We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“true”
Review of Sammy's Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Sammy's Hotel
Ranked #16 of 30 Hotels in Kyrenia
Certificate of Excellence
Ipswich, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
“true”
Reviewed 28 May 2013

Our second trip to hotel and we are pleased to say it's just as nice and does not deserve some of comments on site the staff are excellent and receptionists are very friendly. If spoken to in the right manor the hotel is old but very clean and peacefully you get good service some people seem to want to have every thing but not pay and if you ask why do so many return year after year

Room Tip: Second floor rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank georgina926
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    110
    82
    25
    8
    7
See reviews for
22
147
14
2
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (104)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Gloucestershire
Level 5 Contributor
77 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed 12 May 2013

We chose this hotel because we wanted to eat out in Kyrenia without having to drive into town (a lot of Kyrenia hotels seem to be in the middle of nowhere). Rooms basic & clean, nice pool. Waiting staff exceptionally friendly & helpful, chambermaids friendly & efficient. We only ate in the hotel on our first night, better choice of authentic Turkish food can be found in the restaurants in town. The main downside to our stay was the noise from the kitchen and the door to the dining room, which we could hear very early in the morning. There was also some kind of machinery in the building opposite - compressor or something? - which switched itself on and off throughout the day and night (avoid room 107!)

Room Tip: Avoid room 107
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Val D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Tir Eoghain
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed 30 April 2013

Average in every sense, and somewhat dated. It does have a quaintness about iti being full of lovely middle-aged / elderly British couples on holiday who jovially salute you and each other at every opportunity. Didn't find the receptionist terribly friendly but the other staff were nice. Rooms ok. Breakfast poor.

  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Arseachran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed 15 April 2013 via mobile

If you want to stay at the Ritz then this hotel is not for you. However, if you are looking for a clean hotel that is excellent value for money with staff that couldn't do enough for you then I would thoroughly recommend it. Would definitely go back.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AT_From_GM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Level 4 Contributor
48 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
Reviewed 14 April 2013 via mobile

If you want a good value, clean and friendly hotel in the sunshine this is perfect. The staff could not be more friendly, well mannered and helpful. Situated in a residential/ university east side of town, it is ten to fifteen minutes from the harbour. We found the area relatively peaceful and being away from the main tourist area offers an insight into real life of North Cyprus. Sadly, the food was disappointing. Breakfast is plain and continental style with the addition of eggs and baked beans. We stayed to dinner once only. Molly's offers great snacks and meals as the nearest alternative. The hotel amd pool are spotlessly clean and well maintained. Our party of three generations were well looked after by the staff. However the target clientele are definitely of a more mature age.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Romy25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
SANTA POLA SPAIN
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 26 March 2013

Situated in the middle of a housing estate. We had booked for 21days
On arrival we were offered a bowel of soup and a cup of tea.
After having it, we was requested to pay for the Tea.6TL (Not bad considering we had booked half board, and should have had a proper meal offered)

The rooms are clean but tired with dated furniture, and the bedding seemed, to only be changed when you asked. The room include a Fridge (with missing shelves) with a notice stating no food or drink can be consumed in the room. (so why the Fridge)

Meals :- B’fast, a selection of cold meat, cheese,hard boiled egg, and jams.
The only concession to Hot food was Beans and Scrambled egg, (You could order Egg (Fried)Bacon, Sausage, at a extra cost of 14TL. One old dear asked if it was possible to have a soft boiled egg, for a change,and was told it would be put on her room bill.

Evening meal consisted of a SET weekly rotated 3 course menu, (No other choice unless you paid extra) The Food was boring, tasteless, and the veg was frozen. Not even a bottle of water with the main meal to help wash it down (You guessed it was Extra)
All the places seem to want to do was extract money from you, EVERY thing was extra.

I don’t know how the star rating was made, but I would not place it above a Blackpool B&B
Would I go again :- Big NO
Would I recommend it to any one:- Big NO

Room Tip: There is not one, All rooms are dated and tired
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank RAY M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
kirkbymoorside
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed 5 March 2013

Stayed in Northern Cyprus for the first time and used Sammys Hotel after being recommended. Everyone was very nice and our room had a small balcony. This made a difference as a veiw of the sea was a nice plus whilst at the hotel. The room was clean and tidy with plenty of hot water for a shower anytime. The hotel had an old world charm with all the modern facilities. Breakfast was self service, laid out at one end of the restaurant with eggs sausage etc plus cold cuts fruit yogurt etc. We booked B&B but the hotel put an evening meal on everynight. Would recommend this hotel. The staff were all very helpful. Public Transportation was difficult but the staff helped by ordering the 'dolmus' to pick us up at the hotel!! We also booked a car through the front desk which was excellent as it was delivered to the hotel and they also took it away from the car park.

Room Tip: Room with a sea veiw on third floor with a balcony (301/302 in think?)
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank smortimer4311
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyrenia hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#3 of 30 in Kyrenia
2,134 reviews
0.8 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#15 of 30 in Kyrenia
422 reviews
6.0 mi away
The Villa Club Hotel
The Villa Club Hotel
#20 of 30 in Kyrenia
75 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.8 mi away
The Olive Tree Hotel
The Olive Tree Hotel
#12 of 30 in Kyrenia
225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kyrenia Palace Boutique Hotel
4.1 mi away
Merit Park Hotel & Casino
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sammy's Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sammy's Hotel

Property: Sammy's Hotel
Address: 17 Omer Sami Cosar Sok | Girne, Mersin 10, Kyrenia, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Kyrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kyrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:3 star — Sammy's Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 24
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
If hotels were awarded stars for satisfied customers, then Sammys would get a hundred! From the moment you check in, you will notice the thoughtful touches. In fact, guests will be hard pushed to do anything apart from sit back, relax and enjoy their holiday. Each recently refurbished guest room here is nicely decorated, beautifully furnished and well equipped. Available for a small supplement, there are also a few larger suites with the benefit of a living room as well as a private bedroom. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with TripOnline SA, Travel Republic (UK) and GoNorthCyprus so you can book your Sammy's Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Sammys Hotel Kyrenia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing