We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location in Larnaca & helpful front staff”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Livadhiotis City Hotel
Ranked #14 of 38 Hotels in Larnaka City
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed 25 June 2011

I selected this hotel based on TripAdvisor recommendation for hotels in Larnaca. I used this hotel as my base to travel around for my short holiday in Cyprus. This mid-size hotel is located very near to the historical St Lazarus Church and about 5 mins walk from the happening beach/promenade.
I arrived on the first day of the Festival of the Flood and coincident it was raining heavily later that afternoon, shower of blessing!
The reception area and the Blu cafe in the small lobby area have the ultra-modern design. There are 2 small lifts on either side of the reception counter to access rooms upstairs which is very convenient if one of the lift break down. Was put up in a double room with two single beds and surprised that this room size is reasonable. The beds felt a bit hard for my liking. Room is simple but trendy modern in design and was cleaned every day. Noticed the towels inside the room were only changed once every two days, unless you requested it. There is a small well designed writing table with a small empty fridge underneath to keep our drinks cool. There is also a small round table inside the room to keep our toiletries since the washroom has limited storing space. The room also has a small flat screen TV, a water kettle, hair dryer and ironing board. But drinking water bottle is not provided inside the room. The washroom is clean, reasonable size shower cubicle with good strong water pressure. Room also has a balcony with a plastic table and 2 chairs which is very useful for smokers like me since all rooms are non-smoking room. My room balcony is facing an inner court yard and hence not much for viewing, only for smoking. Since room balcony is facing inner courtyard, did not encounter any heavy noise at nite even during the Festival of the Flood when I was there. There are other rooms with balcony facing the streets which might offer better view.
Like the free fast internet connection inside the room via LAN cable (borrowed from reception) and WiFi is also available in the reception/lobby area since I always traveled with my laptop.
Breakfast offered is decent continental-style included in the room rate and you can choose to take your breakfast in the lobby area or in the courtyard. The hotel is close to nearby restaurants and some nightlife along the promenade. A supermarket, called Smart is also located about 5 mins walk away to get drinks and titbits. I prefer to get my stuffs at the supermarket which offers more choices than at the sundry shop at the promenade. Do check with the friendly receptionists on the supermarket operating time as it closes early in the evening.
Front-desk personnel were very pleasant and helpful, Cleo, Violetta and hotel manager Andreas Ioannou TQ for the wonderful information and assistance. I had also arranged for a local tour, with Eman Tours to Nicosia & Troodos with the receptionist and the tour coach pick-up point is at a bus stop at the promenade which is about 5/10 mins walk away from the hotel. There is also a small corner at the lobby area to get leaflets, booklets, name cards or maps on Cyprus tourists information.
Overall very satisfied and value for money stay at this Livadhiotis City Hotel. I managed to book the room at €60/nite one day before arriving using one of the hotel rooms booking website through TripAdvisor.

Room Tip: Room facing inner courtyard for more quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bencj88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a ReviewReviews (457)
Traveller rating
Traveller type
Time of year
Language

296 - 302 of 457 reviews

Reviewed 13 May 2011

This hotel is located one block off the promenade. My one-night stay was too short. The room was modern, comfortable and quiet. The breakfast buffet was ample and the dining area was comfortable. Front-desk personnel were pleasant and helpful.

  • Stayed: May 2011, travelled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank littlemac4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 May 2011

Close to anything that is importance for a business traveller, within 5 minutes of all businesses that have offices in the centre of Larnaca. The title says it all really, Only problem is with the parking, but there is a 24 hour public parking nearby and if you are lucky you might even score a free spot on one of the side-streets. Relatively easy access to the airport. Could easily be considered as a hotel for holidaymakers if finikoudes is their choice. Larnaca has better beaches but finikoudes is more popular. Good breakfast. Coffee and kettle in room. Sparkling clean. Maintained in an excellent condition. An exceptionally good choice for business travellers in my opinion.

Room Tip: As high up as possible.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2010, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Tomonline
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 5 May 2011

Having read the reviews on T/A over a period of time, we decided on this hotel. It was a let down. We arrived at 1 am after a long flight only to find no one at the reception. After we made a few noises an old man appeared out of the shadows and alloted us the room. He was grumpy and most unwelcoming. Like we were at the wrong place. He opened the door to the room and just walked away. We were thirsty and looked for some water but there was none. Not even a glass was available in the room. The so called mini bar was off and there was not even a small bottle of water kept for late arrivals. The mini bar was never on, and was empty for the whole stay of 5 nights. The coffee maker was ever present but coffee was provided only for the first morning as a welcome. Not for the rest of the stay. Mentioning a coffee maker as an amenity is misguiding. We were later provided with coffee on request. The shower cubical is small and difficult to move without hitting elbows into the glass partition. Bathroom accessories are minimal. No place to keep them in the bathroom anyway. Air conditioning was not on, but after requesting, got it going on the third day. TV channels were a poor selection. Mostly local. On request got CNN working. The staff is far from friendly. Rather curt in their replies. Room service costs euro 1.5. Location is good. Near to restaurants, super market, and the shopping center. The in room safe is good. The management and staff needs a change in attitude and a course in hospitality.

  • Stayed: April 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank IndiaEagle
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 23 March 2011

Only small hotel and was a little hard to find as the hotel was not in the GPS and the road name was spelt different. We arrived close to Midnight and the lady at reception was very friendly. The rooms are ok we have the superior room and quite big but nothing special. After going to the room we where hungry so went to the bar and the staff where more than friendly and helpful. The rooms where a little noisy from the noise from the street. Hotel was ok but little overpriced to me. Internet was only available in the lobby.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank saws7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 15 March 2011

Room: The room was very simple, spacious and clean, somewhat comparable to a nice Ibis room.
It had a small in-room safe, and kettle set. TV had a rather pathetic channel selection, with most channels coming in fuzzy.

The room had a quaint balcony, with a table and two plastic chairs.

The bathroom looks nice, but it not functional.
The shower was a joke. It was so small, about 50cm x 50cm, or about the size of an average sofa cushion. So forget about bending, you’ll have to slide open the shower doors to do that. As well, there is no shelf in the shower, so you’ll have to either keep soap and shampoo in your hand, or find a strategic way to place it on the facet.
There is also no space to put your toiletries in the bathroom, as there is no space around the sink, or built shelving.

The room also had air condition, but it was switched off for the winter, even though it was 25c outside. The room was incredible hot. We complained three times, but nothing was ever done about it.

The hotel is in a noisy location, so forget about opening the window at night to cool down the room. Our last night, the hotel had a party, with music blaring until 2 in the morning.

Had a hard time sleeping during the entire stay due to noise, and the temperature in the room.

Such a shame about the shower, and air con, and noise otherwise would have rated the room better.

Rating: (2/5)





Staff: Complained three times about the heat in the room, and to switch the air con on. Was told it would be looked it, but nothing was ever resolved.

Front desk staff will answer your questions, and give you suggestions about sights, restaurants, driving routes etc just don’t expect it to be done in a friendly manner. They are not mean or rude, just more indifferent.

Rating: (3/5)





Food: Breakfast buffet was provided in the room rate, nothing spectacular, eggs, cheese, bread, the usual. Although, the coffee was terrible. 



Rating: (3/5)



Location: The location was fantastic. The hotel is in the old town, right next door to the Church of St Lazarus. The beach is about a 5-minute walk. There are plenty of restaurants and shops within walking distance. You are right in the middle of the action.

The airport is about a 10 - 15 minute drive.

Rating: (5/5)

Facilities: The hotel offers free parking, just across the street, which was fantastic.
Wifi is offered in the lobby.

Rating: (4/5)

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Lizarazu20
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 March 2011

Hate to damped the enthusiasm but I would like to inject some reality into the reviews for this hotel, which I would rate as Average Plus. We stayed here on our last night of a short trip to Cyprus because it's within 5 km of the airport. We paid 80 Euro for a double room plus breakfast. The hotel is well-situated and the public areas are new and beautifully done. There is a stylish bar/cafe on the ground floor with a good menu for casual food and well-priced drinks (and pounding music). Free Internet is available in the (somewhat small) sitting area in the lobby and probably in the cafe as well. The staff were very friendly and helpful. The room at first glance was good - we had booked a double but were given a triple, with three small twin beds. There is in-room coffee (instant with tea kettle - bring Starbucks Via!) and a small refrigerator; they supply a Cyprus plug adaptor (voltge is 220 but with the Brit-style three-prong square). There were no water or wine glasses in the room but we borrowed some from the cafe. The bathroom has all new fixtures and a deep shaped Euro-style soaking tub / shower combination; hot water and water pressure good; however there is no place to set your toiletry kit. Considering the investment in the public areas, we were surprised at the poor quality of the beds. My husband first slept on one of the beds where you could feel hard metal rods (20 cm) in several places, so moved to one of the others. The mattresses were very hard and cheap feeling - might be tolerable at 20, but if you're 50 forget it! - and we were very surprised that there were no mattress pads - just a thin sheet over the mattress itself. Then there was a top sheet and only the bedcover for warmth - no blanket if you (like me) prefer to take off the outer spread that everyone sits on in their street clothes. Neither of us slept well, even though there was little street noise. Breakfast was completely self-serve and OK; instant coffee and the orange drink is what Americans call Tang; there was a nice homemade olive cake. The hotel has free parking. If you're driving, it's VERY important to approach the hotel from the north, by heading south along the beach road; a huge sign lettered on a building directs you to turn right for "Livadhiotis City Hotel 100 m." If you try to approach from the south or west you will get stuck in a rabbit's warren of one-way streets. It was easy to walk to the beach strand from the hotel and we found a good fish tavern there south of the hotel. So if you sleep well while camping on the ground, this hotel might be OK, but even with its positive aspects I would likely look elsewhere if we ever stayed in Larnaca again (or stay in Agia Napa).

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hollyberry57
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Larnaka City hotels
0.2 mi away
Achilleos City Hotel
Achilleos City Hotel
#5 of 38 in Larnaka City
440 reviews
0 mi away
Hotel Opera
Hotel Opera
#9 of 38 in Larnaka City
270 reviews
5.5 mi away
Golden Bay Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Rise Hotel
Rise Hotel
#1 of 38 in Larnaka City
368 reviews
1.2 mi away
The Ciao Stelio Deluxe Hotel
The Ciao Stelio Deluxe Hotel
#4 of 38 in Larnaka City
257 reviews
0.3 mi away
Sun Hall Beach Hotel Apartments
Sun Hall Beach Hotel Apartments
#17 of 38 in Larnaka City
132 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Livadhiotis City Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Livadhiotis City Hotel

Address: Nikolaou Rossou 50 | St. Lazarus Square, Larnaka City 6021, Cyprus
Region: Cyprus > Larnaka District > Larnaka City
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Larnaka City
#4 Business Hotel in Larnaka City
#4 Family Hotel in Larnaka City
#8 On the Beach Hotel in Larnaka City
Price Range: £45 - £86 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Livadhiotis City Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 50
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Livadhiotis City Hotel is situated just 100 meters from the famous Larnaca Seafront (Phinikoudes Beach). Located in the heart of Larnaca town centre, it is surrounded by lots of great cafés, pubs and restaurants. It is only 10 minutes away from the Larnaca International Airport and just a stone’s throw away from the town's main shopping and commercial centre. The surrounding area is steeped in history with the historical Saint Lazarus Church been directly opposite the hotel, while the Pierides Museum, the Larnaca Marina, the Medieval Castle, and the Larnaca Archaeological museum are within short walking distance from our location. No wonder the hotel is the top choice for both the holiday maker as well as the discerning business traveler. We are all you need for a comfortable, friendly and reasonably priced stay in Larnaca. Feel at home away from home. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with LoveHolidays, Booking.com, Travel Republic (UK), Expedia, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Ebookers, HotelsClick, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, 5viajes2012 S.L. and HotelQuickly so you can book your Livadhiotis City Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Livadhiotis Hotel Larnaca

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing