We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a terrific new year here”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Onar Holiday Village
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Kyrenia
Certificate of Excellence
Leeds
Level Contributor
27 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
“Had a terrific new year here”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 9 January 2014

My (first) stay here was over Xmas and new year some rain but also some days of sun.
the view from my room was great, looking over Kyrenia and the sea. The hotel has been well planned and has Two swimming pools,one outside (where a couple of Hardy Turks ventured)
and a good size heated indoor pool. A Library/lecture room and a large room where some impromptu Jive and Turkish dancing was held.
The management and staff were like family and certainly our 10 members of "Travel One" appreciated this.
The food was acceptable for this grade of hotel and with a decent choice.


several trips were available and I understand that both coarse and game fishing trips are in the offing for 2014 together with Gastronomic lessons (presumably for the wives of the husbands away fishing) Kyrenia is a gem of a town and harbour and the Onar Village a very nice place to stay

Room Tip: As my home is a long way from the sea I always opt for a sea view and the sea view rooms here are ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bladesman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnarVillageKyrenia, Public Relations Manager at Onar Holiday Village, responded to this review, 13 January 2014
Dear bladesman,

Thank you for your review! We really enjoyed meeting you over Xmas and we are glad to hear that you enjoyed yourself too. As you know, we do try to welcome our guests as family and we understand how important it is for everyone to feel at home. Hopefully we will see you again for some fishing in Kyrenia!

Kind regards,
Simon
Onar Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    79
    28
    4
    1
See reviews for
38
92
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Peterborough, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 6 January 2014

I have just returned from a singles group Christmas and New Year's holiday at Onar Village, which was most enjoyable. Without exception I found the management and staff incredibly friendly, welcoming and obliging in every respect, ensuring a wonderful holiday experience for their guests. My accommodation was clean and spacious, with a wonderful view from the terrace, and I enjoyed the meals served, which were of a good quality. If you are looking for a warm, friendly, family atmosphere, then I would recommend Onar Village for your stay in Northern Cyprus.

Marian

Room Tip: Rooms overlooking the pool are quieter and have a lovely view. I would recommend 103, 104, 105.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marian C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnarVillageKyrenia, Guest Relations Manager at Onar Holiday Village, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear Marian,

Thank you for your great review! I am glad that you enjoyed yourself over Christmas/New Year. We really enjoyed hosting your group and we would love to see you all back at Onar again!

Kind regards,
Simon
Onar Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tavistock
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 December 2013

Hotel was an excellent choice for touring in North Cyprus. In particular the staff are very friendly and address any comments good or bad straight away. It is 3 star, but in my opinion a good 3 star and good value. Our room was comfortable and spacious and had outstanding views overlooking the pool and the town of Kyrenia and the sea beyond. Food does not pretend to be haute cuisine, but I was more than happy with it, good honest mezzes and home cooking and plenty of it. Would happily return.

Room Tip: Some of the garden rooms have been refurbished recently, but I think our room overlooking the pool w...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank freerover
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnarVillageKyrenia, Guest Relations Manager at Onar Holiday Village, responded to this review, 7 January 2014
Dear freerover,

Thank you for taking the time to review our lovely hotel. We are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us and we hope that you get the chance to come and visit us again.

Kind regards,

Simon

Onar Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 28 December 2013 via mobile

A very pleasant hotel with very pleasant staff. The major downside is that, being here over In the 'colder' months that all day and all evening friends of the staff loiter around and in front of the open fire. One busy evening a number of guests were seared on the floor whilst these 'rude, loud, intimidating 'guests' stayed sitting in their chairs and when asked 'nicely' to vacate a chair did so but with ill grace and from therein after they maintained a constant fire 'watch'. Absolutely unbelievable and totally unacceptable. Apart from this one cannot really find fault with the hotel but with regards to this if you are hoping for a relaxed and cosy night or afternoon or morning then be prepared to be disappointed and if you are brave even to make comment be prepared to spend the remaining time in the 'lounge area' receiving dark looks, loud conversations, intermingled with a few snorts and all that jazz. Sorry but if you wish to have comfort and warmth in the 'winter evenings' be ready to do battle or even book in elsewhere.

Stayed November 2013, travelled with friends
Helpful?
Thank S S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnarVillageKyrenia, Guest Relations Manager at Onar Holiday Village, responded to this review, 31 December 2013
Dear S S,

Thank you for your recent review of Onar Village. During your stay at the hotel we welcomed different guests from various countries and we aim to be accommodating to all. As the weather at night was cooler than expected we did light the fire in the lounge to create a warm and welcoming environment for everyone and it is unfortunate that you felt that you were prevented from benefiting from this by other guests. Our staff tried their best to make everyone comfortable but it was difficult for them to ask other paying guests to vacate their seats closer to the fire for you. We have two fireplaces and we often light two fires if there are more people in the lounge.

I am glad that we had the chance to discuss this personally at the end of your stay and I hope that we can welcome you again to Kyrenia one day.

Kind regards,
Simon
Onar Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Doncaster, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 1 December 2013

We are so looking forward to our return visit to Onar Village in June 2014. As we are retiring next year we have decided to stay for 4 weeks this time. Onar Village is just so charming and natural. The food is always fresh and healthy, delivered fresh to the hotel every morning. Onar is not in the least bit commercialised which is why it retains it's charm. Being a family owned and run hotel guests are always sure of a warm welcome and the family atmosphere comes through from the staff too.

The hotel rooms are immaculately clean and if there is anything you need, you only need ask and it is there for you. The views are amazing and it is very quiet and peaceful, perfect for recharging the batteries after the stress of daily life in Britain!

Taxis are readily available and very cheap if you wish to go into Kyrenia, which is only 5 minutes ride away.

We have stay at Onar ever since it was first built by Mr Abdulla Onar and have never missed a year yet! We just wouldn't stay anywhere else on Cyprus. We did try a two day trip to the South this year, which we enjoyed but it is very very commercialised and just as expensive as England. We won't bother next year, we know where the best place is!

We are looking forward to our return trip and to meeting up with other guests who are also returning guests year after year.

Room Tip: Rooms in the old hotel overlook the pool and down to Kyrenia
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Carol M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
essex
Level Contributor
124 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 192 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 20 November 2013

Back in 2011 on my last visit to Kyenia I toured round and done some first impression reviews of what you could expect to see when you first visit different hotels. I missed Onar Village so on this visit I made a point of popping in and having a look. Onar holiday Village is situated on the main road as it cuts through the mountains from Lefkosa. The entrance is well marked but very steep .The hotel main building was built to resemble " The Ark" and now it was explained to me yes it does. It is quite a contained hotel and has a nice pool and pool bar. There are also some villa's available just accross from the reception. The main selling point of this hotel is the fantastic view all over Kyrenia and the lovely peace and quite. Guest's staying there told me they return year after year and despite the rooms be a bit basic and dated. the quality was still good and they were more than happy.

  • Stayed September 2013, travelled on business
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank fredEssex
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Welwyn Garden City, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
97 reviews
59 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 18 November 2013

There is no point in repeating the comments in the reviews below which are detailed and accurate. The hotel's main advantage is its location with lovely views over the town and sea and its very kind and helpful staff.It is a little way out of the town but there is a shuttle bus and taxis are cheap.We were on a week's tour and so access both to the east and west of the island and to Nicosia and the south was convenient.

We had a nice room with a balcony overlooking the sea but it was very dated. There was no tea or coffee available, the TV was old and only had a few foreign language programmes. The bathroom fittings were worn and the shower was fed from the bath taps with no thermostatic control of the water which suddenly went hot and cold. None of the indoor recreation facilities were available despite the fact that for the first few days we had cold gale force winds. Both the buffet breakfasts and dinners were very poor which is sad because the hotel's restaurant at the port is excellent. A new chef and a higher meal cost from the tour companies could make a big difference to the dining experience. So could modernisation of the rooms. Northern Cyprus is falling behind the standards offered in the South and in other nearby Mediterranean resorts. We stayed in Paphos last year in a three star hotel that had all the facilities that are lacking here.

Room Tip: The pool view rooms have the better view over the sea but the side rooms are sheltered from the wind...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Intertravelorlondon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnarVillageKyrenia, Public Relations Manager at Onar Holiday Village, responded to this review, 20 November 2013
Dear intertravelerLondon,

Thank you for your review of our hotel. As you say, we consider our location overlooking Kyrenia to be one of the best in the area and our members of staff take pride in being welcoming and helpful to all guests.

We will certainly take your comments on board regarding the rooms and dining experience when looking for areas where we can improve. Our chef aims to provide varied options including local specialities on the buffet menu.

With regards to the indoor recreation facilities, the weather has been quite warm in Cyprus recently and our guests have not requested use of the indoor pool or Turkish bath. As this was the case, we did not open the facilities so as not to unnecessarily waste energy (we recognise as a hotel our obligation to preserve energy and identify areas where we can reduce our carbon footprint). However, as the weather changed and guests asked to use the indoor pool we immediately activated the facilities, which took about 24 hours to prepare.

Again, thank you for comments and we hope that you can visit us again one day.

Kind regards,
Simon
Onar Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyrenia hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#3 of 30 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,060 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kyrenia Palace Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#14 of 30 in Kyrenia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Merit Park Hotel & Casino
1.9 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#9 of 30 in Kyrenia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rocks Hotel Casino
Rocks Hotel Casino
#5 of 30 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onar Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onar Holiday Village

Property: Onar Holiday Village
Address: PO Box 736 | Mersin 10, Kyrenia, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Kyrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kyrenia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kyrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Onar Holiday Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Onar Village...more than just a place to stay...Hotel Rooms and Villas available in this wonderful hillside resort.Indoor Pool,Sauna,Turkish Bath, Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with cyprus paradise , TripOnline SA, GoNorthCyprus and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Onar Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onar Holiday Village Kyrenia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing