We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hols experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Onar Holiday Village
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Kyrenia
Certificate of Excellence
Gillingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
44 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Hols experience”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 June 2014

This hotel has a fabulous location looking towards the sea and Kyrenia town. The majority of the rooms are "tired" and in need of refurbishing. The breakfast lacks imagination in terms of fresh fruit and yoghurt, the lack of choice and variety was noticeable. If you like meat balls then this seems to be regularly on the menu, its not to everyone's taste!

WiFi is reported to be freely available on their web site across all public areas, we found it to be less that satisfactory and it regularly dropped out and was very slow.

Staff were very friendly and helpful

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JC14950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    92
    79
    28
    4
    1
See reviews for
38
92
16
3
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (71)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Street, United Kingdom
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 30 May 2014

We have just returned from a week at Onar Village. Good friendly service, good food (not a big choice but sufficient and nice to have local dishes too) and all public areas and our room very clean. Wonderful views over Kyrenia from the terraces and pool area. We found the beds a bit old and hard but I am sure this will be sorted out in the refurbishment which is going on. We would go back.

Room Tip: Some rooms being refurbished.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jennifer w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Ashwell, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 26 May 2014

We ( the whole of our family plus Godparents) have just returned from Onar. It is the most beautiful place and we are treated like family every time we return. The pool is amazing, the rooms are spotless and the staff led by lovely Mehmet just cant do enough for us. We will be returning again in September. Thankyou to you all. Chere and Malcolm and family

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Chere H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
St Albans, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
93 reviews
82 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 May 2014

We stayed here for a week as part of a tour group going round northern Cyprus, and thought it was a great centre. The hotel is set on the hillside above Kyrenia, and we had a lovely room (room 108) with great views over the town and sea. The room was very spacious, well laid out, with its own balcony, and didn't have any of the traffic noise that some others have commented on. I can't comment on the pools as we didn't use them..

The staff were exceptionally good: always friendly and helpful, most with a good understanding of English. We particularly enjoyed breakfasts, sitting on the terrace looking over Kyrenia and sea, with a lot of food choices. Dinner was also generally good, especially the meze.

The courtesy bus into Kyrenia only runs down once in the morning, and back late afternoon, but taxis are plentiful and inexpensive (negotiate the fare at the start: 10 Turkish lire is standard)

Room Tip: Room 108 was excellent, but any from number 101 to number 109 would have the same spaciousness, priv...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Verulam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Birmingham, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 16 May 2014

An oasis of calm with a fine view of Kyrenia and the sea. The room was a bit basic but very clean and quite adequate. Public spaces inside and out were excellent with very well tended gardens. Good and varied food for a half board package. Good selection of wine available. But the thing that makes this hotel are the staff. Nothing was too much trouble and we were made to feel very much wanted. It seems to us that this hotel pays attention to the important things and is not sidetracked by irrelevant facilities.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Richard S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Oude Wetering, The Netherlands
Level Contributor
25 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 May 2014

We enjoyed our staty at Onar Village. We stayed 8 days bed and breakfast and all the staff is very friendly. The rooms was spacious and had a balcony with view on the swimmingpool, city, sea and when it was very clear the coastline of Turkey.
The breakfastbuffet was good with many choices and the cook waiting to bake an egg or omelet.
We had diner once which was good and the staff was their to enjoy you.
The harbour is a 3 km walk and you have to cross a sort of highway, Nobody recommends to do it, but it is possible we did it a lot and otherwise are the taxi's cheap. The swimmingpool is nice and there where ample sunbeds and umbrella's against the sun.
Their is no beach near, not even in the harbour where the shuttle brings you.
We surely recommend a stay at Onar village.

Room Tip: Ask for a room at the front with a view at the swimmingpool/sea.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Marc H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Harrogate
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 April 2014

We enjoyed our holiday because North Cyprus is so interesting and we had a very good guide.The hotel has a very good view of Kyrenia, but difficult to get there and only one courtesy ride each way, leaving you there for over five hours.
Our room despite it being a bungalow was basic, no hairdryer and shower tricky to use. Bed was not very comfortable.Breakfasts not very good except for the chefs frying fresh eggs or making an omelette, though liked the buns which did not appear very often.
Dinner was adequate, better when we could help ourselves to the meze.
The indoor swimming pool only allows three people to swim at one time as it is short and small. It was out of use our first few days and on one day was not open when it was advertised to be. The outdoor pool looked lovely but is not heated or covered and was too cold in April to use.

Room Tip: Did not see any other rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank Virginia K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
OnarVillageKyrenia, Guest Relations Manager at Onar Holiday Village, responded to this review, 30 April 2014
Dear Virgina K,

Thank you for your review of Onar Village. We appreciate your comments regarding our hotel as we aim to make all of our guests as comfortable as possible when they stay with us. Please be assured that we take all comments on board so that we can improve the guest experience in future.

Kind regards,
Simon

Onar Village
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyrenia hotels
1.1 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#3 of 30 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,059 reviews
1.4 mi away
Kyrenia Palace Boutique Hotel
1.5 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#14 of 30 in Kyrenia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
4.0 mi away
Merit Park Hotel & Casino
1.9 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#9 of 30 in Kyrenia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 467 reviews
1.4 mi away
Rocks Hotel Casino
Rocks Hotel Casino
#5 of 30 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Onar Holiday Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Onar Holiday Village

Property: Onar Holiday Village
Address: PO Box 736 | Mersin 10, Kyrenia, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Kyrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#5 Family Hotel in Kyrenia
#9 Romantic Hotel in Kyrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Onar Holiday Village 3.5*
Number of rooms: 64
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Onar Village...more than just a place to stay...Hotel Rooms and Villas available in this wonderful hillside resort.Indoor Pool,Sauna,Turkish Bath, Jacuzzi. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with cyprus paradise , TripOnline SA, GoNorthCyprus and Traveltool, S.L.U. so you can book your Onar Holiday Village reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Onar Holiday Village Kyrenia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing