We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly service, stylish decor and great food”

Karatello Restaurant
Ranked #8 of 1,057 Restaurants in Limassol
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, After-hours, Dinner, Reservations
Description: A masterful fusion of the traditional and contemporary Mon-Sat: Open For Dinner Sunday: Open For Lunch & Dinner Cypriot Cuisine Overlooking the majestic Medieval Castle in the heart of the old town of Lemesos, adjacent to the Carobmill Museum, Karatello manages to create a perfect amalgamation of the classic and the modern. Recently renovated to capture the ambience of an old-fashioned and welcoming tavern, Karatello serves traditional, innovative meze dishes. Create your own meze combination or choose from our à la carte selection. Karatello is an ideal choice for small private parties and functions.
London
Level 4 Contributor
44 reviews
29 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
“Friendly service, stylish decor and great food”
Reviewed 17 April 2014

Wandered around this area and found Karatello and immediately greeted by very friendly staff. Service throughout warm and professional and the food was fabulously delivered. Large portions meant we didn't manage to get to desert!

Would definitely recommend for those wanting a classier dining experience without a big screen tv and football in the background.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank reallypickytraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carob Mill R, Manager at Karatello Restaurant, responded to this review, 12 May 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your kind comments regarding Karatello Restaurant. We are very happy to read that you have not only enjoyed the food quality but also the facilities. Karatello Restaurant is situated around the Limassol Castle which is the perfect place for a nice quiet Cypriot lunch or dinner.

Once again thank you very much and we are looking forward to welcoming you back at Karatello Restaurant very soon.

Sincerely Yours

Nicole Efstathiou
Sales & Marketing Manager
Carob Mill Restaurants Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

650 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    399
    176
    56
    14
    5
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
ATHENS, GREECE
Level 6 Contributor
295 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 186 helpful votes
“service below average”
Reviewed 26 March 2014

On a visit to Cyprus, I was invited to this restaurant (ARTIMA) for a friend's birthday celebration. The ambiance is nice, though no music , but the place looks classy. The menu was preselected therefore I had no choice but I must admit that food was tasty and nicely presented. However, service was far below average for such an expensive place in that most glasses remained empty of wine or even water and we had to ask for service several times. We were, dare I say, neglected and one waiter to whom I requested for the 4th time to let me have some water, was rather ready to attack saying 'don't you see that I am busy?"..

Yes, this could be a fine restaurant only if we had received a better service and not so much neglect. By the way , one of the waitresses could hardly understand greek which is our language.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank N S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carob Mill R, Manager at Karatello Restaurant, responded to this review, 28 March 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you for your review but before we like to send you our comments, could you give us the date you have visited Artima Bistro please? If possible can you send it to my e-mail: Nicole.e@carobmill-restaurants.com

thank you very much
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
68 reviews
39 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
“Best restaurant in Old Port Limassol”
Reviewed 24 March 2014

If you are around Old Port Limassol, this restaurant is a must. The food is great. Tastes so good and well prepared. They serve fresh warm bread and it was our favorite. Portions are good and the restaurant itself is very clean and well designed. We came here about 3 times during our stay in Limassol. Food is great...def recommend this place.

If you get a main, it comes with chips (fries), salad, and a little bit of Tzatziki dip...so we ordered up on other dips instead of ordering Tzatziki as a cold starter. Opted not to get the chips (fries), so we got a bit more salad instead. Highly recommend the chicken souvlaki (kebab) and the fried kalamari.

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GKCALI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carob Mill R, Manager at Karatello Restaurant, responded to this review, 7 April 2014
Dear Reviewer,

Thank you very much for your letter and for your kind words regarding your recent visits at Karatello Restaurant.

We are delighted to read that you have enjoyed your dinners and that you were impressed with our facilities and quality of the dishes. Such comments are very encouraging for us and enhance even more commitment for constant upgrade of our restaurants.

Once again thank you for having taken the time to write to us and we look forward to welcoming you back to the Karatello Restaurant in the not too distant future.

Kind Regards

Nicole Efstathiou
Sales & Marketing Manager
Carob Mill Restaurants Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
London, England, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
32 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great character, great food”
Reviewed 18 March 2014 via mobile

Excellent restaurant in a beautiful building. Meze like in most places is for minimum two persons so not ideal if you are eating alone. However I went for the calamari and the grilled chicken fillet, both of which were excellent! And it has wifi.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
Thank ClairePalmer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carob Mill R, Manager at Karatello Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Mrs Claire,

Thank you very much for taking the time to submit your review on Trip advisor and for choosing Karatello Restaurant for recent dinner.

We are very pleased to ready how much you have enjoyed the quality of the dishes and the decoration of the restaurant.
Our aim is to preserve the old history of the Carob Mill which goes back more than 100 years. It is giving a special ambiance to the Karatello and also our other restaurant around the Limassol Castle which are belonging to the Carob Mill Restaurants Ltd.

We look forward to welcoming you back to the Karatello Restaurant for yet another lovely meal.

Kind Regards

Nicole Efstathiou
Sales & Marketing Manager
Carob Mill Restaurants Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
1 review
“filthy dirty”
Reviewed 10 March 2014

The food was at best mediocre. the Toilets men's and women's filthy dirty and no towels to dry my hands, All restaurants and cafes in Cyprus have no consideration for handicap people most toilets are on the second floor. When I ask where the handicap toilet is they told me it was in the other restaurant. The Mayor of Limassol should think about handicap tourists. But???? go fish.
All in all Limassol and Castro area is good to visit but make sure you use the toilet first in you hotel and Ladies please don't were your best clothes .

  • Visited March 2014
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vassos e
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Carob Mill R, Manager at Karatello Restaurant, responded to this review, 20 March 2014
Dear Mr. Vassos,

Thank you for taking the time to post and share the comments of your recent visit at one of the Carob Mill Restaurants.

We are very sorry to learn of your concerns and I would like to offer my sincere apologies for the disappointment you have expressed.

We have an hourly inspection of all toilets at the Carob Mill and we believe it was an isolate incident. Even though we will be more careful as we take this matter very serious.

At the Carob Mill, we have 2 handicap toilets; one at the Artima Bistro and one at the Karatello Restaurant. As they all situated next to each other we haven’t had any issue so far.

We trust you will give us the opportunity to welcome you back at any of the Carob Mill Restaurants and regain your confidence in our services.

Kind Regards

Nicole Efstathiou
Sales & Marketing Manager
Carob Mill Restaurants Ltd.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC

Travellers who viewed Karatello Restaurant also viewed

Limassol, Limassol District
Limassol, Limassol District
 
Limassol, Limassol District
Limassol, Limassol District
 
Limassol, Limassol District
Limassol, Limassol District
 

Been to Karatello Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing