We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another enjoyable stay”
Review of The Ship Inn

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Ship Inn
Ranked #9 of 30 Hotels in Kyrenia
Certificate of Excellence
Devon
Level 4 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Another enjoyable stay”
Reviewed 22 May 2009

Just returned from another enjoyable fortnight staying at the Ship Inn. Yes, My wife and myself are over 60 as was the majority of guests. This is our third visit and once again we were impressed by the standard of the rooms and general area of the hotel.We were also on half board and for the price paid thought the meals to be of a good standard.. The staff are very friendly and efficient, especially Zube in the restaurant and Nuri running the bar. The swimming pool has obviously warmed up as many people were using it, once in the water I found it quite pleasant. I thought the bar prices were reasonable, on par with what I was paying last September in Turkey., but not having drunk anywhere else in Kyrenia I am unalbe to say more. Traveled with Direct Traveller and cannot fault the holiday in any way

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank denwardie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

503 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    210
    219
    54
    17
    3
See reviews for
82
271
37
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Emsworth, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
36 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 May 2009

This hotel is aimed at British couples who are generally over 60, if you fall within this catagory you will probably love it, if not then I am sure you will find somewhere better.

The hotel is in good condition with fair sized rooms which are well cleaned each day. The pool area is above average. The staff generally are polite and helpful.

I was on half board which is not the best option, you get a choice of two starters and two main courses and they are fairly bland - the full menu looked better. There are also some good restaurants to eat out locally.

The price of drinks is a little high for a hotel of this type/standard.

The location, despite being beside a busy road, is not noisy but it is a good 30mins walk from Kyrenia harbour and there is not much around it.

In summary if you are either not British, under 60 or travelling on your own this may not be your best choice.

  • Stayed May 2009
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tjshome
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hartlepool
Level 5 Contributor
67 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
Reviewed 19 May 2009

A very pleasant, staff friendly hotel. Good food and accommodation. Facilities quite good for a small size hotel. However, the pools could have been a bit warmer. Nothing was too much trouble for the staff. About a 30 minute walk into town (need good footwear) as pavements are badly broken due to cars using them as parking spots. Kyrenia harbour and centre very quaint and interesting. Seemed to cater more for the 'mature' traveller.

  • Stayed May 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BrianHHartlepool
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
carlisle
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2009

We have just come back from 10 days at the Ship Hotel and can recommend it without hesitation to other travellers. I have never stayed in a Hotel before with so many friendly staff. From first arriving there at 11.00 p.m. at night, we were greeted with a friendly smile and were shown to our room, and helped with our luggage. We had missed a meal in the dining room but were told to choose anything from the snack menue, which was very good. The waiters in the dining room were pleasant and Zubis, the Maitre D'Hotel, made every meal time friendly, efficient, with that little bit of personal attention which is needed. I have to say the food was pretty basic, but considering the price we paid, I have no complaints. Bonus too that the hotel has its own hire cars on site which were good quality and extremely reasonable to hire.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hamish1carlisle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Kent
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 7 May 2009

We will certainly be returning to the Ship Inn in the future - it is an absolute gem- the staff were wonderful nothing was to much for them. Food was lovely and the rooms were very clean - we would definately recommend this hotel to all our family and friends-

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BladerunnerKent
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North of London
Level 6 Contributor
335 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 146 helpful votes
Reviewed 24 April 2009

This was our third visit in about 5 years. As ever friendly staff, great breakfast choice and large room accommodation. Beds and a nice bathroom. We had an evening meal there for the 1st time. We were not disappointed. My whitebait starter was fresh and enough for 2 people. My wife asked for a simple piece of grilled fish (not on the menu) and they were happy to oblige. My main of Chicken Supreme was perfect as were the accompanying vegetables. Our total stay for 2 nights including B&B and a single evening meal including beer was just over £100 British pounds all in. Great value. indeed. If I have to nit-pick then the lighting in the bedroom could be improved as it was difficult to read by the bedside light. Also there was in the main part of the hotel where we stayed no English language TV which considering most of the clients are Brits is a bit stupid. all we could get was Turkish TV. Not even English radio. Apparently there is English language movies and news available in the poolside chalets. It would be nice if it was available all over the hotel.

  • Stayed April 2009, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank BerkoBoy88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Telford, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
101 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
Reviewed 13 April 2009

Since my first visit in 2003, North Cyprus has come on in leaps and bounds. It is beginning to feel like a tourist destination.

The main town of Kyrenia (or Girne as it is locally known) has been updated with a new pedestrian zone and the uneven pavements on the top part of the High Street have been replaced and are much more even. The shops have been painted and cleaned up and make the town feel bright and clean.

The main harbour area has had a lot of money spent on it, but do feel that the prices of food and alcohol are a little steep compared to those restaurants in the back streets of the town. For the best value in town visit Gengiz Hanli Sokak, locally known as Tin Pan Alley, for the best value in Turkish Cuisine. If you feel you can't live without your English Style food there are many restaurants that cater for you. The Cod Baba serves fish and chips, Jashans for curries (although there are many curry houses throughout the Kyrenia area), Mollies Place for that truely British Menu Cafe. The Jasmine Court Hotel with there evening Buffet for £8. Loads of hot and cold food and all you can eat! There are so many eateries that if you lived there for over a year I'm sure you wouldn't eat in the same place twice.

Our hotel, The Ship Inn, was around 2 miles from Kyrenia (Girne) on the east side based on the main road to Lapta. We stopped there in 2003 and as we really liked it, decided to stop there again. We weren't disappointed. The rooms were spotless. We were told that every 2 years they have a winter clean up and respruce the rooms. Breakfast was the usual continental buffet style, with a cooked option of eggs done fresh to order. The hotel facilities also include indoor and outdoor pools. The other reason for chossing this hotel is that it is on a regular bus service run (called a Dolmus - pronounced Doll-mush). There's no time regular time for these Ford Transit Mini Buses, but they are very regular, and at only 80p per person each way very good value for money.

Other areas to visit include Lefkosia, the only divided capital in the world. Famagusta, on the East Coast, with its views into Verosha, the abandoned city that sits in the neutral zone. The Karpaz Peninsula with its Monastery at the end of it. From Kyrenia it is a 3 hour drive, but worth every minute. On a clear day, they say, you can see Syria! You can even cross to the South and see the hustle and bussle of a modern busy city, then return to then tranquil side that is North Cyprus.

For getting around under your own steam then a Hire Car is a must. Rates from £9 to £25, including all insurance is great value for money. Petrol and diesel though are as, or a little more, expensive as the UK. Also note that Hire Cars are not allowed to cross the border, but you can park up in Lefkosia and, with Passport in hand, cross the border at the Ledra Street crossing and into one of the main shopping areas of Nicosia.

If relaxation and time to unwind are what you are looking for, then give North Cyprus a go.

Helpful?
3 Thank fatmanpauluk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyrenia hotels
2.1 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#3 of 30 in Kyrenia
2,126 reviews
1.3 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#15 of 30 in Kyrenia
421 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Olive Tree Hotel
The Olive Tree Hotel
#12 of 30 in Kyrenia
222 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Merit Park Hotel & Casino
1.5 mi away
Kyrenia Palace Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
British Hotel
British Hotel
#19 of 30 in Kyrenia
98 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Ship Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Ship Inn

Property: The Ship Inn
Address: Girne-Karaoglanoglu Road | Via Mersin 10 Turkey, Kyrenia, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Kyrenia
Amenities:
Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Spa Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#1 Best Value Hotel in Kyrenia
#6 Spa Hotel in Kyrenia
#6 Family Hotel in Kyrenia
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kyrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — The Ship Inn 3*
Number of rooms: 79
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A distinctive holiday complex in a tranquil setting. Splendid views of the Kyrenia Hills, directly below St.Hilarion Castle. owned and run by Anglo/Cypriot family ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with GoNorthCyprus and Travel Republic (UK) so you can book your The Ship Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Ship Hotel Kyrenia
Ship Hotel Kyrenia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing