We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Thankyou again Onar people”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Onar Holiday Village
Ranked #15 of 30 Hotels in Kyrenia
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 26 May 2014

We ( the whole of our family plus Godparents) have just returned from Onar. It is the most beautiful place and we are treated like family every time we return. The pool is amazing, the rooms are spotless and the staff led by lovely Mehmet just cant do enough for us. We will be returning again in September. Thankyou to you all. Chere and Malcolm and family

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Chere H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (213)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

82 - 88 of 213 reviews

Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed here for a week as part of a tour group going round northern Cyprus, and thought it was a great centre. The hotel is set on the hillside above Kyrenia, and we had a lovely room (room 108) with great views over the town and sea. The room was very spacious, well laid out, with its own balcony, and didn't have any of the traffic noise that some others have commented on. I can't comment on the pools as we didn't use them..

The staff were exceptionally good: always friendly and helpful, most with a good understanding of English. We particularly enjoyed breakfasts, sitting on the terrace looking over Kyrenia and sea, with a lot of food choices. Dinner was also generally good, especially the meze.

The courtesy bus into Kyrenia only runs down once in the morning, and back late afternoon, but taxis are plentiful and inexpensive (negotiate the fare at the start: 10 Turkish lire is standard)

Room Tip: Room 108 was excellent, but any from number 101 to number 109 would have the same spaciousness, priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Verulam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 May 2014

An oasis of calm with a fine view of Kyrenia and the sea. The room was a bit basic but very clean and quite adequate. Public spaces inside and out were excellent with very well tended gardens. Good and varied food for a half board package. Good selection of wine available. But the thing that makes this hotel are the staff. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel very much wanted. It seems to us that this hotel pays attention to the important things and is not sidetracked by irrelevant facilities.

  • Stayed: May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 4 May 2014

We enjoyed our staty at Onar Village. We stayed 8 days bed and breakfast and all the staff is very friendly. The rooms was spacious and had a balcony with view on the swimmingpool, city, sea and when it was very clear the coastline of Turkey.
The breakfastbuffet was good with many choices and the cook waiting to bake an egg or omelet.
We had diner once which was good and the staff was their to enjoy you.
The harbour is a 3 km walk and you have to cross a sort of highway, Nobody recommends to do it, but it is possible we did it a lot and otherwise are the taxi's cheap. The swimmingpool is nice and there where ample sunbeds and umbrella's against the sun.
Their is no beach near, not even in the harbour where the shuttle brings you.
We surely recommend a stay at Onar village.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front with a view at the swimmingpool/sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 April 2014

We enjoyed our holiday because North Cyprus is so interesting and we had a very good guide.The hotel has a very good view of Kyrenia, but difficult to get there and only one courtesy ride each way, leaving you there for over five hours.
Our room despite it being a bungalow was basic, no hairdryer and shower tricky to use. Bed was not very comfortable.Breakfasts not very good except for the chefs frying fresh eggs or making an omelette, though liked the buns which did not appear very often.
Dinner was adequate, better when we could help ourselves to the meze.
The indoor swimming pool only allows three people to swim at one time as it is short and small. It was out of use our first few days and on one day was not open when it was advertised to be. The outdoor pool looked lovely but is not heated or covered and was too cold in April to use.

Room Tip: Did not see any other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
1  Thank Virginia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnarVillageKyrenia, Guest Relations Manager at Onar Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear Virgina K,

Thank you for your review of Onar Village. We appreciate your comments regarding our hotel as we aim to make all of our guests as comfortable as possible when they stay with us. Please be assured that we take all comments on board so that we can improve the guest experience in future.

Kind regards,
Simon

Onar Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 16 April 2014

Onar Village is a lovely hotel, in a beautiful setting. The gardens are looked after and tended very well, adding to the whole experience. The staff were incredibly helpful and friendly, but at the same time managing to keep the balance between staff and guests very well indeed. The food was simple, but very good, and in keeping with our needs. The one or two slight downsides were not enough to detract from the "excellent" rating we have given, these being the distance from the town, the one a day courtesy bus, and our bathroom which was in need of a refurb. The latter point could have been an issue, except we are fully aware that the hotel has a speedy programme of refurb which will soon negate this as a negative point. Thank you - a great holiday!

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank LizGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnarVillageKyrenia, Public Relations Manager at Onar Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 30 April 2014

Dear LizGal,

Thank you for your review of our lovely hotel. It is wonderful to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Onar Village. We hope that we will see you in Kyrenia again in the future!

Kind regards,
Simon

Onar Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 April 2014

Very friendly and helpful staff, great bed room with balcony and lovely views, Gardens well cared for and high standard of cleanliness everywhere....The ginger hotel cat is a star and certainly well cared for and much admired. sadly the Indoor swimming pool was often locked, no sauna nor massages, nothing to do in the evenings, not possible to walk anywhere as hotel situated at top of deep slope leading down to a busy dual carriageway. Breakfast chef very friendly and helpful, omelettes of choice with good selection to cover all tastes...waiters hard working and fun and also working at the Hotels restaurant in the harbour where we ate on separate occasions...had to take taxis too and from hotel

  • Stayed: April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank catherine739
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnarVillageKyrenia, Public Relations Manager at Onar Holiday Village, responded to this reviewResponded 17 April 2014

Dear Catherine 739,

Thank you for your review of Onar Village. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at our hotel and that you found the staff (and Ginger) so welcoming.

Our hotel is a little bit outside the centre of Kyrenia but this means we can offer spectacular panoramic views of the coastline from our location and we do also provide a free daily shuttle to and from Kyrenia Harbour. Taxis are also easily available for a minimal cost.

We hope that you can come and visit our hotel and Ginger again one day.

Kind regards,
Simon

Onar Village

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyrenia hotels
4.0 mi away
The Olive Tree Hotel
The Olive Tree Hotel
#13 of 30 in Kyrenia
258 reviews
1.5 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#12 of 30 in Kyrenia
449 reviews
5.7 mi away
The Villa Club Hotel
The Villa Club Hotel
#19 of 30 in Kyrenia
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#5 of 30 in Kyrenia
2,194 reviews
1.6 mi away
Oscar Resort Hotel
Oscar Resort Hotel
#11 of 30 in Kyrenia
912 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kemerli Konak Boutique Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onar Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onar Holiday Village

Address: PO Box 736 | Mersin 10, Kyrenia, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Kyrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kyrenia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kyrenia
Price Range: £31 - £1,714 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Onar Holiday Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Onar Village...more than just a place to stay...Hotel Rooms and Villas available in this wonderful hillside resort.Indoor Pool,Sauna,Turkish Bath, Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ebookers, Cancelon, GoNorthCyprus, HotelsClick and TripOnline SA so you can book your Onar Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onar Holiday Village Kyrenia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing