We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“The Amathus was beyond our expectations and a lovely experience”

Best prices for -
Check In dd/mm/yyyy Check Out dd/mm/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol
Ranked #1 of 57 Hotels in Limassol
Certificate of Excellence
Voorschoten, The Netherlands
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“The Amathus was beyond our expectations and a lovely experience”
Reviewed 3 April 2011

Our first visit to the Amathus Beach Hotel was a wonderful experience. We stayed 10 days and every day was sheer pleasure. The staff is friendly, helpfull and efficient and they go out of their way to make your stay as pleasant as possible.
The rooms are clean, comfortable and beautifully decorated, from classical to ultra modern. The rooms with seaview all have balcony's with comfortable chairs. All groundfloor suites have private swimming pools.
There is a variety of restaurants, the a la carte, the theme dedicated and the Asian restaurant which is fingerlicking good! The fishrestaurant Limanaki outside was not open yet, but was situated in a divine spot overlooking the sea. The ultimate romantic place!
The grounds are well kept and the deckchairs in the garden have amazing airfilled mattrasses. Bliss! There is also a private beach if you prefer sandy feet.
All in all we had a super holiday and intend to return to the Amathus in due course. We checked out some of the hotels close to the Amathus but this one stands out and has the best service and the best views.
There is a wellness and spa which we unfortunately didn't use but looked state of the art! There is an indoor pool as well as two outdoor pools.
We are already looking forward to our next visit to the Amathus Beach Hotel!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DonkersRaven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Write a Review

1,972 reviews from our community

Traveller rating
    1,680
    215
    47
    19
    11
See reviews for
668
636
84
299
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveller tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (582)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Brisbane, Australia
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed 23 March 2011

The rooms where the best we stayed in of the four hotels we stayed in including 2 which where far more expensive. The staff where very friendly and helpful. The sea view is very nice. Great breakfast. Ended up staying an extra 3 nights. Would have prefered a few extra english speaking TV channels but not a great issue. After all we where on Holidays. The internet connection was average. Would defiantly stay again.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank saws7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Nicosia
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed 21 March 2011

Amathus is an old hotel of almost 40 years! Is being refurbished though! We stayed in the inland superior newly refurbished rooms and, for sure, it worth the little extra money we paid.
Positive:
+ large indoor pool, gym, Jacuzzi, sauna etc all of great standard
+ rooms with many luxury amenities
+ excellent, smiling and helpful staff
+ on the beach
+ ampleness
+ breakfast with everything you can imagine
+etc!

Negatives:
- expensive!!!

For a weekend break, excellent! For extended holidays, can you afford it??? Go for it!

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ang-ellen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level 4 Contributor
34 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed 18 March 2011

We booked this hotel through Thomson Al a Carte Holidays on a bed and breakfast basis. It was fairly expensive and 5 star rated so we were expecting a very decent standard.
When we arrived we were greeted warmly and the porters were keen to assist. Checking in we were offered an upgrade which we declined. We were also offered a deal on half board or full board which we said we would think about. The deal offered us the choice of eating in any of the numerous hotel restaurants. We ate at the Cyan the first night which good and family friendly, our 6 month old was sleeping in a pushchair and the staff were very accommodating. We were thinking of eating locally too but were keen to try the well reviewed Oriental restaurant in the hotel. When we tried to book this we were told, it does not accept children under 8 years old. The other restaurants were closed. But we could have eaten a buffet before 7pm if we had wanted. If we had taken the offer of half or full board, we would have been well and truly misled, as the hotel had not told us the ban on children and the closure of restaurants.
We stayed in a sea view room on the 3rd floor, it was advertised as space for a cot, the twin beds ( as in most rooms) were pushed together, there was not enough room to get into bed one side because of the cot, so we moved the room around to try and make it easier. The view was lovely and the staff who looked after the rooms, were very friendly and playful with our baby.
There was a water leak in the ceiling of the hallway on the third floor or brownish water which got worse during our stay, at one time there were towels on the carpet, and three large bins to catch the drips and we couldnt get the pushchair around it without moving a bin of water, not what you'd really expect from a 5 star hotel, during the week, the carpet began to smell, which we were aware of even in our room. One of the beds had a mattress which was coming undone on the edge, and the pillow were cheap feeling and lumpy. The weather changed from cold and rainy to hot and sunny during our stay and although we could switch the aircon. on it didnt do anything, the room was stiflingly hot at night and during the day when we were in it, so much so that it would make you sweat and wakeful at night.
The indoor pool was lovely but the ladies changing room was being decorated so I had to go the the Gym changing room and walk down the corridor in swimming costume to the pool.
When it was warm enough to sit outside there were diggers working on the grounds, men sanding wood which was blowing dust everywhere, men laying concrete outside of the junior suites ( so glad we didnt upgrade also). We couldnt sit outside as it was too noisy and dusty for us to enjoy and our baby to sleep! Yes this was out of season 9th-16th March but you would expect to use the hotel facilities in a relaxing way if you had paid for them.
Cyprus is lovely, there are some good restaurants nearby and the people, including staff in the hotel were all very nice.
I am sure this hotel is superb when all of the work, leaking water etc is not going on, but really a word from the management in way of apology or warning wouldn't have gone un-noticed. Obviously it needed reviewing!

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank barney78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
ABHManager, Manager at Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol, responded to this review, 19 March 2011
Dear Reviewer,

Firstly let me thank you for choosing the Amathus Beach Hotel for your recent stay and I would like also to thank you for taking the time to tell and share with us the experience of your stay. I was also very glad to hear about the excellent, attentive and friendly service provided by our team members.

However I was really sorry to learn of your concerns and would like to offer my sincere apologies for the disappointment you have expressed and that your experience this time did not meet your expectations.

At Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol, one of The Leading Hotels of the World, we continuously strive to meet our guests’ needs and expectations and therefore please be assured that we value all guest comments as constructive criticism like yours, is of utmost importance and paramount to the quality control of our operation.

Additionally it is our aim to continuously find ways to upgrade our services and facilities offered to our valuable guests and always in a way not to disturb them. During your stay we were indeed installing our new wooden pergolas in the gardens in front of our suites, that have now been completed and again this was part of our continuous effort to offer more value to our guests. Furthermore we were also upgrading our changing facilities in the indoor pool and that’s why our second set of changing rooms located few meters away were available as an alternative solution.

Concerning the dining options and your comment about our famous Asiachi restaurant, children are welcome when they are 8 years or older in an effort to offer a relaxing gastronomic experience to our guests. However our hotel definitely is family friendly and that’s why there are many other dining options and facilities for our little friends to use.

I once again sincerely apologise for all the inconvenience caused to you during your stay but I can only assure you that what you have experienced does not represent the actual image of the Amathus Beach Hotel and it is our hope that you will give us the opportunity to better serve you in the future.


Best Regards

Vassos Kilanis
Hotel Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Maidenhead, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
284 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
Reviewed 17 March 2011

The 5 star Amathus Beach Hotel is in the most picturesque position just on the outskirts of Limassol. The rolling, beautifully manicured lawns, end at the shores of several small beaches and an uninterrupted view of the Mediterranean. The bedrooms are beautifully furnished to a very high quality and a dish of fresh fruit and a bottle of the local wine is placed in your room on arrival. You also have slippers which you can take home with you. Some suites have their own small swimming pool.
The food in the main restaurant, Cyan, is of a very high quality. The table d'hote menu has a good choice of starters, 2 choices of soup, at least 5 main dishes and a selection of desserts or cheese for €39. The local cypriot wines are well worth trying and are very palatable. Usually, about twice a week a buffet is available with a wide range of seafood and many different dishes.
All of the staff from the chambermaids and porters to upper management are so friendly and nothing is too much trouble. The restaurant staff are very professional in their service. I can definately recommend this hotel and I make a point of returning every March.

  • Stayed March 2011, travelled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank inspector61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Brasov, Romania
1 review
Reviewed 8 March 2011

An ideal present you can do to yourself ! And once you are there ,you"ll receive a lot of surprises.I have spent seven nights (eight days)at this luxurious hotel and I say only that I"ll be back soon.

  • Stayed February 2011, travelled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lumina26
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Limassol, Cyprus
Level 6 Contributor
249 reviews
74 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
Reviewed 27 February 2011

I have now been a regular guest at the Amathus for many years. It has gone from good to great. Two years ago they renovated the lobby, first floor rooms, the SPA, swimming pools areas (inside and outside), and the bar. The hotel is beautiful, staff very kind, rooms nice especially the renovated floors. I only got there for work reasons but I noted how popular it is for families ans tourists. I would recommend it without any problem to anyone. Note that the hotel has a beautiful seafront, with a very well maintained garden and 3 swimming pools: one heated inside, and two outside, a large one with a smaller pool for kids, and a smaller one for people who want to stay in peace without kids around. A very clever idea.
In addition to the classic buffet restaurant there are two more, one of which is very nice and elegant for special evenings. Finally, the SPA has excellent staff and services, and the fitness room is probably the best in Limassol.

Stayed January 2011, travelled on business
Helpful?
3 Thank GPS001
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC
Hotels you might also like...
Travellers also viewed these Limassol hotels
0.2 mi away
Four Seasons Hotel
Four Seasons Hotel
#2 of 57 in Limassol
1,894 reviews
2.3 mi away
The Royal Apollonia
The Royal Apollonia
#8 of 57 in Limassol
901 reviews
0.2 mi away
Mediterranean Beach Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.2 mi away
Londa Hotel
Londa Hotel
#4 of 57 in Limassol
683 reviews
2.0 mi away
St Raphael Resort
St Raphael Resort
#13 of 57 in Limassol
1,390 reviews
1.7 mi away
Elias Beach Hotel
Elias Beach Hotel
#5 of 57 in Limassol
1,505 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol

Property: Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol
Address: Amathus Ave | Agios Tychonas, Limassol 3606, Cyprus
Phone Number:
Region: Cyprus > Limassol District > Limassol
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Business Centre with Internet Access Fitness Centre with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 On the Beach Hotel in Limassol
#1 Spa Hotel in Limassol
#1 Business Hotel in Limassol
#1 Luxury Hotel in Limassol
#1 Family Hotel in Limassol
#2 Romantic Hotel in Limassol
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): ££
Hotel Class:5 star — Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol 5*
Number of rooms: 239
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
At the Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol, a member of "The Leading Hotels of the World", you will enjoy deluxe accommodation, top-class range of fitness, sport and leisure facilities, fabulous restaurants with superlative cuisine, sumptuous and perfectly appointed surroundings including 4000 sq.m. of immaculate sunbathing lawn gardens and, on top of everything, efficient and uncompromising personal service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Jet2Holidays , Booking.com, Bookcyprus.com, Travel Republic (UK), Southall Travel, LoveHolidays, TravelUp, Priceline, TripOnline SA, getaroom.com, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and Cancelon so you can book your Amathus Beach Hotel Limassol reservations with confidence. We help millions of travellers each month to find the perfect hotel for both holiday and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Amathus Beach Limassol
Limassol Amathus Beach Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing