We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“THE SHIP INN” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
The Ship Inn
Ranked #9 of 29 Hotels in Kyrenia
Certificate of Excellence
Tenterden, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“THE SHIP INN”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 7 December 2013

We stayed for 10 days at the ship and it was hard to fault for the price we payed. The hotel is kept clean and tidy at all times and the staff are very pleasant and nothing is to much trouble. We were bed and breakfarst and the breakfast was good the toaster was a bit slow but whats the rush. Transport to the town of Kerenia is easly reached from just outside the hotel and costs 2.5Tl.. The chinese across the road is good as is the krbab shop down oposit the turning for the American Uni. The pool at the hotel was a little chilli but a few brave souls had a dip but it was November to be fare. The indoor pool is wonderful and we had it to ourselves most of the time.
All in all a great stay at a very reasonable price.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Hickiemoto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    186
    204
    51
    15
    3
See reviews for
77
241
35
9
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (180)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Highlands
Level Contributor
144 reviews
31 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

We are just back from another wonderful stay at The Ship .We were well looked after as usual and it was lovely meeting up with the staff. This time we had the pleasure of the Filipino cleaners who did a wonderful job keeping the place clean. It was good to see people who we had met there before as many like us return each year .If you are looking for a friendly Hotel this is the place for you.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank HeatherHighlands
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 27 November 2013

What a great hotel. Its not cheap but its fantastic. We stayed in a junior suite and possibly one of the best rooms we've ever had. Unbelievably spacious, huge bathroom and great decor. We had afternoon tea that was also excellent. What makes this hotel are the staff. Nothing is too much trouble, they constantly seek to make your stay as enjoyable as possible. We spent each night in the drawing room and library bars with the honesty box. Absolutely amazing.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Mandy S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Rhuddlan, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

Stayed at the Ship Inn for 3 weeks returning on the 20th November and I must say I really enjoyed it, the hotel is friendly, the staff were very helpful and the food was acceptable, a special mention must go to Zubi the resteraunt manager he worked tirelessly keeping the guests happy, the hotel was very clean and has just a nice feel about the place.
The pool area was very pleasant with plenty of sunbeds available and hotel towels after 10am, there is a sauna, gym and jacusi at the hotel, there is a small charge for using the sauna though.
It's a good half hour walk to the harbour area of Kyrenia but the hotel is on a main route and you wont be waiting too long for a dolmus which will take you to the centre of Kyrenia with it's shops and cafe's for 2 lire, all in all a very good value for money hotel and I would consider returning.

  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank AbergeleGruff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
north wales
Level Contributor
163 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 106 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 November 2013

We have just returned from 3 weeks staying in the Ship Inn, what a lovely friendly hotel, the staff were marvellous, extremely friendly and very helpful, especially Zubi the restaurant manager, Azeel who always had a smile on his face, Kamazan who is always cheerful and who kept the bar open for us when we had a cracking thunderstorm, we eventually paddled to our rooms at 1.30 am and Ahmet who made us laugh. The rooms are big enough and cleaned daily, the Filipino girls do a very good job.The safe and the air conditioning is free, unusual in most hotels now. There is an indoor pool which opened on November 1st, the day after we arrived, it wasn't used much but it is an asset.
The pool is lovely although quite cold and it is surrounded by pretty well kept gardens with chickens (and cats) running around, there are other caged birds to look at.
Although just off the main road, it is very easy to get into Kyrenia centre, as soon as you walk towards the road, if a Dolmus is passing it will toot its horn and stop, we never had to wait longer than 5 minutes.
There is live music on a Thursday night, the Gypsy brothers, who were quite good.
The food is acceptable, not enough meat for my husbands liking but you couldn't fault it. They varied the menu as much as possible and you can also eat from the a la carte menu at an extra cost. Wifi is free in reception and also at the pool bar.

Room Tip: Rooms facing the back have views over the mountains and St Hilarion Castle.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank rosie21NorthWales
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level Contributor
86 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 November 2013 via mobile

I have been here for 9 nights in Nov 2013 and have been pleased with my stay here.

It has it's quirks as others have mentioned, but a few chickens and cats running about isn't a big deal in my opinion.

The staff and management are friendly and efficient.

The food is perfectly acceptable and they do make attempts to vary things for you.

I stayed in room 406 which was fine. They have employed new Filipino cleaning staff and needless to say I doubt they'll go on strike.

As regards location, you can cross the road and wait a few mins for a Dolmus to take you into town - the city centre can take less than 10 mins if there is no traffic and minimal pick ups, so hardly in the sticks.


It makes me laugh sometimes when I read reviews on here, if you want everything to be exactly the same as in England stay in England lol!!

I'm staying in the TRNC for a few months after leaving here, and it does have it's quirks, but it's a great place so just enjoy it!!

Hope that helps.

Stayed November 2013, travelled solo
Helpful?
3 Thank ShaunMadden1977
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 November 2013

Stayed here recently for 7 nights and we had a fantastic time! The staff here were extremely friendly and made us feel truly at home! The food here was also excellent & we also enjoyed the evening entertainment which was a added bonus. The hotel grounds are also very pretty and well kept. Our stay here was very relaxing and we will certainly be returning, in fact we have booked again to stay this christmas and new year!

Room Tip: Mountain View
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Jackharrow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyrenia hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#3 of 29 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,041 reviews
2.2 mi away
Merit Park Hotel & Casino
2.9 mi away
High Life Hotel
High Life Hotel
#1 of 29 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 358 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.5 mi away
The Arkin Colony Hotel
The Arkin Colony Hotel
#7 of 29 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 468 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kyrenia Palace Boutique Hotel
1.3 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#14 of 29 in Kyrenia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 390 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Property: The Ship Inn
Address: Girne-Karaoglanoglu Road | Via Mersin 10 Turkey, Kyrenia, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Kyrenia
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Spa Hotel in Kyrenia
#6 Family Hotel in Kyrenia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kyrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ship Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive holiday complex in a tranquil setting. Splendid views of the Kyrenia Hills, directly below St.Hilarion Castle. owned and run by Anglo/Cypriot family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with cyprus paradise , GoNorthCyprus, TripOnline SA, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship Hotel Kyrenia
Ship Hotel Kyrenia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing