We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent Hotel”
Review of Oscar Resort Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Oscar Resort Hotel
Ranked #12 of 30 Hotels in Kyrenia
Reviewed 22 August 2011

1st time to Oscar Resort Hotel. Fantastic place mainly due to the staff. Simon (Guest relations), Sait (Head Bar Man) and Vera (Bar girl) make the whole place extremley friendly and relaxing.

Clean rooms, nice pools. Will definately be back next year!

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LittleRich81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oscarresort, Guest Relations Manager at Oscar Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2011

It was a Fab meeting you and spending time all together. Glad you enjoyed your 1st visit and even happier to hear your be back with us next year! I'll give you a call when I'm next in the U.K. Thanks for the bottle. Take care, have a good year and we'll see you next summer.
Simon (guest relation)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review
Reviews (912)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

413 - 419 of 913 reviews

Reviewed 21 August 2011

went there for a family holiday, sorry but we were very disapointed to say the least. room was very basic but kept clean every day by maid service if required it,through out the whole hotel with the exeption of ur own room there was no air con, electricity went off for 5/10mins at a time at least twice a day, so that ment no air conditioning in ur room which ment you were dying. The main swiiming pool that everyone used was absolutely filfy and in whole the two weeks we were there it was never cleaned, i'm surprised we never came down with something. Evening meals were very basic if you liked turkish foods, i am turkish but thought the meals could have had better choices. Very shocked and suprised that we had no entertainments what so ever at the hotel for that time of year. But saying all this the staff were brilliant and friendly with the exception of the food manager who was very rude. If I had to give this hotel a rating it would have to be a disappointing 1 star, i feel sorry for the staff that work there because they work really hard for very little money. Simon were absoultly supper and Eben made us laugh feel very welcome. Sorry me and my family will never visit this hotel again and will not recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank anonomous_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 21 August 2011

This is my 4th visit to kyrenia and 2nd stay in this hotel, since discovering oscars last year there is nowhere else that I would rather stay. The staff here are fantastic, special thanks to simon (guest relations) who ensures that your stay is perfect and to Sait (bar manager) who is highly entertaining and makes a fantastic cocktail. Overall, every member of the oscars staff are helpful, friendly and keen to ensure you have the best holiday ever. The facilities are great too.

There is no doubt that we will be back next year!

Room Tip: Pool side rooms are the best, or 1st floor sea view hotel rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Alison F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oscarresort, Guest Relations Manager at Oscar Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2011

How lovely it was seeing you both again for the second year running. A big thanks from all the staff at Oscars for your great review. Sait was especially happy that you spelt his name correct. lol. Take care for now & see you next year.
Simon (guest relation)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 18 August 2011

Oscars has potential to be a 4* hotel but....... We booked the new family rooms around the pool. We arrived to be offered the family suites.... smaller and with sofa bed.... finally we got what we had booked. It all looked very nice but the bathroom was falling apart in spite of being new. The shower leaked and the pipes under the basin leaked. The water in the taps was brown. The whole bathroom got flooded everytime we showered.
The hotel food was boring and the air conditioning was never turned on in the restaurant or bar and it was terribly hot. We eat out at restaurants after the first night.
The grounds need a lot of work... the walkways are broken, gardens, if you can call them that are tired in the extreme.
Good points are that if you have rowdy kids who make a mess you don't feel they could ruin anything. If you don't have kids there is only one pool that you would use of the three. The water in the pool was very warm but interestingly the pool of the sister hotel next door was much cleaner and cooler..... altogether much nicer.
We finally decamped after 5 days and went to a better hotel even though it cost us a lot more it was well worth it.

Room Tip: Ask for newly renovated rooms.... the family pool rooms are new but still have problems
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank sue c
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oscarresort, Guest Relations Manager at Oscar Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2011

Sorry about the slight confusion upon your arrival regarding your rooms but thankfully we managed to get it resolved without too much fuss. Obviously the poolside are still relatively new and we expect to get few teething problems from time to time. Thankfully any problems that are reported are dealt with immediately by our technical team, however I do understand that this can sometimes be alittle inconvenient to you. We deeply regret letting you down and would love for you to give us another chance next year.
Simon (guest relation)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 August 2011

The Oscar Hotel is very tired and dated and offers very poor service. The standard of cleanliness leaves a great deal to be desired and the hotel is riddled with health and safety problems (like trip hazards, a very dirty beach, uncollected plates and cutlery from room service the night before, uncovered ducts in the shallow swimming pools, remnants of food left lying on the access roads to the rooms - after the dustbin lorry had been to collect rubbish)

We stayed in a '5 Star Room' but to be honest the facilities this room had to offer were worse than those offered by the well known chains in Britain like Travelodge and Premier Inn. In a 4* hotel I would expect coffee making facilities and regular changes of linen and towels. Very often the rooms had not been made up by early evening and there were no towels available. There was mould on the walls of the bedroom caused by flooding from the bathroom shower. Every time it was used the water splashed out of the cubicle onto the bathrrom floor and drained away into the bedroom below. The consequences were that the bedroom carpet was sodden for most of the holiday. A bulge in the wall and peeling wallpaper were testimony to the problem. This was not just peculiar to our room but we noticed similar problems in many of the rooms along the top and bottom floors. The hot water was always brown and stained the tiles in the shower cubicle. This was not cleaned throughout the fifteen nights we stayed at the hotel.

Breakfast was appalling. The standards of hygeine were poor. The choice of menu was basically bread, cheese, olives, processed meat and water melon. (apart from a few cereals) If you were prpared to stand in line for twenty minutes or so you could have your choice of egg or omlette. There was only ever one chef on this duty who invariably had to serve a queue of twenty strong and only did one order at a time. Fresh juice had to be paid for (6 Turkish Lire.) Nobody washed their hands before starting the process.
We tried room service on our first evening. We struggled to find someone to understand what we wanted to order and when it finally arrived it was cold and had been spilled over the tray and been put back on the plate. The waiter then used the napkins to wipe the sweat from his brow ( which we often noticed happen at breakfast as well). We had to ask for the plates and cutlery to be removed from the door and this took until midday the following day.

Drinking water was not made available. It could only be purchased from the minibar. The hotel forbids any food, beverages or water to be brought into the hotel.

The man made beach is extremely dirty. It is rarely cleaned and cigarette butts litter the sand. No ash trays are available and the sunbed covers are not cleaned from day to day and bear the marks of the sand from the previous day's use. The beach towels were in- adequate and not large enough to extend over the surface of the plastic cover. Glass, cans and water bottles bear witness to the high tide line. Only once did I see a member of staff go out of his way to clear the beach. On my final day a brown froth was carried into the bay on the incoming tide . After five minutes of token efforts the hotel staff gave up and left the beach to its own devices.

The hotel lobby and bar area lacked of air conditioning. Large portable units were present but only occasionally were they switched on. If you asked for them to be switched on you were told they were broken. It was like a sweat box / sauna sitting inside. A large fan operated in the bar area only.

Although advertised, there is no fitness centre. The building that housed this facility is now under rennovation for another use. As a token a few pices of equipment were placed on the patio outside the waterslide area but as they had no power source they were completely useless.

The only thing that this hotel has anything going for it is the sunshine.

  • Stayed: August 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank johnangler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oscarresort, Guest Relations Manager at Oscar Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2011

Very disappointed to read your review of our hotel. Admitingly there were a few issues which you made me aware of on the first morning of you arrival but I was under the assumption that it had been dealt with, so I must apologise for that. This was however a unique case as you can see by reading other guests reviews who too stayed in the poolside rooms. The management have been made aware and are looking into this so as not to have a repeat case. Thank you for bringing this to our attention and once again so sorry we let you down during your stay.
Simon (guest relation)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 13 August 2011

Live in the South of Cyprus , always stay in Kyrenia . The Oscar resort Hotel has proved the best value for money hotel out of all we have tried.

  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank clickbuycyprus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oscarresort, Guest Relations Manager at Oscar Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2011

Fantastic! Just what we want. Glad you enjoyed your stay with us and we await your return.
Simon (guest relation)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 12 August 2011

This was our fourth visit to Oscars, our second in the new Poolside Family Suites. These are an excellent addition to the hotel, turning it from the average hotel of a few years ago to a five star experience. The staff are excellent, and really help to make it a real home from home, we would particularly like to mention Simon & Siad who really do make the difference, giving the personal touch & going the extra mile where possible.

The holel grounds have been given a make over, and really do the hotel credit & help to create a lovely enviroment.

During our stay I did get chance to use the new spa facilities, and I had a really relaxing couple of hours enjoying a top class spa experience.

Our two teenage boys enjoyed the vaired watersports on offer and we found these to be economically priced.

The only area in our opinion the hotel would need to focus on would be the entertainment side of things, however we are aware that he hotel are looking to fill the position so this should improve soon.

We would just like to thank Simon and the team for once again making this a truly lovely holiday & we look forward to seeing you all again soon.

Room Tip: To get the best Oscar experience book either the Poolside Family Rooms or the Poolside Panoramic Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank baggies45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
oscarresort, Guest Relations Manager at Oscar Resort Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded 28 August 2011

Your very welcome and as always it was a real pleasure seeing you all again. Your review was very rewarding to read so thank you so much. We will be stepping things up with a new entertainment team early next year so rest assured your 5th visit will be even better! All of us can't wait to see you next summer, have a great year from all at Oscars.
Simon (guest relation)

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Kyrenia
1.3 mi away
Dome Hotel
Dome Hotel
#11 of 30 in Kyrenia
451 reviews
6.5 mi away
The Villa Club Hotel
The Villa Club Hotel
#19 of 30 in Kyrenia
75 reviews
3.3 mi away
The Olive Tree Hotel
The Olive Tree Hotel
#13 of 30 in Kyrenia
259 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pia Bella
Hotel Pia Bella
#5 of 30 in Kyrenia
2,196 reviews
6.4 mi away
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hotel
Denizkizi & Denizkizi Royal Hote...
#2 of 8 in Alsancak - Karavas
323 reviews
10.5 mi away
Hotel Sempati
Hotel Sempati
#6 of 7 in Lapta
534 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Oscar Resort Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Oscar Resort Hotel

Address: 16 Hasan Esat Isik Street, Kyrenia 00195, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Kyrenia District > Kyrenia
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Casino and Gambling Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#5 On the Beach Hotel in Kyrenia
#7 Family Hotel in Kyrenia
#7 Casino Hotel in Kyrenia
#9 Spa Hotel in Kyrenia
Price Range: £51 - £106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Oscar Resort Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 254
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Oscar Resort Hotel is a 4 star resort located only 1.5Km away from Kyrenia town centre. Situated in the seaport of Northern Cyprus is Kyrenia. The hotel offers various types of accommodation to suite everyones needs. The resort gives you a choice of either single or double rooms in the main hotel, sea view gallery or studio club rooms or our brand new poolside luxury suites. All our rooms have balconies offering different views either sea, harbour or mountain. Standard hotel rooms are decorated brightly and tastefully, they all come with ensuite bathrooms, heat/cool air condition units, satellite t.V's, telephones, minibars and safety deposit boxes. Within the main hotel building we also have 8 Junior suites and 3 King suites both of which are very spacious and elegantly furnished, offering pure luxury and sophistication. All suites incorperate jacuzzi baths, separate lounge/dining area with large LCD satellite t.V's. King suites can comfortably accommodate families with it's interconnecting bedrooms. The hotel boasts 3 outdoor fresh water pools and a small indoor cold plunge pool which is located in the Spa & Wellness centre. The aqua pool provides hours of fun for the kids with 2 water flume fun slides and it doesn't stop there, the wave pool gives added enjoyment for all. The third and largest outdoor pool on the complex is surrounded by beautiful gardens and palmtrees, the ideal place to relax and let time pass by. There are two restaurants situated next to the pools serving delicious lunches, snacks and drinks all day. Evening entertainment is provided during the summer season in our Roman style amphitheatre. The hotel also has the benefit of it's very own private beach and jetty where you can find an variety of watersports available. Sunloungers including mattresses and umbrellas are all provided free of charge to hotel guests. Pool and Beach towels are provided free of charge however a small deposit is required. Other outdoor activities include a tennis court, table tennis, waterpolo, water aerobics, beach bowls and darts. Kid's club and entertainer (summer period). Another new facility is our Wellness Spa Centre which includes an indoor pool, Turkish baths, sauna, steam room and massage treatment rooms. The hotel runs a courtesy train service to and from the town centre 3 times a day, 6 days a week (except Sunday). Wi-fi Internet available (choice of tarrifs) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, GoNorthCyprus, TripOnline SA, Ebookers, Travel Republic (UK), Agoda, Hotelopia, HotelsClick, Cancelon and Evoline ltd so you can book your Oscar Resort Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Oscar Hotel Karakoumi
Oscar Resort Kyrenia
Oscar Hotel Kyrenia

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing