We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a lovely time but a couple of suggestions....”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Oscar Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oscar Resort Hotel
Ranked #10 of 30 Hotels in Kyrenia
Northampton, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Had a lovely time but a couple of suggestions....”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 25 July 2011

Enjoyed a 10 night stay and agree with the many other comments regarding staff friendliness and helpfulness. Just a little disappointed that the website and reality did not match up in two respects - firstly there were no kettle and cups in the room as stated. Having arrived in the early hours of the morning this was disappointing. On request these were provided but not until the next day. Secondly the photos of the bedrooms on the Oscar website give a much more luxurious impression than reality! Whilst spacious and comfortable enough, the standard double sea view rooms were rather drab and dull and in need of refurbishment. Maybe these are on the list for the next phase of upgrading?

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank 7Scottie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oscarresort, Guest Relations Manager at Oscar Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2011
Dear guest, Glad the staff were able to look after you and help make your holiday a lovely one. I do apologise that the kettle was not there on your arrival, this is not usually the case. Thank you for your valuable suggestions, we are always looking to improve and without your imput we couldn't do so. Hope to see you again soon
Simon (guest relation)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

806 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    309
    252
    137
    60
    48
See reviews for
269
278
32
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (158)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Warwickshire
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

I never normally write reviews, however I felt I have to write one for this hotel. Having been a manager of a travel agents I have stayed in many hotels across the world, many of them being 5* hotels. We stayed in the new 5* suites and I have to say I thought they was as good as a Sandals hotel room. There was always sunbeds available whatever time of day so no getting up at stupid o'clock to get a bed, very often myself and my husband had the wave pool all to ourselves, it felt like we had our own private villa with a pool. Breakfast was fine, there was an egg station an lots of cereals available although I would sugest they have a little more choice, also there wasn't any entertainment but to be honest you go out at night to some of the most stunning restaurants. Within walking distants there is a fab indian restaurant El Shaeens, Mamma Mias who do really nice pizza's, steaks, pasta etc. Stroll inn that caters for all and a large super market. We are both 30 and didn't feel like the hotel was to quiet, infact we really enjoyed the peace away from the likes of Ayia Napa. If you are going to stay here I would definatley have a suite. This was one of the best hotels I have stayed in purely for the stunning rooms with fab views, it's peaceful location but within walking distance of restaurants and the large pools that have sunbeds available anytime. I am very hard to please as I have worked in the Travel Industry for a number of years, I wont settle for any old rubbish, this is probably the only holiday I have been on where I havn't moaned about something to my husband, I usually tell him not to unpack the bags because the room is not upto standard. The suites are definatley to a high standard. Loved the hotel and will definatley return.

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nicpipblue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oscarresort, Guest Relations Manager at Oscar Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2011
Wow!! Thank you ever so much for your positive and energetic comments. What a compliment, being compared to SANDLES. Glad you both had a wonderful time and your welcome here 12 months of the year.
Simon (guest relation)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
limassol
Level Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 22 July 2011

We were supposed to stay here for3 nights beginning on the 19th July , we were welcomed by Simon at reception and given a complimentary drink as our rooms were not ready , Simon showed us the type of room we would be getting , but sorry to say the rooms he showed us were not up to the standard we expected ! they were very dingy and tired looking , all in need of good refurbishment . We decided we couldn't stay and arranged with our travel company to move to a near by hotel . We must sat Simon was absolutely great , he did everything he could to try and get us a good room , that man is a real asset to any hotel , if you read this Simon , thankyou once again . Also a big thankyou to the wee girl on the bar for her happy smile and excellent service .

  • Stayed July 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pamelaLimassol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oscarresort, Guest Relations Manager at Oscar Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2011
Very sorry we couldn't accommodate you on this occasion and thanks for being so understanding with the circumstances. As you know we were full to capacity at the time of your arrival but we do hope you give us a second chance and return later in the year.
Simon (guest relation)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Sandwich, United Kingdom
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 July 2011

We have just returned from our fourth holiday at the resort, in fact we met there in 2007 when on a Solos holiday so it holds special memories for us. This year we were made particularly welcome by the staff and management, on return to our room after the first day there was a large plate of fresh fruit and a bottle of wine waiting for us!
A lot of improvements have taken place over the last couple of years. Our galleried room was immaculate and enormous with a great view over the complex and harbour. The cleaning girls did a great job, the room was thorougherly cleaned every day, bedding changed every other day and clean towels daily and fresh flowers left on the coffee table.
The beach, yes it is man-made but a great improvement from even three years ago, is kept clear of litter and rubbish,the water is clean and clear and very safe for swimming and snorkelling.
The pool areas are also kept spotless with ample sunbeds and cushions to go round and the gardeners are working all day every day, sometimes in temperatures of 40 degrees,to keep the grounds looking colourful.
Without exception the staff are friendly and helpful and work very hard, usually seven days a week from early morning til late at night. Nothing is too much trouble and any problems we did have were sorted out quickly ( ie the hairdryer did not work but the electrician was there with a replacement before my husband had returned from reception ). So, just to mention a few by name - Simon, Koral, Ismet (pool bar), Adil and Rhoda and of course Sait, thank you and everybody else too many to mention for another enjoyable, relaxing holiday and we are already looking forward to next year!

  • Stayed July 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank bizkid89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oscarresort, Guest Relations Manager at Oscar Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 27 July 2011
Fantastic! You've really done us proud with your comments. It's so rewarding knowing we lived up to your expectations once again. As you say there have been a lot of changes and improvements however one thing that never changes is the staff, that is why they are able to connect with you all on such a personal level. I would also like to thank you for your recognition of the cleaning staff and gardeners and what a fantasic job they do here as quite often they are overlooked, they deserve as much credit as everyone here. See you both next year.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Newcastle upon Tyne, United Kingdom
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 4 July 2011

Stayed in Oscars for 7 nights. The pools are great - good for families. Didnt enjoy half board as the food at the restaurant had very little variety. The only fresh fruit on offer was watermelon and honeydew melon. We all had tummy upsets by the 4th day from all the melon! Further to this there was about 7 hours one evening where the hotel had no water supply. It was agony. Some of the staff always looked harassed and did not look happy to help. Suffice to say - if I ever return to North Cyprus I will not be staying at Oscars resort.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank busymaa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oscarresort, Guest Relations Manager at Oscar Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2011
Dear valued guest. Sounds like you & your family enjoyed our facilities but unfortunately had a few problems whilst here. We always listen to our guests comments and suggestions in order to improve our service to you. Water shortages have been a common problem in Northern Cyprus for many years and obviously can be inconvinient, but please don't be put off. We would love the opportunity to make it up to you in the future.
Simon (guest relation)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawick, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 2 July 2011

Just returned from another great holiday. We have stayed at Oscars for 18 years and have never been disappointed. The staff welcome you as true friends and can always remember your names even a year later from your last visit!! You certainly dont get that in UK.

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Marchbanks1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oscarresort, Guest Relations Manager at Oscar Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2011
It was great to see our old friends again and we can't wait for your return in September. Don't worry room 416 has your name on it as always!! See you soon
Simon (guest relation)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
West Midlands
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 29 June 2011

Lots of work done over the last couple of years with the beach, jetty, new rooms around the pool, some refurbishment to the Club rooms and the new spa. We have been visitors to Oscars for a number of years and dont think of going anywhere else for our holidays. Took our son and his fiance this year, they last visited 6 years ago and loved the improvements. The staff are wonderful, from the house keepers who put flowers they had picked into our room when they realsied it was us, the waiters who always make eating a pleasure, Fahri and Ismet in the pool bar, the wonderful reception staff who are always willing to help out if you need anything, Sedat, Korel, Simon doing a fantastic job as guest relations and finally Sait...they place just wouldnt be the same without him :) Missed Zafer as entertainments manager this year but I am sure that the new person will become more involved with the guests as time goes on. Overall if you want a relaxing holiday, clean rooms, lovely staff and a visit to Northern Cyprus then you really cant go wrong with staying at Oscars Resort

  • Stayed June 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank safarigirl56
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oscarresort, Guest Relations Manager at Oscar Resort Hotel, responded to this review, 20 August 2011
So good to see you both again and it was a pleasure meeting your son and daughter inlaw to be. Your review was perfect and shows us that over the years you and many other repeat guests hve been able to appriciate the positive changes with Oscars, so thank you for sharing that with fellow readers. A special thanks from all the staff for your lovely comments, we all miss you and hope to see you again later this year.
Simon (guest relation)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Kyrenia hotels
4.6 mi away
Merit Park Hotel & Casino
1.3 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#14 of 30 in Kyrenia
3.5 of 5 bubbles 396 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#3 of 30 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 2,059 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.0 mi away
Kyrenia Palace Boutique Hotel
1.3 mi away
Rocks Hotel Casino
Rocks Hotel Casino
#5 of 30 in Kyrenia
4.5 of 5 bubbles 460 reviews
2.5 mi away
The Ship Inn
The Ship Inn
#9 of 30 in Kyrenia
4.0 of 5 bubbles 465 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscar Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar Resort Hotel

Property: Oscar Resort Hotel
Address: 16 Hasan Esat Isik Street, Kyrenia 00195, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Kyrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#4 On the Beach Hotel in Kyrenia
#6 Casino Hotel in Kyrenia
#7 Spa Hotel in Kyrenia
#7 Luxury Hotel in Kyrenia
#7 Family Hotel in Kyrenia
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:4 star — Oscar Resort Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oscar Resort Hotel is a 4 star resort located only 1.5Km away from Kyrenia town centre. Situated in the seaport of Northern Cyprus is Kyrenia. The hotel offers various types of accommodation to suite everyones needs. The resort gives you a choice of either single or double rooms in the main hotel, sea view gallery or studio club rooms or our brand new poolside luxury suites. All our rooms have balconies offering different views either sea, harbour or mountain. Standard hotel rooms are decorated brightly and tastefully, they all come with ensuite bathrooms, heat/cool air condition units, satellite t.V's, telephones, minibars and safety deposit boxes. Within the main hotel building we also have 8 Junior suites and 3 King suites both of which are very spacious and elegantly furnished, offering pure luxury and sophistication. All suites incorperate jacuzzi baths, separate lounge/dining area with large LCD satellite t.V's. King suites can comfortably accommodate families with it's interconnecting bedrooms. The hotel boasts 3 outdoor fresh water pools and a small indoor cold plunge pool which is located in the Spa & Wellness centre. The aqua pool provides hours of fun for the kids with 2 water flume fun slides and it doesn't stop there, the wave pool gives added enjoyment for all. The third and largest outdoor pool on the complex is surrounded by beautiful gardens and palmtrees, the ideal place to relax and let time pass by. There are two restaurants situated next to the pools serving delicious lunches, snacks and drinks all day. Evening entertainment is provided during the summer season in our Roman style amphitheatre. The hotel also has the benefit of it's very own private beach and jetty where you can find an variety of watersports available. Sunloungers including mattresses and umbrellas are all provided free of charge to hotel guests. Pool and Beach towels are provided free of charge however a small deposit is required. Other outdoor activities include a tennis court, table tennis, waterpolo, water aerobics, beach bowls and darts. Kid's club and entertainer (summer period). Another new facility is our Wellness Spa Centre which includes an indoor pool, Turkish baths, sauna, steam room and massage treatment rooms. The hotel runs a courtesy train service to and from the town centre 3 times a day, 6 days a week (except Sunday). Wi-fi Internet available (choice of tarrifs) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with cyprus paradise , GoNorthCyprus, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotel.de, TripOnline SA, Hotelopia, HotelsClick, Traveltool, S.L.U. and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oscar Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oscar Hotel Karakoumi
Oscar Resort Kyrenia
Oscar Hotel Kyrenia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing