We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Even better than last year!”
Review of Hotel Pia Bella

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Hotel Pia Bella
Ranked #3 of 30 Hotels in Kyrenia
Certificate of Excellence
UK
Level 6 Contributor
196 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 99 helpful votes
“Even better than last year!”
Reviewed 12 November 2012

We stayed at the Pia Bella for a week and were delighted to see that the same high level of service was there as had been last year. All staff who we encountered were friendly and welcoming. It is pleasing to see that there is always at least one member of the management staff present at breakfast time, greeting guests and checking that all is well. Although this approach may encourage some guests to voice niggles and grumbles, this does at least give the hotel staff the opportunity to address these at the time, rather than guests waiting until they have left their hotel, escalating what may have been a minor issue into a complaint. Our only niggles were that one of our beds squeaked a little (we mentioned it but it wasn't a big issue to us) and the neighbours seemed to be holding a door slamming contest (not something that the staff could have done anything about anyway!)

Our room was lovely - clean, with a pleasant view over the gardens and mountains. It had twin beds (most do) but the cleaner pushed them together for us and remade them with double bedding. There is a full size fridge (with mini bar but room for your own drinks), a safe (20TL to use), a TV (limited channels but it gets BBC World News and BBC Entertainment). There are chairs in the room and on the balcony. Wifi is available in the garden and in the reception area.

The saying that you can't please everybody may be true, but the Pia Bella certainly tries hard to satisfy as many different culinary tastes as possible. The breakfast buffet offers a wide choice of local breakfast dishes (cheeses, meat, olives, salad, fruit), as well as a small selection of popular cereals. There is natural yoghurt, both full fat and diet, fruit salad, dried fruits, nuts. There is also a wide array of little pastries (both sweet and savoury), white and wholemeal bread, and a selection of home made jams and local spreads such as tahini, chocolate halva (tastes a bit like Nutella!) and honey. If that wasn't enough, there is a hot buffet of boiled eggs, local sausages, etc, and a chef will cook eggs to order (fried, scrambled, omelettes, pancakes). There's coffee, tea (including a great selection of herbal and fruit teas) and fruit juices to wash it all down. The weather still being warm and sunny, breakfast could be taken outside on the terrace if desired.

In the evening there was again a good choice of dishes available - in principle you could eat as much as you liked and could have four courses: soup (served at the table) and the other courses to which you helped yourself: meze (lots of lovely local dishes of mixed salads and dips), a choice of three main courses (one usually pasta) with hot vegetables and a table full of salads, followed by a fantastic selection of desserts, all portioned small as so many people like to try a few, as well as fresh local fruit.

There was background music at dinner and some evenings there was live entertainment that started halfway through the evening. The bar area is small, but if it's warm enough there is ample space to sit in the comfy chairs and settees in the garden, or there are a couple of lounges - one off the dining room and one next to reception. In the day the pool areas are lovely places to relax and catch some sun. There's a bar in the garden area and plenty of sun loungers as well as chairs.

Walking into town in quite straightforward and it's interesting to do both day and evening. On a Saturday evening in November there was still a good atmosphere in town, with bars and cafes open. There are plenty of small shops to browse in during the day and plenty of cafes for drinks and lunch.

The weekly market is not in the main town - it's worth going to see what they sell (it's a locals market, not a tourist market) - and you might want to buy nuts and Turkish delight from the stalls there as well. There are many places to visit from Kyrenia and several coach/minibus tours can be booked from the hotel. We hired a car and did our exploring using that, allowing us to deviate from the itinerary. Nicosia isn't too far away and worth a visit - you can do a 2 hour walking tour free - meet at the tourist office at Kyrenia Gate at 10am. Take your passport and you can walk through to the Greek side of Nicosia - it's a real contrast from the North! Definitely go to the Karpaz peninsula if you have the chance - it's beautiful! And the three castles (St Hilarion, Buffavento and Kantara) offer wonderful views. St Hilarion has facilities (e.g. cafe) but the other two don't. The Lefke area is also very lovely, with its lush vegetation and date palm trees.

Room Tip: Ask for a room overlooking the garden rather than the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank boglin_sue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

2,148 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,165
    742
    179
    41
    21
See reviews for
323
1,349
66
22
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (923)
Date | Rating
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Hatfield, United Kingdom
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 November 2012

This hotel offers, great value for a late autumn break, tired but well presented spotless rooms, great choice and quality of food, drinks at sensible prices, and some of the best staff we have ever encountered.

Room Tip: Some rooms facing the road or over the kitchen are a bit noisy,but not excessive. The deluxe rooms o...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Peter M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Huntingdon, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed 10 November 2012

We arrived at the Hotel Pia Bella late evening. The greeting was wonderful. We were taken to the restaurant and given a much needed meal and drink, both complimentary. The manager of the restaurant came and spoke to all us new arrivals, a lovely touch and a lovely gentleman too.
Our room was not what we had asked for but this was changed as soon as possible.
Our stay was relaxing, the service in all areas was very good and nothing was too much trouble.
Every morning Sarah came and spoke to everyone, asking if everything was ok. Again a lovely touch.
The food was good especially the fresh omelettes made to order at breakfast. The manager of the restaurant was always present and keeping a close eye on all his staff.
Entertainment was very pleasant and a great effort was made in the restaurant on Halloween - waiters dressing up as Dracula and food themed too.
We shall return. Thank you Sarah and Kozan for an extremely enjoyable week.
All good wishes for the future.......M & S Room 3404

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Maureen4155
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hemel Hempstead, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

We have just returned from a week at the Pia Bella which is a place where we have stayed a few times before. Its obvious therefore that its a hotel we like and its always hard to get booked in there which suggests that a lot of people like it as well , but we felt that because of this they are getting a bit complacent, the standard of service has definitely declined, Dirty table cloths left when tables are vacated when they should be removed and relaid and the food which used to be very good although still good is not of the same quality. We had a superior room which was a nice room but let down by a large stain on the wooden floor which a top hotel would repair but they could have at least put down a rug to hide it. Pool and bath towels are provided but looked about 10 years old they were so threadbare.This is still a hotel I like but they really have to have a good look at themselves if they want to remain as popular as they always have been.

Room Tip: pay the extra and get a superior room preferably overlooking the garden area
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mike s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
bournemouth
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012 via mobile

We booked a last minute holiday have checked the trip advisor site first. We were very pleasantly surprised. We arrived later than expected but the hotel gave us all a meal and complimentary drink lovely touch. The staff are very cheerful and courteous the waiters were serving late and they would be there serving breakfast the next morning just as pleasant. The food choices both at breakfast and dinner were good and varied and drinks reasonably priced. We left after a week should have booked two!!! We left on an early flight but they still supplied a very basic breakfast great service thank you staff and managent alike

  • Stayed November 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ros1smith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Great Yarmouth, United Kingdom
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed 9 November 2012

my wife booked this holiday on internet which included flights /supperior room upgrade /and upgrade to half board.
having stayed at this hotel before 5 yrs previous we were amazed at how much a transformation had gone on but they still remembered us and the personnel touch was still there from arriving at midnight and a lovely snack .The room upgrade was to avery high standard plenty tea/coffee/and cartons of milk all free fridge with selections of wine/beers at very reasonable prices.then to the resturant what can i say excellent from the chef who did the eggs/omellettes/pancakes to all the food it was excellent the sweet cabinets were to die for The pool area was extremely clean the free supply of pool towels was a lovely bonus the staff was very friendly and couldnt do enough for you and i cant leave out sarah what a lady professional in every way the way she walked round the dining area every morning to ask how we all were and if you said we are not she would sit right down and want to know the problem andit would be dealt with asap my wife and i were so relaxed
it was alovely october break the finishing touch to the hols was we had a early morning flight home pick up at 04.45 and came down to reception at 04.00 to be told there was breakfast available what a very considerate thought not like some hotels we have had your money etc now clear off
Ifwe could take the pia bella hotel and staff and put it where ever we were going on our travels it would be a glowing tribute to the kindness and dedication we have just experienced thanks and god bless .j&m room 212

n to the resturant

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank troyboy12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed 8 November 2012

We booked this hotel as a late holiday in Oct. Arrived at the hotel around 10 at night to be warmly greeted at reception, told to leave our bags and shown straight through to the dining hall where we were given a 2 course meal and drink on the house!
Shown to our room which was a lovely double room, bathroom and separate living room area which had a mini bar, tea, coffee making facilities and sofa bed.
We were only B & B but actually stayed to eat in he hotel on a couple of nights because the food was so nice and extremely good value for money. Breakfast is fab with chef out on the patio cooking your eggs to order or omlettes, pancakes etc so much choice!
The pool area was extremely clean, although the pool was a little cold, but refreshing from the sun.
Every member of staff we came across from cleaners, waiters, chefs & bar staff were so friendly and helpful! A huge thank you to Musa our waiter who was made our stay memorable with his friendly smile and helpful nature.
Kyrenia as a whole is fairly quiet place but this could just be because we visited in Oct and the season was winding down? If you're expecting a crazy party town do not come here as its a more relaxed, serene place with loads of historics sights to visit.
The walk down to the harbour is a 15 min leisurely stroll, the pavements arent the best but its safe. Lots of shops and restaurants around, the views from the top of Kyrenia castle are amazing!
Northern Cyprus offers good value for money, make sure to try Niazi's restaurant ( down by The Dome & Rock's Hotel), we had the mixed kebab special and the food just keeps on coming! Also try a local Efe's beer, yummy!
Would definately return to the Pia Bella as we had such a great experience and came home feeling refreshed and relaxed.
One small thing the view from our balcony overlooked other apartments and a bit of a building sight but on a plus it was lovely and peaceful while other customer had lovely views but complained about the noise from the road. Dont go on holiday to sit on a balcony so this never bothered us.
Guests at this hotel can also be a bit older maybe not the best for young families as no entertainment or clubs for children.

  • Stayed October 2012, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sema o
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyrenia
1.0 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#15 of 30 in Kyrenia
427 reviews
3.6 mi away
The Olive Tree Hotel
The Olive Tree Hotel
#14 of 30 in Kyrenia
234 reviews
6.1 mi away
The Villa Club Hotel
The Villa Club Hotel
#20 of 30 in Kyrenia
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
8.8 mi away
Manolya Hotel
Manolya Hotel
#1 of 7 in Lapta
463 reviews
10.0 mi away
Hotel Sempati
Hotel Sempati
#6 of 7 in Lapta
529 reviews
6.0 mi away
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hotel
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hote...
#2 of 8 in Alsancak - Karavas
314 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pia Bella? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pia Bella

Property: Hotel Pia Bella
Address: Iskenderun Caddesi No 14 | Mersin 10, Kyrenia 9000, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Kyrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Casino and Gambling Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Casino Hotel in Kyrenia
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kyrenia
#3 Best Value Hotel in Kyrenia
#3 Family Hotel in Kyrenia
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kyrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Pia Bella 4*
Number of rooms: 162
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Pia Bella Hotel occupies an enviable location in Kyrenia, not in the town centre but just a brief walk from the historic harbour with its wide range of shops, bars and restaurants. Set on a 15,000 square meter site amid spacious, tranquil gardens, the Pia Bella prides itself on its highly professional staff and exceptional standards of service. All 162 guest rooms are comfortable furnished, with all mod cons. Hotel facilities include two sizeable outdoor swimming pools one with pool bar, Cafe Bella, plus indoor and terrace restaurants. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., GoNorthCyprus, Agoda and Cancelon so you can book your Hotel Pia Bella reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Pia Bella Hotel
Pia Bella Kyrenia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing