We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pretty Basic”
Review of San Remo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
San Remo Hotel
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Larnaka City
Pakistan
Level 4 Contributor
21 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Pretty Basic”
Reviewed 16 March 2008

My wife and i stayed at the San Remo one week ago and I must say it is a very basic hotel. Rooms are small but with TV and AC. Mind you,most TV channels are in greek though. Adequate car parking space in front of the hotel. The hotel is close to the promenade and Larnaca Fort (about 10-15min walk). Halal restaurant (Al Zahraa) also close to Larnaca Fort. Breakfast is awful, i would recommend to skip it. In case you do want to taste it be sure to wake up early (breakfast timing 730-9 am). If you are looking for something luxurious, keep looking. Booked the hotel through Octopus Travels on internet and got it for 40$ per nite. Rooms & hotel are clean but very very basic. We had requested a double bed but got twin beds. I would give it a 3 on 5.

  • Liked — Location
  • Disliked — Breakfast
  • Stayed March 2008, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Hussain110
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

400 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    100
    146
    90
    32
    32
See reviews for
56
125
94
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (40)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
new rochelle, NY
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 11 January 2008

It is a simpe hotel, inexpensive. great location--not directly in town, but close enough to walk. The staff is incredible, and will bend over backwards to accomodate your requests. i would stay there again, no question about it!

Stayed December 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank GorillaGal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
North Of Scotland
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 December 2007

Just back from Larnaca and a week at the San Remo. I could not fault the hotel and staff. As the manager said to me it is two star, if you are looking for luxury then it may not be for you. The room was clean and tidied every day. All the staff were friendly, from breakfast till late at night. They were all helpful to a tee.
I was diving with 'Dive In, Larnaca' which is a two minute walk away and also thoroughly recommended. The two made an excellent package for me.
The hotel is a pleasant fifteen minute walk from the busy part of town.
I hope to return to both the San Remo and 'Dive In', next year.

  • Stayed December 2007, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank Hunter98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hawaii
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 21 November 2007

Great little place near the airport and some of the best restaurants you could eat local cuisine at. The hotel is not right in town, but it is a good 20 minute walk, or just a short taxi ride. If you are early enough, the bus also comes by. The staff were very approachable, especially the manager, Nikos and his daughter Maria, both top people.
Room was very basic, but I was there to see Cyprus, not the four walls of my hotel room. The bar / pool area is great if you don't want to go anywhere but still enjoy some food, drinks, sun and swimming.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — basic services
  • Stayed May 2006, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank soapjoe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
croydon
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed 17 September 2007

We think this could well be the best two star hotel in Larnaca after our experience. We only had ten days there but enjoyed a warm friendly atmosphere, nothing was too much trouble, good food ,lovely swimming pool always cleaned. our room had a seaview and was clean, especially the bathroom with clean towels regularly provided. the bed was not as comfortable as we hoped for but this did not affect our overall experience. the bar prices for a hotel were surprisingly very reasonable. We will most certainly return to this well positioned friendly hotel

Stayed September 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank gasue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 July 2007

When looking for a hotel to book in Larnaca this was number 1 at the time on Trip Advisor. It IS definately a 2 star hotel in terms of comforts but is excellent value for money.
Our room on the 3rd floor overlooked the pool. It was clean and basically furnished and the air condirtioning whilst noisy functioned perfectly well. The beds were surprisingly comfy.
We also had a noisy flush but you just needed to wiggle the handle a bit to get it to stop. This of course is some people's nightmare but we think of it as part of the hotel's character.
The pool was very clean and the loungers were free and there were balls to play with and some floating aids for children as well as a "penned off" section for very little ones.
The breakfast was basic but in my opinion very good. Ice cold fruit squash, coffee, bread for toasting, two types of cereal as well as cold processed meat, cucumber and tomato and either boiled egg or cheese.
As mentioned numerous times the staff are very friendly and helpful. It was perfectly located for us as my husband used the scuba diving centre very close by. Although it is a 20+ minute walk to and from the main promenade stretch of Larnaca it is a very pleasant walk right next to the sea and there are good restaurants on route. It is close to Mackenzie beach which feels much less touristy and more local and is still a sandy beach! I really enjoyed this beach whilst being a "Dive widow". We also discovered that many guests were return guests to the San Remo and we would do so again too. However if you are wanting robes, slippers bathroom supplies and other luxurious accommodation this is not the place for you. But if you are looking for value for money, friendly staff and a feeling of being a local this is likely to be sufficient for you.

  • Liked — Friendly staff
  • Disliked — Noisy air conditioning unit and toilet flush
  • Stayed July 2007, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check-in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank SmartA-DumbB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Larnaka City hotels
0.6 mi away
Pasianna Hotel Apartments
Pasianna Hotel Apartments
#22 of 39 in Larnaka City
98 reviews
0.0 mi away
Cactus Hotel
Cactus Hotel
#30 of 39 in Larnaka City
193 reviews
0.1 mi away
Larco Hotel
Larco Hotel
#28 of 39 in Larnaka City
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Flamingo Beach Hotel
Flamingo Beach Hotel
#31 of 39 in Larnaka City
317 reviews
6.1 mi away
Lithos Antonis G Apartment Hotel
1.1 mi away
Sun Hall Beach Hotel Apartments
Sun Hall Beach Hotel Apartments
#19 of 39 in Larnaka City
122 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Remo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Remo Hotel

Property: San Remo Hotel
Address: 2 William Shakespeare Street, Larnaka City 6531, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 39 Hotels in Larnaka City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — San Remo Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to San Remo Hotel One of the hotels in Larnaca that has excellent reviews. Situated not far from Larnaca airport the San Remo offers everthing you require from a hotel in Larnaca. Visit the San Remo and see for yourselves. Where friendly staff and a professional management team awaits you to ensure a truly exciting and satisfactory stay. There are few places in the world as enchanting as this Mediterranean island, where the climate is excellently warm and the people wonderfully hospitable.You 'll be tempted to explore the daily lives of the Cypriot people, whose long and often stormy history is certainly worth investigating through the island's museums, ancient stones and archeological sites and monuments. Out of town you'll be stunned by the innocence of residents from traditional villages and the beautiful monasteries many of which are situated in superb mountain areas with breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Ebookers, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travel Republic (UK), LoveHolidays, Bookcyprus.com, TripOnline SA, 5viajes2012 S.L., Evoline ltd, getaroom.com, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your San Remo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Remo Larnaca
Hotel San Remo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing