We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol
Nearby Hotels
Londa Hotel(Limassol)
US$323
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$301
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$296
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$287
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$226
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$219
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Pool
GrandResort(Limassol)
US$274
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$230
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$111
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Alasia Hotel(Limassol)
US$250
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$168
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
US$288
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$198
getaroom.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Ajax Hotel(Limassol)
US$121
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$107
Cancelon
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
St Raphael Resort(Limassol)
US$540
Strikethrough price corresponds to the most expensive price returned by our partners for that offer
US$504
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (2,241)
Filter reviews
2,241 results
Traveller rating
1,916
236
57
21
11
Traveller type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
More languages
1,916
236
57
21
11
Show reviews that mention
All reviewslimanaki restaurantlighthouse barleading hotels of the worldlimanaki fishfish restaurantkids clubjunior suitessea viewsea waterindoor poolamazing hotelprivate beachfive star hotelfour seasonsspecial thankshalf boardfamily holiday
Filter
Updating list...
1,616 - 1,621 of 2,241 reviews
Reviewed 18 March 2011

We booked this hotel through Thomson Al a Carte Holidays on a bed and breakfast basis. It was fairly expensive and 5 star rated so we were expecting a very decent standard.
When we arrived we were greeted warmly and the porters were keen to assist. Checking in we were offered an upgrade which we declined. We were also offered a deal on half board or full board which we said we would think about. The deal offered us the choice of eating in any of the numerous hotel restaurants. We ate at the Cyan the first night which good and family friendly, our 6 month old was sleeping in a pushchair and the staff were very accommodating. We were thinking of eating locally too but were keen to try the well reviewed Oriental restaurant in the hotel. When we tried to book this we were told, it does not accept children under 8 years old. The other restaurants were closed. But we could have eaten a buffet before 7pm if we had wanted. If we had taken the offer of half or full board, we would have been well and truly misled, as the hotel had not told us the ban on children and the closure of restaurants.
We stayed in a sea view room on the 3rd floor, it was advertised as space for a cot, the twin beds ( as in most rooms) were pushed together, there was not enough room to get into bed one side because of the cot, so we moved the room around to try and make it easier. The view was lovely and the staff who looked after the rooms, were very friendly and playful with our baby.
There was a water leak in the ceiling of the hallway on the third floor or brownish water which got worse during our stay, at one time there were towels on the carpet, and three large bins to catch the drips and we couldnt get the pushchair around it without moving a bin of water, not what you'd really expect from a 5 star hotel, during the week, the carpet began to smell, which we were aware of even in our room. One of the beds had a mattress which was coming undone on the edge, and the pillow were cheap feeling and lumpy. The weather changed from cold and rainy to hot and sunny during our stay and although we could switch the aircon. on it didnt do anything, the room was stiflingly hot at night and during the day when we were in it, so much so that it would make you sweat and wakeful at night.
The indoor pool was lovely but the ladies changing room was being decorated so I had to go the the Gym changing room and walk down the corridor in swimming costume to the pool.
When it was warm enough to sit outside there were diggers working on the grounds, men sanding wood which was blowing dust everywhere, men laying concrete outside of the junior suites ( so glad we didnt upgrade also). We couldnt sit outside as it was too noisy and dusty for us to enjoy and our baby to sleep! Yes this was out of season 9th-16th March but you would expect to use the hotel facilities in a relaxing way if you had paid for them.
Cyprus is lovely, there are some good restaurants nearby and the people, including staff in the hotel were all very nice.
I am sure this hotel is superb when all of the work, leaking water etc is not going on, but really a word from the management in way of apology or warning wouldn't have gone un-noticed. Obviously it needed reviewing!

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank barney78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABHManager, Manager at Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol, responded to this reviewResponded 19 March 2011

Dear Reviewer,

Firstly let me thank you for choosing the Amathus Beach Hotel for your recent stay and I would like also to thank you for taking the time to tell and share with us the experience of your stay. I was also very glad to hear about the excellent, attentive and friendly service provided by our team members.

However I was really sorry to learn of your concerns and would like to offer my sincere apologies for the disappointment you have expressed and that your experience this time did not meet your expectations.

At Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol, one of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to meet our guests’ needs and expectations and therefore please be assured that we value all guest comments as constructive criticism like yours, is of utmost importance and paramount to the quality control of our operation.

Additionally it is our aim to continuously find ways to upgrade our services and facilities offered to our valuable guests and always in a way not to disturb them. During your stay we were indeed installing our new wooden pergolas in the gardens in front of our suites, that have now been completed and again this was part of our continuous effort to offer more value to our guests. Furthermore we were also upgrading our changing facilities in the indoor pool and that’s why our second set of changing rooms located few meters away were available as an alternative solution.

Concerning the dining options and your comment about our famous Asiachi restaurant, children are welcome when they are 8 years or older in an effort to offer a relaxing gastronomic experience to our guests. However our hotel definitely is family friendly and that’s why there are many other dining options and facilities for our little friends to use.

I once again sincerely apologise for all the inconvenience caused to you during your stay but I can only assure you that what you have experienced does not represent the actual image of the Amathus Beach Hotel and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.


Best Regards

Vassos Kilanis
Hotel Manager

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 17 March 2011

The 5 star Amathus Beach Hotel is in the most picturesque position just on the outskirts of Limassol. The rolling, beautifully manicured lawns, end at the shores of several small beaches and an uninterrupted view of the Mediterranean. The bedrooms are beautifully furnished to a very high quality and a dish of fresh fruit and a bottle of the local wine is placed in your room on arrival. You also have slippers which you can take home with you. Some suites have their own small swimming pool.
The food in the main restaurant, Cyan, is of a very high quality. The table d'hote menu has a good choice of starters, 2 choices of soup, at least 5 main dishes and a selection of desserts or cheese for €39. The local cypriot wines are well worth trying and are very palatable. Usually, about twice a week a buffet is available with a wide range of seafood and many different dishes.
All of the staff from the chambermaids and porters to upper management are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The restaurant staff are very professional in their service. I can definately recommend this hotel and I make a point of returning every March.

  • Stayed: March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank inspector61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 8 March 2011

An ideal present you can do to yourself ! And once you are there ,you"ll receive a lot of surprises.I have spent seven nights (eight days)at this luxurious hotel and I say only that I"ll be back soon.

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lumina26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 27 February 2011

I have now been a regular guest at the Amathus for many years. It has gone from good to great. Two years ago they renovated the lobby, first floor rooms, the SPA, swimming pools areas (inside and outside), and the bar. The hotel is beautiful, staff very kind, rooms nice especially the renovated floors. I only got there for work reasons but I noted how popular it is for families ans tourists. I would recommend it without any problem to anyone. Note that the hotel has a beautiful seafront, with a very well maintained garden and 3 swimming pools: one heated inside, and two outside, a large one with a smaller pool for kids, and a smaller one for people who want to stay in peace without kids around. A very clever idea.
In addition to the classic buffet restaurant there are two more, one of which is very nice and elegant for special evenings. Finally, the SPA has excellent staff and services, and the fitness room is probably the best in Limassol.

Stayed: January 2011, travelled on business
3  Thank GPS001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Reviewed 7 February 2011

Very comfortable, sea view is amazing, tasty & variable foods, clean and have a nice staff with amazing services

  • Stayed: February 2011, travelled on business
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank wisam_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
View more reviews