold starters. This was 30 lira each and some of the cold plates consisted of a slice of lemon which I do not regard as a mezze and a slice of tomato. Before we had finished the cold mezze the main arrived. We asked where the hot was and was advised that it would come soon. The majority of the group ordered sandwiches which were ok but nothing to write home about, a bit meagre. One of the group had sea bream which was delicious. As the service was so poor and the hot starter mezze arrived after we had started the main we sent it back. I would say that overall this restaurant is in a great location but everything else is sub average and I would advise you to spend your money elsewhere.

Room Tip: Choose somewhere else.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
2  Thank HelenAtkinson
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 10 August 2013

The common parts of the Dome Hotel still retain some charm but the rooms are very old and badly kept. Especially the carpet on the floor is so filthy to make disgusting to walk in. Old towels and bed linen of very poor quality. The mini-bar was very dirty inside. Selling this hotel as a 4 stars hotels is really a way to cheat clients, 2 stars will even be too much. We got two small cockroaches in the room. The outside pool is used as a drinking fountain by pigeons who then leave their excrements all around, very disgusting. This hotel should be closed by the health authorities. Avoid this hotel of you do not want to ruin your holidays.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Fabrizio S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 August 2013

Just back from a 3 night stay at the Dome, not a great experience! The only thing in its favour is the location This is one tired Hotel with not a lot going for it. We booked a superior room and if what we got was superior heaven knows what the standard ones are like. Bathroom had sorted of been refurbished but not to a great standard bedroom area really dated and tatty also be warned the pillows are like bricks we asked housekeeping for softer ones and to be fair they did bring 2 additional pillows which were slightly better but not great. Dining room shabby with usual buffet type breakfast ( I never touch Buffets ) and yet again it proved to me why - people touching all the food with their hands and even shoving their fingers up the cereal dispenser Shute to get them out Ugh! Would not recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Diane371
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

(Our room was double room with an extra bed without a view)The room photos were absloutley deceiving !! The rooms were really tiny , the bed covers and the carpet were stained and the furniture was really worn out . The A.C too wasnt really cooling as we had to sleep without bed covers. There were no tissue boxes we had to use the bathroom rolls ! Also after having a shower the floor was flooded because we believe the bathtub leaked water!.But the pool area was clean and very close to the ocean. However, the buffet was better than expected from this hotel and quite adequate.Most of the staff spoke English,sometimes arabic, and were helpful and friendly.The location was quite good, too close to everything .

Room Tip: Choose a room with sea view because it is worth it !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RamaAb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 28 July 2013

We liked the look of this hotel, set on the water and in town. Great location.
We arrived around 2.00 p.m. and had to wait nearly one hour for our room to be ready.
During this time we had lunch in hotel restaurant. It was mediocre and expensive, staff not really interested in serving us. Finally shown to our room without sea view. It was clean but in desperate need of some renovation. Furnishings are very old and tired. The whole property is not well maintained.
Good variety of hot and cold dishes for breakfast. Setting wasn't pleasant, it was like sitting in a big hall with rows and rows of plastic tables and chairs. No effort had been made to improve ambience. We checked out the following morning in search of something better.
This hotel is not good value for money, it is expensive and certainly not 4 star. Would not recommend.

  • Stayed: July 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank JM1609
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 1 July 2013

Decided to go to the North part of Cyprus, and decided to base ourselves at the Dome. it is a good location, we had a really large room, no sea view, it was comfortable, not luxury, but fine for us. The breakfasts were fine, plenty of choice, the staff were friendly, and polite. there is plenty of hire car parking space.

  • Stayed: June 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank stuart-harley
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyrenia
4.5 mi away
The Olive Tree Hotel
The Olive Tree Hotel
#15 of 31 in Kyrenia
276 reviews
0.8 mi away
Jasmine Court Hotel & Casino
1 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#5 of 31 in Kyrenia
2,237 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
High Life Hotel
High Life Hotel
#1 of 31 in Kyrenia
438 reviews
5.3 mi away
The Villa Club Hotel
The Villa Club Hotel
#19 of 31 in Kyrenia
76 reviews
10.7 mi away
Merit Lefkosa Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dome Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dome Hotel

Address: Kordonboyu Street, Kyrenia 34435, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Kyrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#8 Spa Hotel in Kyrenia
#8 Luxury Hotel in Kyrenia
Price Range: £51 - £82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Dome Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 36
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
With a past stretching over a period of 80 years, The Dome Hotel is built on the most beautiful and central coast of Kyrenia, situated in the city center within walking distance from main downtown attractions while providing the peaceful atmosphere inside the hotel. Combining the traditional architecture and contemporary design, providing the nostalgic experience with a touch of future. Fully educated and experienced staff will strive to make your stay a pleasurable and unforgettable experience. Please note that we have transfer service from Larnaca Airport. To get more information please contact us. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Travel Republic (UK), TripOnline SA, HotelsClick, 5viajes2012 S.L., getaroom.com, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your Dome Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kyrenia Dome Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing