We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Going Again” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of San Remo Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
San Remo Hotel
Ranked #23 of 40 Hotels in Larnaka City
Usk, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Going Again”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 21 May 2014

Stayed in the San Remo hotel 2nd week May 2014, hotel was as expected for a two star hotel, rooms basic but very clean, they were cleaned daily. The staff at the hotel are its main asset, Paula and Boyana (Бояна) were always courteous and helpful. The comments with respect to the breakfast I have read by previous posters well just to say I had breakfast everyday and it was perfectly acceptable, cereal, toast, fresh meat and fruit. One point of note and this is not a complaint some web sites have the Wifi as free it is not it is only a few Euro for the whole period of you stay. The key comment I would make is the question would I go back again and the answer is yes, great value for money and as I said previously the staff make the hotel.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Roger H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

377 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    96
    137
    83
    30
    31
See reviews for
55
116
87
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Finnish first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Serbian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Jerusalem, Israel
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 12 May 2014

I entered the San Remo late one night desperate after having an awful expeirance at Larco hotel. Andreas, who works at the hotel, was so nice to me. He talked to me for a long time, was patient and treated me like a friend would have. It was exactly what I needed at the time and perfectly stands for the vibe at the hotel. I loved my experience there, and would love to return.

  • Stayed May 2014, travelled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Bianca H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Torquay
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 19 April 2014

Well after a pleasant stay in the San Remo I'm totally shocked, bemused and almost hysterically amused at the previous review, not wanting to dwell too much on Mr Michael P's review as that's not my intention, but first of all the receptionist in question Paula was nothing more than friendly hospitable and helpful to any of my needs, I'm shocked that any comments are so negative against Paula! As for the hotel yes it's no five star by all means but it never pretends to be anything other than what it is and that's a two star! The hotel is up to and exceeds any expectations of any hotel of that standard I've stayed in previously. The location in general is excellent being placed halfway between Larnaca's main promenade and Makenzy beach which are both more than pleasant and again referring to the previous review are NOT overshadowed by tower blocks, actually far from it, Makenzy beach has only single story restaurants lining it, well once again after such a pleasant and affordable stay I'll be booking and staying again at the San Remo next year, and look forward to it!

  • Stayed April 2014, travelled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Andykfx
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Chester, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 13 April 2014

94 quid for a week bed and breakfast? Sounds good eh? It wasn't! Disappointment had set in even before arriving at this hotel, located in the run down and dirty streets of the third largest city in Cyprus. A few bullet holes in the nearby buildings and it could have been twinned with Beirut! The nearby beaches of Finikoudes and McKenzie are dreadful with tyre tracks on the small patches of sand and they are overshadowed by multistorey tower blocks. Several leaking chemical containers stood at the foot of a sign proudly announcing that MacKenzie beach had attained blue flag status and was compliant with the EU directive on bathing water quality. I went out of season so predictably it was very quiet but on a positive note, the weather was superb with uninterrupted sunshine for the whole week...
Now onto the hotel! I was greeted on arrival by a curt and unfriendly receptionist called Paula (short dark hair, mid 50s and with a London accent). After checking in, I asked if I could change the room but was told 'no' (even though the hotel was virtually empty). The hotel itself is pretty dated and the corridors stank of air freshener (presumably to cover up the stale smell of tobacco). However, refurbishment appeared to be underway and this is where things went from bad to worse.
On my first full day in the hotel, I used the stairs to return to my room at lunchtime, encountering workmen who had tools laid out across the first floor corridor. I should emphasize that no signs were displayed advising of work in progress. As I climbed over their tools, I felt something rub against my skin and when I looked down, blood was pouring from a 3 inch wound on my lower leg. What caused it? The filthy blade of a knife sticking upwards from a toolbox!!! I required emergency medical attention at a clinic next door to the hotel and the following day, because of the state of the wound, I was advised to go to hospital and receive a tetanus vaccination and course of antibiotics.
So how did the hotel respond to this? Well, health and safety appears to be a very low concern in Cyprus. I didn't get much sympathy (none from Paula anyway), but what concerned me more was that there was no accident book in the hotel to record the details of the injury. Paula said that if I provided a report from the hospital detailing the treatment received, the hotel would write a letter confirming the injury sustained. I kept my part of the agreement but never received anything from the San Remo despite repeated requests. Furthermore, I even had to cover the 20 euro return trip in a taxi to hospital because Paula refused to pay it! I shall try and claim back what I can from my travel insurance but I was less than impressed with this hotel and it's staff. The only exception is the maintenance guy who came from home to replace the strip light in my bathroom within a couple of hours of it failing.
My advice is to avoid this hotel unless you are staying here for just one night on route to or from the airport...you get what you pay for!

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Michael P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers are raving about these Larnaka City hotels

Dronfield
Level Contributor
18 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 24 March 2014

I stayed at this hotel in Feb/March 2014.My room was O.K.,it had two single beds,a balcony,
a small tv and an en-suite bathroom.
My main complaint about the hotel is the meals (evening meal is taken at the Flamingo hotel)
are completely lacking in imagination and quality-always salad as an entree,followed by a choice of either one type of meat or pasta.Dessert is oranges or nothing.Breakfast (taken at the San Remo) never shows any variation at all.Forget the idea of a cooked British breakfast
or a Mediterranean buffet with fruit and pastries-you will not get either of these.

I will try to shed light on an issue which baffled most of the foreign guests (including the British)
this being the issue of the transfer from the San Remo to the Flamingo for dinner.Although dinner was supposed to be served between 1900 and 2130,the not-so-easygoing evening receptionist sometimes was unable to contact anyone to carry out the transfer.She would spend
ten to fifteen minutes on the phone to various colleagues,before informing San Remo guests
that a transfer was unavailable.I quickly became fed up with this rigmarole and walked the
1.5 kilometres to the Flamingo...and back.

The San Remo is conveniently situated for Larnaca airport.It is on the outskirts of Larnaca.There is a few bars and restaurants in the immediate area.It's possible to walk along the sea-front to the centre of town and the journey takes about 15-20 minutes.

  • Stayed March 2014, travelled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank allyco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 14 March 2014

It's a lovely hotel...economical with all the basic amenities.....
Breakfast is simple and nice...ten min by taxi to the hotel....wifi is free and it works well without getting disconnected.very reasonable..

will surely visit if I go to cyprus

  • Stayed March 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PremNNaidu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Liverpool, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed 17 February 2014

Just arrived back from a week in the San Remo Hotel and was sorry to leave as it was such a
lovely hotel.The rooms are quite spacious,and they get cleaned everyday,although breakfast is in the hotel, lunch and dinner is in the sister hotel down the road,but no worry about getting there as Nikkie the owner has you taken there in a car or mini bus,even bringing you back if
needed,though it's a nice little walk back as you pass a small marina with little fishing boats.
Maria who is Nikkies Daughter is on reception and is so helpful as is Andreaos his Son who works on the late bar,they all love football and Nickie will get you any English football match on tv.a nice little comfy bar.The beach is'nt far, ten to fifteen mins either way from hotel,also same distance from bars and restaraunts One bar i would mention is called the barcode, just set back behind the meeting pub which is on the front very small bar inside but plenty of seating outside and its on the sunnyside I mention this as the English owner Ken has only been open a couple of weeks and does get his English customers but could do with some more.If you want to travel round the island you can get the bus to most places for 7euros return,well worth it.

  • Stayed February 2014, travelled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sally186337
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Larnaka City hotels
0.1 mi away
Larco Hotel
Larco Hotel
#26 of 40 in Larnaka City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 277 reviews
6.1 mi away
Lithos Antonis G Apartment Hotel
0.5 mi away
Pasianna Hotel Apartments
Pasianna Hotel Apartments
#25 of 40 in Larnaka City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 82 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Frangiorgio Hotel Apartments
Frangiorgio Hotel Apartments
#24 of 40 in Larnaka City
4.0 of 5 bubbles 181 reviews
0.4 mi away
Cactus Hotel
Cactus Hotel
#32 of 40 in Larnaka City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
0.5 mi away
Flamingo Beach Hotel
Flamingo Beach Hotel
#29 of 40 in Larnaka City
3.0 of 5 bubbles 297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to San Remo Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about San Remo Hotel

Property: San Remo Hotel
Address: 2 William Shakespeare Street, Larnaka City 6531, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 40 Hotels in Larnaka City
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): £
Hotel Class:2 star — San Remo Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 60
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to San Remo Hotel One of the hotels in Larnaca that has excellent reviews. Situated not far from Larnaca airport the San Remo offers everthing you require from a hotel in Larnaca. Visit the San Remo and see for yourselves. Where friendly staff and a professional management team awaits you to ensure a truly exciting and satisfactory stay. There are few places in the world as enchanting as this Mediterranean island, where the climate is excellently warm and the people wonderfully hospitable.You 'll be tempted to explore the daily lives of the Cypriot people, whose long and often stormy history is certainly worth investigating through the island's museums, ancient stones and archeological sites and monuments. Out of town you'll be stunned by the innocence of residents from traditional villages and the beautiful monasteries many of which are situated in superb mountain areas with breathtaking views. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Hotels.com, LoveHolidays and Odigeo so you can book your San Remo Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
San Remo Larnaca
Hotel San Remo

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing